Cite your sources

learn about citations and use tools to cite and manage your sources

Tutorial: Academic Integrity: The rules of the scholarly conversation

Recognize the importance of attribution and citation when you use the ideas or works of others in your papers or projects.

Tutorial: What are citations?

After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
  • Understand what citations are
  • Recognize why they are important
  • Create and use citations in your papers and other scholarly work

Tutorial: What is a citation manager and when to use one

After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
  • Identify the features of citation managers
  • Recognize when citation managers are important to use

What is a citation manager?

A citation manager is a software tool used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to:

  • import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources,
  • export your citations into Word documents or other types of publications,
  • format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles, and
  • include your own notes.

Choosing a citation manager

EndNote

EndNote is a computer-based, desktop citation manager available for purchase through the University Bookstore that allows you to:

  • create your own database of citations by importing references from article databases and the library catalog
  • have unlimited reference and attachment storage
  • automatically generate bibliographies and in-text citations in all major styles
  • edit and customize styles

support

EndNote Basic

EndNote Basic is a free online citation manager that allows you to:

  • collect and store up to 50,000 references
  • organize and share your references with others
  • insert references and format a bibliography in Word

support

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation manager that can:

  • create a database of citations by easily importing items from databases;
  • manage your PDFs;
  • sync your database to the Web;
  • tag citations, organize them into folders, annotate, and share with others; and
  • create bibliographies and in-text citations in a variety of styles, or export bibliographic data to other citation management applications like Zotero and EndNote.

zoterobib

ZoteroBib is a free service that helps you build a bibliography from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing software. It is a quick and easy way to create a one-time bibliography for a paper.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open-source citation manager that:

  • imports and organizes citations and PDFs;
  • recognizes and creates citations for wide range of file types;
  • formats citations in thousands of styles including APA and Chicago;
  • easily adds in-text citations to Word and Google Doc documents, and creates a bibliography from those citations;
  • allows you to add notes to your citation information for later use.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2020 3:50 PM