Find sources
Tutorials: Let's talk commonly used databases
These tutorials introduce some of the more popular databases available through the University Libraries.
Each tutorial covers how to:
- access the database
- perform keyword searching
- filter and sort search results
- view the Full text of articles or download a PDF
- generate a citation
- get help from the Libraries
Tutorial: Finding news sources for your research using News Sources Search
After completing this tutorial, you will:
- Understand News Sources Search from the UMN Libraries: what it is and how to use it
- Be able to find News Sources Search on the Libraries Website, lib.umn.edu
- Understand how to get help
Primary sources in arts, humanities, & social sciences
History, Humanities, Social Sciences
Primary sources in these disciplines are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories.
Examples include: Letters, manuscripts, diaries, rare books, historical photographs, first-hand accounts or documentary sources on a subject, person, event or issue; newspapers written at the time of an event, song, or film from time period, historical maps, government reports or data, etc.
Tutorial: Academic Integrity: The scholarly conversation
Understanding how scholarly conversations occur is important for participating in scholarship. Join the conversation!
Checking out books and other items
- Checking out or borrowing itemsYou can borrow books and other materials by using your U Card. As a UMN student you can check out an unlimited number of items and have full access to online library resources both on and off campus.
Get It
Use the Get It link to have physical materials delivered to your home, campus office, or another library.
Off-campus access to library resources
Current University students, staff and faculty should be able to get full text and online access to the University Libraries from anywhere. Here are three ways to access the library full text from off campus.
- Search the University of Minnesota library website. Log in with your UMN Internet ID and password to access resources.
- Log in using the U of M Virtual Private Network (VPN). You will need to download it VPN software to your computer from campus OIT (Office of Information Technology).
- Install the Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser and click it to reload the page with your U of M login to get access to full text. Watch a proxy bookmarklet video (3 min) to learn more.
View examples and learn more on our How to get to full text from on and off campus Guide.
Get materials we don't own or from our print collection (Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery)
- InterLibrary Loan & Digital DeliveryInterlibrary Loan (ILL) & Digital Delivery offers access to materials needed for courses and research, including materials not currently available within the University of Minnesota Libraries, AND digital copies of articles and book chapters from our print and microform collections. Free for currently-affiliated University students, faculty, and staff.