Writing Guides, Style Manuals and the Publication Process in the Health Sciences

Style manuals, citation guides

Dictionaries / Acronyms / Abbreviations

  • Acronym Finder.com 
    • Searchable database of more than 317,000 abbreviations and acronyms about computers, technology, telecommunications, and military acronyms and abbreviations
  • Online Biology Dictionary 
    • Online Biology Dictionary is a free, concise, illustrated dictionary of biology and medicine.

      Macrovolution.net is a website focusing on biology and evolutionary theory.

  • Cancer.gov dictionary 
    • National Cancer Institute
  • CAS: standard acronyms and abbreviations 
  • A Dictionary of units of measurement. 
    • Besides metric and other units of measurement, covers Apgar scoring, Glasgow coma scale, SI units for medical data and nutritional daily values.

    • Written by: Russ Rowlett. Retired Professor of Education and Adjunct Professor of Mathematics. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

  • MedTerms.com Medical Dictionary 
    • From MedicineNet.com
  • Merrian Webster Medical Dictionary 
  • Unified Medical Dictionary
    • The online multilingual Unified Medical Dictionary contains more than 200 000 clear and concise English–Arabic entries. Many of these entries are available also in French, German and Spanish. The dictionary provides users with access to search the most up-to-date and comprehensive medical terminology covering all aspects of medical science.   Maintained by the WHO Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean.
  • Veterinary abbreviations and acronyms 
    • This list focuses on abbreviations and acronyms commonly used in veterinary practice and supplements the standard and widely available reference sources such as Gale's Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary. It is intended for use by veterinary students, researchers, practitioners, and librarians. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Veterinary Medicine Library
Last Updated: Nov 18, 2024 4:49 PM