Related Research Guides
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Introduction
When people hear the word "library" they think -- buildings and books. Sure, we have a lot of books (over 8 million of them) but we have lots more for your research and interests on our website from online journals, magazines and newspapers to steaming documentaries and more. Below is a sample. Contact us if you don't see something you are expecting, needing, or hoping to see. Remember Gold Book also has lots of additional campus resources. Try to Gopher Library Adventure, a choose your own adventure ebook to find out more.
Do research in CSE (find articles, etc.)
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- SciFinder-nSciFinder-n is the updated version of SciFinder and is the best database for topics related to chemistry and adjacent fields. It includes journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and patents. Find substance and reaction information as well as suppliers and chemical regulatory data.
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Subject - specific article databases (find articles, etc.)
- ACM (Association For Computing Machinery) Digital LibraryFull text of most Association for Computing Machinery journals and proceedings since 1950. It also includes publications of affiliated organizations.
- MathSciNetSearch research journals and reviews in mathematics. Created by the American Mathematical Society.
- arXivOpen access archive for scholarly articles and preprints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Articles and e-prints are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
- GeoRefSearch tool for scholarly research about the geosciences. Includes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government publications, theses, reports, and maps.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Academic Success Centers (peer tutoring and more)
- Academic Success Centers
The Academic success centers website provides you with a variety of services to help you succeed at the University. Find peer tutors for your courses, academic skills coaching, or get support with writing, research, or media projects.
These services are designed to:
- Boost your confidence as a student
- Help you stay on top of your coursework
- Offer a deeper understanding of the content
- Connect you to peers who know tips and tricks for various courses
- Teach you effective study strategies and time management
Library services for undergraduates
- Library Services for UndergraduatesExplore a variety of services for Undergraduates from study spaces to finding sources to tools to coffee shops.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 2:50 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/course/cse/1001