Use library databases
Tutorial: What is a library database and why should I use one?
- Identify what a library database is
- Recognize the two main types of library databases
- Know why you should use them
- Understand why searching a library database is different than searching the general internet
Tutorial: Database search tips
Improve your searches! This guide will help you:
- Apply search modifiers AND, OR, and NOT to your database searches
- Recognize phrase searching and other advanced search techniques
Tutorial: Let's talk databases: Academic Search Premier
This video introduces the Academic Search Premier database.
After viewing this video, you will be able to:
- Access the Academic Search Premier database
- Perform keyword searching
- Filter and sort search results
- View the Full text of articles or download a PDF
- Generate a citation right in the database
And finally: you will know how to get Library help if you need it!
Tutorial: Let's talk databases: APA PsycInfo
This video introduces the APA PsycInfo database.
After viewing this video, you will be able to:
- Access the APA PsycInfo database
- Perform keyword searching
- Filter and sort search results
- View the Full text of articles or download a PDF
- Generate a citation right in the database
And finally: you will know how to get Library help if you need it!
Tutorial: Let's talk databases: Libraries Search
This video introduces the Libraries Search database.
After viewing this video, you will be able to:
- Access the Libraries Search database
- Perform keyword searching
- Filter and sort search results
- View the Full text of articles or download a PDF
- Generate a citation right in the database
And finally: you will know how to get Library help if you need it!
Tutorial: Let's talk databases: Google Scholar
This video introduces the Google Scholar database.
After viewing this video, you will be able to:
- Access the Google Scholar database
- Perform keyword searching
- Filter and sort search results
- View the Full text of articles or download a PDF
- Generate a citation right in the database
And finally: you will know how to get Library help if you need it!
Tutorial: Let's talk databases: JSTOR
This video introduces the JSTOR database.
After viewing this video, you will be able to:
- Access the JSTOR database
- Perform keyword searching
- Filter and sort search results
- View the Full text of articles or download a PDF
- Generate a citation right in the database
And finally: you will know how to get Library help if you need it!
Tutorial: Let's talk databases: PubMed
This video introduces the PubMed database.
After viewing this video, you will be able to:
- Access the PubMed database
- Perform keyword searching
- Filter and sort search results
- View the Full text of articles or download a PDF
- Generate a citation right in the database
And finally: you will know how to get Library help if you need it!
Tutorial: Let's talk databases: Web of Science
This video introduces the Web of Science database.
After viewing this video, you will be able to:
- Access the Web of Science database
- Perform keyword searching
- Filter and sort search results
- View the Full text of articles or download a PDF
- Generate a citation
And finally: you will know how to get Library help if you need it!
Tutorial: How scholarly research gets published in peer-reviewed journals and where to find it all
- Recognize how scholarly research articles come to be published in peer-reviewed journals
- Use a library database to access it all