Professional Societies
A good place for conversations around diversifying readings in a particular discipline is in your professional society. Look for sections on diversity on your society's website to find conversations, bibliographies, and resources. You may also want to search your professional journals for articles on teaching diversity.
- American Philosophical Association - Resources on Diversity and InclusionIncludes a link to a syllabus collection
- Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business - Diversity, Equity, and InclusionThe AACSB section on diversity, equity, and inclusion.
- Council on Social Work Education - Center for Diversity and Social & Economic JusticeIncludes educator and curricular resources
- North American Colleges and Teachers of AgricultureSearch for article and presentations around diversity and inclusion in the classroom and research studies.
Disciplinary Projects
Below are some examples of reading and resource lists by discipline or topic. These can be good starting points for ideas as to how to diversify you curriculum from readings to discussion topics, etc.
- Decolonise STEMA collective of academic activists, seeking to critically explore coloniality, privilege, and power in and around science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), and the institutions that bolster and support the colonial matrix.
- Syllabus Project (Environmental History)A collaborative Zotero library that contains Environmental History sources by women and people of color.
- Decolonising Science Reading ListSome general books about diversity of thought and history in the sciences; many of the resources focus on physics and astronomy.
- Decolonizing Technology: A Reading ListThese readings focus on questions on how and for whom tools were made, who benefits, how people are represented, etc.
- Diversity Reading ListResources by disciplines that highlight authors from under-represented groups.
- Culture in the Classroom - Teaching ToleranceTeaching with Tolerance provides a classroom focused website offering magazines, webinars and classroom resources on diversity.
- Education Sub Saharan Africa (ESSA)A collection of articles that focus on the subjects of education and policy.
- An Annotated Bibliography on Structural Racism Present in the U.S. Food SystemMichigan State University, Center for Regional Food Systems
- Minneapolis Uprising SyllabusThis bibliography is intended to offer background to how Minneapolis became a flashpoint for a global uprising against anti-Blackness and state violence. This piece is hosted on the website of the Black Geographies Specialty Group of the American Association of Geographers.
#___ Syllabus (topical syllabi)
A recent movement on social media is for people to compile readings that they would put on a syllabus about recent events. These are often done via Twitter and other social media using a hashtag #______Syllabus (for instance, #CharlestonSyllabus). This list is not meant to be exhaustive, but rather to demonstrate the breadth of topics that are covered. Searching Google or Twitter for a topic and the term "syllabus" is a good start in finding other such reading lists.
I have included credits for the work done when possible (click more... after each link).
If you know of other syllabi that you would like added to this list, please let me know!
- #ImmigrationSyllabusEssential topics, readings, and multimedia that provide historical context to current debates over immigration reform, integration, and citizenship. Created by the Immigration History Research Center at the University of Minnesota and the Immigration and Ethnic History Society and published January 26, 2017.
- #ReparationsSyllabusThis syllabus is an offshoot of the “Reparations, Repatriation, and Redress” symposium at the University of Minnesota and presents an archive of scholarly and popular sources on themes related to reparations. We hope it will serve as a source for teachers, researchers, and advocates interested in learning or teaching about the topic. Created in 2018.
- #PrinceSyllabusPresents essential topics, readings, and multimedia related to Prince. Prince’s impact and influence spreads across nearly all aspects of society and culture. This syllabus presents works written by scholars and journalists across diverse topics. Our hope is that this syllabus will serve as a resource for teachers and curriculum designers looking to infuse their classrooms and courses with Prince content. Created by the University of Minnesota Libraries and published April 2018.
- #blacklivesmatter Library Resource ListA comprehensive list of library, teaching, activism, and community resources. Includes links to many other topical syllabi and reading lists.
- #BlackLivesMatter SyllabusA public educational curriculum that provides resources for teaching BLM in classroom and community settings. Created and maintained by Frank Leon Roberts, who is o the faculty of New York University. The site
- #CharlestonSyllabusReadings related to the events in Charleston, SC on June 17, 2015. Many of these readings have been compiled into the book, Charleton Syllabus: REadings on Race, Racism, and Racial Violence (University of Georgia Press, 2016)
- Charlottesville SyllabusThe Charlottesville Syllabus is a resource created by the Graduate Student Coalition for Liberation to be used to educate readers about the long history of white supremacy in Charlottesville, Virginia.
- Ferguson Syllabus (via Sociologists for Justice)A syllabus designed to dig deeper into understanding the multiplicity of factors that contribute to the criminalization and marginalization of black and brown communities following the events in Ferguson in 2014.
- Gun Studies SyllabusIn the aftermath of the Parkland school shooting of February 14, 2018, scholar Danielle McGuire invited historians on Twitter to propose readings that would provide resources for gun control activists. In response, Public Books reached out to scholars Caroline Light and Lindsay Livingston to develop a Gun Studies Syllabus.
- Lemonade SyllabusResources to help unpack the rick Black feminist and womanist themes that permeate Beyonce Knowles-Carter's visual album, Lemonade.
- Prison Abolition Syllabus 2.0Published Sept. 8, 2018 on Black Perspectives, by AAIHS. Originally compiled due to the 2016 national prison strike. The syllabus was updated in 2018 after a new national prison strike on Aug. 21, 2018.
- Sanctuary SyllabusThis course introduces readers to the intellectual and social histories that have given life to today’s sanctuary movement.
- #StandingRockSyllabusThis syllabus project contributes to the already substantial work of the Sacred Stones Camp, Red Warrior Camp, and the Oceti Sakowin Camp to resist the construction of the Dakota Access Pipeline, which threatens traditional and treaty-guaranteed Great Sioux Nation territory.
- Syllabus: Elizabeth Warren, Cherokee citizenship, and DNA testingFrom Critical Ethnic Studies, published by the University of Minnesota Press. "The syllabus project aims to contextualize the history of colonialism erasing and assimilating Indigenous populations through the regulation of blood--found in the contemporary iteration of DNA testing. "
- Undoing Patriarchy - A SyllabusPrepared February 2018. This is in no way exhaustive but meant to be one of many resources, for men in particular, towards the larger movement of undoing patriarchy, ending sexual- and gender-based violence, and decreasing all violence.
- Public Books Syllabus collectionA collection of syllabi on a variety of current topics published in the digital magazine Public Books. Topics include Rape Culture, Trump, Elections, and more. Some of the syllabi have been included on this list already, but I'm including this link as more syllabi may be included.
- Diversifying SyllabiA resource for Philosophy teachers and anyone who loves good philosophy. Created in 2018 by the Graduate Student Coalition for Gender Diversity in Philosophy (formerly the Climate Coalition) and the Georgetown chapter of Minorities in Philosophy.
- Other Syllabi ExamplesHosted by CSU Chico, this page has examples of inclusive statements for syllabi, as well as links to many syllabi in different disciplines.
Academic Twitter
There are a lot of academics on Twitter (back in 2011, one study found that 1 in 40 academics are on Twitter), and a lot of conversations around academia happen there. Twitter can be a great place to ask questions and get a lot of quick feedback from academic colleagues around the world.
Hashtags
Twitter conversations are often organized by hashtags that define part of the subject or audience that you're trying to reach. They allow you to follow a conversation across many different accounts. Here are a few hashtag conversations to consider following, but know that hashtags change and pop-up quite quickly, so this is in no way comprehensive.
#AcademicTwitter
#DecolonizeSTEM
#WomenInTech
#WomenKnowThingsToo
Lists
Twitter users can curate lists of accounts that they follow to help them organize their Twitter feed. These lists can be made public and are great for finding other Twitter accounts to follow. On any Twitter account, click the ellipses (...) to look at public lists that they have created as well as lists that they are a member of.
Articles about Academic Twitter
- A Defense of Academic TwitterFrom Inside Higher Ed, October 19, 2016.
- Getting Started on Academic Twitter v2.0From the Chronicle of Higher Education, ProfHacker blog, January 24, 2017