A curated bibliography of quality image collections listed by subject. These resources include local collections, licensed content, and select open online collections of images.

Page under construction

Thank you for your patience while we improve this page for you.

You may have more difficulty than usual finding a resource you are looking for, as our navigation and organization is under construction. We hope to have this improvement finished soon. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact treichar@umn.edu.

Social Sciences

Social Sciences


Anthropology
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • HOLLIS Images
    "A union catalog of visual resources at Harvard, focusing on artistic and cultural materials."
  • Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology at Harvard University
    "Provides access to the Peabody Museum's database for objects, paintings, prints, drawings, and photographs. The Peabody's Online Database offers access to over 300,000 records for which there are images. The site offers users the opportunity to browse preselected groups of commonly requested objects, a simple search function, and an advanced search function. Additional options for researchers are available on request."
  • Penn Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology - Online Exhibits
    The University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, through its research, collections, exhibitions, and educational programming, advances understanding of the world's cultural heritage. Founded in 1887, Penn Museum has conducted more than 400 archaeological and anthropological expeditions around the world.
  • University of Michigan Museum of Anthropology Image Database
    "The Museum of Anthropology's image database is the culmination of 5 years work to digitize its immense collection of color 35mm slides that represent over 60 years of archaeological work throughout the United States, Latin America, Asia, and Europe."
  • University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
    Use the search box (upper left) to locate images from the UW-Madison Digital Collections. Significant collections of images are available from Africa, East/Southeast Asia, and North America. The collection also includes images of primates and other zoological specime
  • Wisconsin Historical Society - Anthropology Collections
    The Anthropology collection includes ethnographic and archaeological artifacts. The Native American ethnographic collection contains about 3500 objects from many North American cultural areas, primarily from the Upper Great Lakes region.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Archeaology
  • Archaeology Image Bank
    Higher Education Academy Subject Centre for History. Hundreds of images from various archealogical excavation sites.
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • PictureAustralia
    Search the image collections of more than 50 Australian libraries, museums, galleries and other cultural institutions, as well as the National Library of New Zealand. PictureAustralia searches the digitised image collections of Australia's major cultural institutions (e.g. National Library of Australia, Australian War Memorial) as well as many smaller collections, so you do not need to do separate searches.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
African Studies
  • Africa and the African Diaspora (NYPL)
    Browse more than 11,000 items ranging from prints and photographs to historical documents relating to African and African Diasporan history and cultures from the 17th to the 20th centuries.
  • African Photography Basel Ethnographic Museum. (Erin Haney & Jürg Schneider, Basel, Switzerland)
    Photography of West Africa and beyond, 1840 to now: digital images of photo albums in the Carl Passavant collection, acquired during Passavant's travels in West and Central Africa, 1883-1885 and now held by the Museum der Kulturen in Basel. This digital project is designed to serve as a repository of historical photographs from Africa. Other collectors and institutions are invited to contribute content.
  • Dogon Niger Lobi Photographic Albums (Huib Blom, Switzerland)
    An extensive collection of travel photographs of people, landscapes, and cultural sites among the Dogon and the Lobi of Mali, Burkina Faso, and Ghana; plus images from along the Niger River in Mali. Note: individual photos are labelled, but there are no explanatory captions.
  • Images du passé en Afrique de l'Ouest (Olivier Blot, Paris, France)
    Another French language site offering a digital archive of over 900 postcards and other images from the colonial era in Senegal, French Soudan (Mali), Guinea, Upper Volta (Burkina Faso), Côte d'Ivoire, Togo, Dahomey (Benin), Niger, Chad, and Cameroon. Northwestern University Herskovits Library: Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs, 1860-1960 -and- Southern Africa/Anti-Apartheid Posters (Evanston, Illinois)
  • Where Gods and Mortals Meet: Continuity and Renewal in Urhobo Art, June-September 2005
    "The exhibition is organized into sections that consider the forms and underlying aesthetic values of Urhobo society: personal images that offer protection and advancement; images of women at various stages of life; masquerade arts; and at the grandest level, communal shrine art, awesome in scale and form. Integral to the exhibition are works by contemporary Urhobo artist Bruce Onobrakpeya."
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Chinese Area Studies
  • Artspeak China
    Artspeak China: online collaborative encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese art.  It is bilingual, Wikipedia-style reference guide to contemporary Chinese art, allowing readers to create or edit articles in one language with their efforts reflected in the other. Content is searchable and cross-referenced via internal links and accompanied by an illustrated timeline of historical and arts events
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • Asia Art Archive (Hong Kong)
    Collect, preserve and make information on contemporary Asian art easily accessible in order to facilitate understanding, research and writing in the field
  • China: 5,000 Years
    The Huntington Archive: "China: 5,000 Years" : online exhibition of Chinese art from 1850 to present
  • Gerald & Rella Warner Taiwan Postcard Collection
    Gerald & Rella Warner Postcards collected in Taiwan by Gerald and Rella Warner during Gerald's service as US Consul between August 26, 1937 and March 8, 1941. Warner Taiwan Postcards contains 201 postcards and 139 b/w commercial photographs from that period.
  • Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art
    Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, China, Japan, Thailand, Indonesia, and Myanmar (Burma). Works range from approximately 2500 B.C.E. to the present, and documentation includes contemporary religious activities in various parts of Asia. Contains predominantly Buddhist material, but also includes Hindu, Jain, Islamic, and other works.
  • International Mission Photography
    International Mission Photography : historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, France, Switzerland, and the United States. The photographs, which range in time from the middle of the nineteenth to the middle of the twentieth century, offer a visual record of missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China(10,000 images), Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean. You can browse by places or search by keywords, collections, and places.
  • Korean War Historical Images (Flickr)
    Korean War Historical Images a Flicker site of images from the Korean War. Credit Department of Defense and photographer (see attached captions.)
  • Morning Sun
    Morning Sun: A film and website about Cultural Revolution
  • Scenic Taiwan Book : 'Taiwan no fūkō' (Scenic Taiwan) 台湾の風光
    Scenic Taiwan Book : 'Taiwan no fūkō' (Scenic Taiwan) 台湾の風光 is one of many photo albums published in the 1930s that depict different areas of the Japanese Empire.  This particular volume was published in Wakayama Prefecture in or after 1938. Its editor, one Yamazaki Kin'ichirō (or Kane'ichirō) (1897-1985), published several albums of Taiwan, Manchuria, and Hokkaidō photographs in this same decade. 'Scenic Taiwan' extols the good results of Japanese colonial rule, both in picture and in text.  This digital version features the editor's translations of all captions, along with the original Japanese, providing a resource for studies in colonial architecture, discourse, and East Asian folkways.
  • Virtual Shanghai
    Virtual Shanghai is part of the IAO-Databases Project and contains 4,000 images(mostly before 1949). The images contain basic metadata (often including a short description) and are searchable according to the following criteria: title/subject; date; estim
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Cultural Studies
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
East Asian Studies
  • The Huntington Archive
    The archive of Buddhist and Asian Art contains nearly 300,000 original slides and photographs – photographic documentation of art and architecture throughout Asia. Includes videos and online exhibitions.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Japanese Area Studies
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • Visual resources for Japan
    80+ freely accessible websites sortable by format, subject and/or historical period. Formats include architecture, calligraphy, ceramics, folk arts, maps, painting, photography, postcards, posters, prints, scrolls, sculpture.  Relevant subjects include colonialism and warfare.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Latin American Studies
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • Google Arts & Culture
    Google Arts & Culture features content from over 1000 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to bring the world's treasures online.
  • Mexican Colonial Architecture
    This website arose from my experience in teaching a Latin American Studies class entitled Art, Music and Literature of Mexico. The course covers material from Mexico's early pre-Columbian antecedents down to its contemporary culture. The art unit for the colonial period (1521-1821) concentrates on the architecture of New Spain.
  • Museo National de Antropolgia
    A national museum of Mexico containing significant archaeological and anthropological artifacts from the pre-Columbian heritage of Mexico, such as the Piedra del Sol (the Stone of the Sun, what has been incorrectly identified as the Aztec calendar) and the 16th-century Aztec statue of Xochipilli.
  • Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America (1520-1820)
    This site profiles three centuries of Spanish American art, focusing on the hybridization process mixing European, native American, and even African and Asian visual cultures. The site's backbone is a gallery of images of manuscripts, paintings, religious objects, and furniture, each accompanied by a description of the items functions and implications.
  • WAYEB Image Links
    The European Association of Mayanists collection of useful image databases.
  • Wikimedia Commons
    Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content including images, sound and video clips.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Middle Eastern Studies
  • American Geographic Society Library, Photographic Collections
    Collections with Middle East photographs include the Roeming Collection and the Harrison Forman Collection. The latter includes 733 slides of daily life, historic sites and architecture in Afghanistan in the late 1960s, 195 of which are online.
  • Arab Image Foundation
    The Arab Image Foundation (AIF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the collection, preservation and study of photography and other visual material from the Middle East, North Africa and the Arab Diaspora.
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • Casselman Archive of Islamic and Mudejar Architecture in Spain
    Contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula. The images span over one thousand years of architectural history, from the seventh to the seventeenth century. The majority of the slides focus on the Mudejar style, an ornate court style largely inspired by Spanish Islamic architecture that was shared among Islamic, Jewish, and Christian cultures during the later Middle Ages in Spain.
  • Royal Geographic Society Picture Library
    Holdings include about 3,000 photogaphs of Iran, images from the Society's sponsored research expeditions, and special collections related to Arabia, incl. pictures documenting the 1932 crossing of the Empty Quarter, and early images of Mecca. A selection of about 1,200 photographs of the Middle East are available online.
  • TIMEA (Travelers in the Middle East Archives)
    A body of literature and images documenting travels during the 18th, 19th and 20th century of Europeans and Americans. Collections include historical maps and plans, and other visual materials.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Russian & Slavic Studies
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • Library of Congress: American Memory Project
    American Memory Project from the Library of Congress is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections
  • National Geographic Photography
    Flickr-- Yahoo.com's image sharing website, 32 millions of images worldwide, under Creative Commons license. Best for architecture, popular culture, recent events, people in context; many images offered under a Creative Commons license.
  • NYPL Digital Gallery
    Provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
  • Semyon Fridlyand Archive Collection (University of Denver)
    digital archive of over 10,000 photographs of daily life in the Soviet Union (1940s-1980s) by photojournalist and photo editor of Ogonek (the Soviet Union's version of Life magazine). During his 40-year career, Fridlyand photographed every major theme in official Soviet history, from industrialization and collectivization, to the building of a Soviet empire stretching from the Pacific to the Baltic, and from the Arctic to the Black Sea. Fridlyand also covered the battlefields of WWII.
  • Stalinka
    "Stalinka is intended as an online resource for students, teachers, scholars, and anyone conducting research on Stalin/ism."
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.

Social Sciences (cont'd)

 

South Asian Studies
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • Birla Academy of Art & Culture
    The Birla Academy of Art & Culture at Calcutta was established in 1966 with the principal objective of fostering the growth of art and culture with emphasis on visual and performing arts.
  • Digital Himalaya project
    A project to develop digital collection, storage and distribution strategies for multimedia anthropological information from the Himalayan region -- collections include * Census of Nepal 2001 * Fürer-Haimendorf Film Collection * Films * Journals * Maps * Music * Naga Videodisc * Rare Books & Manuscripts * Thak Archive * Thangmi Archive * Williamson Collection * Wutu Collection
  • Imperial War Museum
    Photographs from the Imperial War museum in London. Can search by place and time period. Example India and pre 1914.
  • Sources on South Asian Art and Architecture
    Professor Frances W. Pritchett's collection of links to images. Many links no longer lead directly to the image, but often you can conduct a search on the site to get to the image she names.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
African American Studies
  • African-American Odyssey
    This Online exhibit showcases the incomparable African-American holdings at the Library of Congress. It includes links to Library of Congress collections including the Frederick Douglass Papers, "From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909," and "Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860."
  • Africana & Black Hisotry (NYPL)
    Browse more than 11,000 items ranging from prints and photographs to historical documents relating to African and African Diasporan history and cultures from the 17th to the 20th centuries.
  • Africans in America
    This companion site to the PBS television series "Africans in America" examines the history of slavery in America in four chronological parts. It offers historical narratives, a resource bank of images and documents, and a teacher's guide to using the site and series in the classroom.
  • The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
    The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record. This site provides a collection of images related to American slave trade and slave societies. The images were compiled from a variety of sources and are comprised primarily of visual documents dating to the period of slavery. The exhibit is sponsored by the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and by the Digital Media Lab at the University of Virginia.
  • Digital Durham
    The Digital Durham website offers students, teachers, and researchers a range of primary sources with which they can investigate the economic, social, cultural, and political history of a post-bellum southern community
  • Documenting the American South
    "Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. "
  • Jackson Davis Collection
    Jackson Davis, an educational reformer and amateur photographer, took nearly 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States.
  • Library of Congress African American Mosaic
    A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture. Includes several collections of images/primary sources related to African colonization, migration, and the WPA.
  • Michael Francis Blake Photographs, 1912-1934
    he collection consists of the contents of a photographic album entitled "Portraits of Members," containing 117 photographs of men, women, and children, both singly and in groups.
  • VCU Libraries Digital Collection
    Through the Lens of Time: Images of African Americans from the Cook Collection is a digital collection of over 250 images of African Americans dating from the nineteenth and early twentieth century, selected from the George and Huestis Cook Photograph Collection at the Valentine Richmond History Center.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Chicano Studies
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Native American Studies
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum
    American art, craft, and design from all regions, traditions, and cultures. Searchable and browsable by artist, work type, and subject.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Physical Science & Engineering


Astronomy
  • Apollo Image Atlas
    Comprehensive online collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography from the Lunar and Planetary Institute, including 25,000 lunar images, both from orbit and from the moon's surface, as well as photographs of the earth, astronauts and mission hardware. Search by term or browse by Apollo craft, camera type, and much more.
  • Hubble Gallery
    Hubble Telescope images from the Space Telescope Science Institute; search for images by term of browse by categories including galaxies, solar system, nebulae, stars, the universe, and more.
  • NASA Images
    A new online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images.
  • Science Photo Library (SPL)
    "World's leading provider of science photos" 100,000 science, technology & industry, space & astronomy, history of science & medicine and more images
Physics
  • Berkeley Lab Images
    Particle physics images hosted by the University of California, Berkeley Lab.
  • NASA Images
    A new online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images.
  • Physics in Pictures (Physics Central)
    Physics in Pictures features exciting illustrations of nature's infinite variety and humankind's ingenuity. Each picture is accompanied by a brief explanation and links to a story on related current physics research.
Geography
  • David Ramsey Map Collections
    The historical map collection has over 22,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.
  • Earth Science Photographic Library Archive
    The U.S. Geological Survey has a collection of over 400,000 taken in the process of doing geologic research in the United States and U.S. territories from 1868 to the present. These images document the discovery, development, and science in the U.S. done by the Geological Survey and its predecessors. This site provides online access to some of these photographs.
  • EROS Image Gallery
    The U.S. Geological Survey's EROS Data Center stores and distributes a variety of data, including cartographic, satellite, and aircraft data. Their image gallery includes Landsat and Shaded relief images of U.S. States and images from their Earth as Art displays.
  • Landsat Online Archive
    This site can be used to access images from the Landsat satellites, which have collected Earth observations and remote sensing imagery since 1972.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Geology
  • David Ramsey Map Collections
    The historical map collection has over 22,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.
  • Earth Science Photographic Library Archive
    The U.S. Geological Survey has a collection of over 400,000 taken in the process of doing geologic research in the United States and U.S. territories from 1868 to the present. These images document the discovery, development, and science in the U.S. done by the Geological Survey and its predecessors. This site provides online access to some of these photographs.
  • EROS Image Gallery
    The U.S. Geological Survey's EROS Data Center stores and distributes a variety of data, including cartographic, satellite, and aircraft data. Their image gallery includes Landsat and Shaded relief images of U.S. States and images from their Earth as Art displays.
  • Landsat Online Archive
    This site can be used to access images from the Landsat satellites, which have collected Earth observations and remote sensing imagery since 1972.
  • NOAA Photo Library
    Weather and space images, images of the Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images ranging from great whales to the most minute plankton. Search by term or browse by categories including the National Weather Service, fisheries, coral kingdom, and more.
Aerospace Engineering
  • http://nix.nasa.gov/
    NASA's images of aeronautics, aircraft, projects, the solar system and beyond, space flights, and more. Search or browse by category.
  • http://www.lpi.usra.edu/resources/apollo/
    Comprehensive online collection of Apollo-Saturn mission photography from the Lunar and Planetary Institute, including 25,000 lunar images, both from orbit and from the moon's surface, as well as photographs of the earth, astronauts and mission hardware. Search by term or browse by Apollo craft, camera type, and much more.
  • NASA Life Sciences Data Archive (LSDA)
    NASA's Life Sciences Data Archive (LSDA) contains information and data from human and non-human space flight experiments and related ground control studies funded by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). This archive contains information about experiments conducted from NASA's first experiments during the 1960s to the present time. Information and data about space life sciences space flight experiments and missions can be retrieved and downloaded from a database called the Master Catalog. This site also includes an overview of life sciences missions and research, and the Digital Image Library - a searchable database of images from life sciences missions and experiments. A set of links to other sources of space life sciences information is also available under Related Resources.
  • NOAA Photo Library
    Weather and space images, images of the Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images ranging from great whales to the most minute plankton. Search by term or browse by categories including the National Weather Service, fisheries, coral kingdom, and more.
Civil Engineering
  • Built in America
    The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) and Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress, and part of American Memory

Agriculture, Biological, and Environmental Sciences

Agriculture, Biological, and Environmental Sciences


Climate & Soil Science
  • NOAA Photo Library
    Weather and space images, images of the Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images ranging from great whales to the most minute plankton. Search by term or browse by categories including the National Weather Service, fisheries, coral kingdom, and more.
  • USGS Multimedia Gallery
    The USGS Multimedia Gallery contains photos, descriptions, and additional information of USGS science..
Biology
  • ASM Mammal Image Library
    A non-profit educational service of the American Society of Mammalogists. a visual resource at all levels of instruction.
  • Atlas of Nucleic Acid Containing Structures
    DIGITAL IMAGES. Provides summary information and images for each structure in the Nucleic Acid Database (also listed in these guides). These images provide many looks at the varied structures of nucleic acids.
  • BIODIC: The Ultrastructures
    "Electron micrographs in the field of Biology. Images are free to use as teaching material or resources. --Anatomy --Animal Biology --Cell Biology --Plant Biology --Monera-prokaryots --Fungi --Protists"
  • NIGMS Cellular Imaging
    From the National Institute of General Medical Sciences Provides visualization at the cellular and subcellular level to understand cell structure and function and how they are dynamically regulated.
  • Science.gov Image Search
    "Images from the following organizations: --National Biologcial Information Infrastructure (NBII) --Library of Images from the Environment (LIFE) --National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA ) Image eXchange (NIX) --National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Photo Library."
Anatomy
  • Anatomy.tv Authentication Required
    The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.
  • Digital Anatomist Project
    University of Washington Structural Informatics Group's interactive atlas containing graphical and symbolic representations of human anatomy. Includes 2-D and 3-D images.
  • Dream Anatomy
    Drawn from the collections of the National Library of Medicine, this site depicts the anatomical imagination from 1500 to the present.
  • John Martin Rare Book Room Images
    These unique sets of several hundred images from the 5,000 volume John Martin Rare Book Room have been selected from some of the more striking works in the collection and include illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics. An effort has been made to avoid duplicating the work of other digitizing projects relating to the history of medicine and to include only those images not already scanned in high resolution.
  • The JayDoc HistoWeb
    JayDoc HistoWeb is an online histology atlas. The creators of HistoWeb allow use of the content for non-profit, educational purposes.
Ecology
  • ARKive
    DIGITAL MEDIA (IMAGES, VIDEOS). Unique collection of thousands of wildlife videos, images, and fact-files, with a special focus on the world's threatened species.
  • NASA Images
    A new online archive of hundreds of thousands of NASA images.
Animal Science
  • Animal Science Image Gallery
    The Animal Science Image Gallery is a collaborative project of the USDA National Agricultural Library and the American Society of Animal Science.
Ornithology (Birds)
  • Birds of North America Online Authentication Required
    Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. A project of the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, BNA is a living resource with account contents updated frequently. Includes image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and recordings bird songs and calls.
Primatology
Fisheries & Aquatic Zoology
  • Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
    Images related to freshwater and marine topics, including images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects. From the University of Washington Library's Digital Collections.
Amphibians
Biophysics
  • Anatomy.tv Authentication Required
    The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.

Agriculture
  • Animal Science Image Gallery
    The Animal Science Image Gallery is a collaborative project of the USDA National Agricultural Library and the American Society of Animal Science.
  • ARS Image Gallery  
    The Image Gallery is provided as a complimentary source of high quality digital photographs available from the Agricultural Research Service Information Staff.
  • NOAA Photo Library
    Weather and space images, images of the Earth's shores and coastal seas, and marine species images ranging from great whales to the most minute plankton. Search by term or browse by categories including the National Weather Service, fisheries, coral kingdom, and more.
  • Photo Gallery
    Photos from the Weed Science Society of America of many common North American weeds, herbs, and plants.
  • PlantFacts - Images
    This portion of PlantFacts includes photos of ornamental plants, insects and diseases, turf, and fruits and vegetables.
  • Plant Image Gallery
    Plant Image Gallery is an ongoing project of the Noble Foundation which currently includes over 600 species of vascular plants.
  • The Twelve Soil Orders
    A collection of information and images to illustrate the distribution, properties, ecological significance, and the use of the twelve soil orders.
  • USDA Beltsville Electron Microscopy Unit
    Images from the Electron and Confocal Microscope Unit; using the scanning and transmission electron microscopes, the collection contains images of the surface of biological and physical materials unaltered by preparative procedures.
  • USGS Multimedia Gallery
    The USGS Multimedia Gallery contains photos, descriptions, and additional information of USGS science..
Horticulture
  • ARS Image Gallery
    The Image Gallery is provided as a complimentary source of high quality digital photographs available from the Agricultural Research Service Information Staff.
  • Botanical Society of America Online Image Collection
    Images currently cover Plant Geography, Plant Morphology, Phloem Development, Xylem Development, Floral Ontogeny, Lichens, Economic Botany, Carnivorous Plants, Organography, Pollen, Paleobotany, Plant Defense Mechanisms and Plant Anatomy.
  • Plant Image Gallery
    Plant Image Gallery is an ongoing project of the Noble Foundation which currently includes over 600 species of vascular plants.
  • Photo Gallery (Weed Science Society of America)
    This photo gallery contains pictures of common North American plants. Some of the plant species listed are not generally considered weeds but may have toxic or poisonous properties, or are otherwise of general interest as wildflowers or herbs.
  • PLANTS Database
    The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references. PLANTS is a collaborative effort of the USDA NRCS National Plant Data Team (NPDT), the USDA NRCS Information Technology Center (ITC), The USDA National Information Technology Center (NITC), and many other partners.
  • Texas Plant Disease Handbook
    Organized by plant type, the TPDH includes definitions of plant diseases as well as images for some but not all pathologies.
Plant Science
  • AgroAtlas
    "The Russian-English Agricultural Atlas is the world's most comprehensive source of information on the geographic distribution of plant-based agriculture in Russia and neighboring countries. The Atlas contains 1500 maps that illustrate the distribution of 100 crops, 560 wild crop relatives, 640 diseases, pests and weeds, and 200 environmental parameters. Additionally, the Atlas provides detailed biological descriptions, illustrations, metadata and reference lists. Currently, individual maps can be downloaded and viewed using freely available AgroAtlas GIS Utility software, which can also be downloaded at this site."
  • ARS Image Gallery  
    The Image Gallery is provided as a complimentary source of high quality digital photographs available from the Agricultural Research Service Information Staff.
  • Botanical Society of America Online Image Collection
    Images currently cover Plant Geography, Plant Morphology, Phloem Development, Xylem Development, Floral Ontogeny, Lichens, Economic Botany, Carnivorous Plants, Organography, Pollen, Paleobotany, Plant Defense Mechanisms and Plant Anatomy.
  • Curtis's Botanical Magazine [NAL Image Search]
    A project of the National Agricultural Library. Contains over 1,000 original plates of botanical illustrations from William Curtis' The Botanical Magazine, 1787-1807. Browse botanical illustrations by flower or plant name. Update:[NAL removed Curt's Magazine botanical plates collection, but some of these and other botanical illustrations can still be found on the NAL Rare Book Image Search. link updated 12/13]
  • Photo Gallery
    Photos from the Weed Science Society of America of many common North American weeds, herbs, and plants.
  • PLANTS Database
    The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references. PLANTS is a collaborative effort of the USDA NRCS National Plant Data Team (NPDT), the USDA NRCS Information Technology Center (ITC), The USDA National Information Technology Center (NITC), and many other partners.
  • Plant Image Gallery
    Plant Image Gallery is an ongoing project of the Noble Foundation which currently includes over 600 species of vascular plants.
  • The Twelve Soil Orders
    A collection of information and images to illustrate the distribution, properties, ecological significance, and the use of the twelve soil orders.
Plant Pathology
  • AgroAtlas
    "The Russian-English Agricultural Atlas is the world's most comprehensive source of information on the geographic distribution of plant-based agriculture in Russia and neighboring countries. The Atlas contains 1500 maps that illustrate the distribution of 100 crops, 560 wild crop relatives, 640 diseases, pests and weeds, and 200 environmental parameters. Additionally, the Atlas provides detailed biological descriptions, illustrations, metadata and reference lists. Currently, individual maps can be downloaded and viewed using freely available AgroAtlas GIS Utility software, which can also be downloaded at this site."
  • APS Press : Image Resources
    The American Phytopathological Society (APS) is the premier society dedicated to high quality, innovative plant pathology research. Saint Paul publisher. Publishes the print and CD-Rom images used in the Plant Path Library.
  • Botanical Society of America Online Image Collection
    Images currently cover Plant Geography, Plant Morphology, Phloem Development, Xylem Development, Floral Ontogeny, Lichens, Economic Botany, Carnivorous Plants, Organography, Pollen, Paleobotany, Plant Defense Mechanisms and Plant Anatomy.
  • IPM Images : Crops
    Browse images by commodity, taxonomy, damage types, photographers, organization, location.
  • MykoWeb
    "MykoWeb is a site rich in mushroom photography. There about 6000 fungal photographs to view, with over 4000 of these illustrating the species at The Fungi of California. Hundreds of the best photographs are available for viewing in large size on the Mushroom Photography pages."
  • Photo Gallery
    Photos from the Weed Science Society of America of many common North American weeds, herbs, and plants.
  • PLANTS Database
    The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references. PLANTS is a collaborative effort of the USDA NRCS National Plant Data Team (NPDT), the USDA NRCS Information Technology Center (ITC), The USDA National Information Technology Center (NITC), and many other partners.
  • Texas Plant Disease Handbook
    Organized by plant type, the TPDH includes definitions of plant diseases as well as images for some but not all pathologies.
  • Virtual Nematode
    "The Virtual Nematode uses 3-D animations and virtual reality environments as visual teaching aids for several concepts in plant parasitic nematology. The end product is intended to supplement a lecture. Visualization may enhance a viewer's perception and retention of the information presented. "
Fisheries & Aquatic Zoology
  • Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
    Images related to freshwater and marine topics, including images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects. From the University of Washington Library's Digital Collections.
Forestry
  • Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection (UC Berkeley Biosciences & Natural Resources Library)
    The Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection is a group of about 9000 photographs relating primarily to forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the United States. Subjects include logging operations, logging equipment, reforestation, forest research, fire protection, lumber mills, and the activities of the University of California's School of Forestry. The photographs were taken from 1906 to 1984 by Emanuel Fritz, Woodbridge Metcalf and others.
  • Forestry Images
    Health, natural resources, and silviculture Images including forest pests, trees and stand types, silvicultural practices, invasive organisms, forest plants, wildlife, and other scenes. Joint project of the Bugwood Network and the USDA Forest Service, and the University of Georgia.

Professional Programs

Professional Programs


Architecture
  • 360cities
    Panoramic views of sites and architecture around the world. Join to upload your panoramas.
  • American Terra Cotta Photographs
    The collection contains shop drawings in ink on linen, paper and prints from the American, Indianapolis, Midland, and Winkle Terra Cotta Companies plus hundreds of photographs (prints and negatives), office indexes, order books, and advertising brochures.
  • Architecture and Landscape Design Images (Smithsonian Galaxy of Images)
    The Smithsonian Galaxy of Images contains 1.5 images across disciplines. This grouping represents the digital collections of Architecture and Landscape Architecture specifically, many of which come from the SI Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum. Caldwell Lighting Archive: http://www.sil.si.edu/DigitalCollections/Caldwell/search.cfm for images related to lighting design.
  • Archnet
    Archnet is an open-access intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world.
  • arcspace.com
    Architecture magazine featuring contemporary architecture projects, architects, and design. Includes image gallery with multiple site views and large download sizes.
  • arounder
    Panoramic views of important sites in European and American cities. Includes historical cathedrals and works of art, museums featuring famous artists, local cafes and stores, mountain-top views, parks and gardens.
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes
    Archive of digital images with accompanying educational materials, built around the villa, an important landscape type in garden history. Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
  • Chicago Public Library Digital Collections
    Highlights include construction views of Millennium Park, detailed photographs of Civil War artifacts, photographs of Harold Washington, documents from the Chicago Renaissance and pictures of Chicago neighborhoods.
  • Cities and Buildings Database
    Buildings and cities from throughout history and throughout the world. A collection begun by UW professor Meredith L. Clausen for use in the classroom, student study, or individual research purposes.
  • Columbus Indiana Architectural Archives
    The Columbus Indiana Architectural Archives (www.columbusarchives.org) was created to collect, conserve, preserve, and promote the use of records that document the architecture, engineering, and arts associated with the built environment of Columbus, Indiana and Bartholomew County. The archives' collection includes materials on both Historical and Modernist projects, including many of the 60 plus designs by world famous architects of the last half century that are located in Bartholomew County.
  • Digital Imaging Project
    "Art historical images of European and North American architecture and sculpture from classical Greek to Post-Modern." A project by Mary Ann Sullivan to put her slide collection on the web.
  • Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Image Collections
    The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Individuals can access a trove of tens of thousands of images across these institutions through DPLA's search interface (by selecting the "images" filter on results after performing a keyword search). Alternatively, consider using the OpenPics app. (http://dp.la/apps/6) to find images from the DPLA (and other repositories).
  • Great Buildings Collection
    Pictures, details, resources, and other information about well-designed buildings from around the world.
  • MEDart Images of Medieval Art & Architecture
    Extensive documentation of Chartres Cathedral and the Benedictine Abbey Church of Sainte-Marie-Madeleine at Vezelay, including photographs, drawings, plans, and historical information.
  • Pattern in Islamic Art
    "Offers more than 4000 free downloadable images of such patterns as used in the decoration of Islamic architecture. The bulk of these images are drawnfrom David Wade's own photo-archive, itself the fruit of his visits to various Islamic and formerly Islamic regions over a period of some thirty years. In addition to his photo-archive the site offers other related material such as drawings, diagrams and analyses, background notes, and previouslypublished material."
  • Speculum Romanae Magnificentiae Digital Collection
    "The University of Chicago's Special Collections Research Center holds the largest Speculum collection. This group of 994 prints (engravings, etchings, and a few woodcuts) was brought together by a nineteenth-century collector; it is organized around a core of prints published by Lafreri but also includes many other related prints. This site provides scholars, students, and art lovers with access to this collection at a distance -- much as prints themselves originally afforded a view of Rome from afar."
  • Structurae
    International collection of architecture and engineering images and information, including historic and contemporary structures. Focus on works of interest for their structural engineering.
  • Top Ten New York Architecture
    Contemporary and historic images of significant buildings in New York. Inclues photography, postcards, and posters. Organized by style, building function, and neighborhood.
  • University of Washington Cities and Buildings Database
    The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. Researchers can now search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields.
  • VADS. The online resource for visual arts.
    Visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images from institutional sources contributed for use in learning, teaching and research. Includes art, design, architecture, decorative art, fashion. UK-based.
  • Web Gallery of Art - a virtual museum of over 20,000 reproductions
    "The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism and Romanticism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 20,300 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available. Guided tours, period music, downloadable catalogue, free postcard and other services are provided. The Web Gallery of Art is intended to be a free resource of art history primarily for students and teachers. It is a private initiative not related to any museums or art institutions, and not supported financially by any state or corporate sponsors. However, we do our utmost, using authentic literature and advice from professionals, to ensure the quality and authenticity of the content."
Landscape Architecture
  • Early Landscape Photography of the American West
    Over 200 large albumen prints from the 1860s and 1870s of American Western landscape. The locations and photographers include views of Yosemite Valley by Carleton E. Watkins and Charles L. Weed, the route of the Union Pacific Railroad through the Rocky Mountains by A.J. Russell, and others.
  • Environmental Design Archives (UC Berkeley)
    The Environmental Design Archives holds nearly 100 collections documenting the built and landscaped environment. These records span a century, 1890-1990, and contain primary source materials such as correspondence, reports, specifications, drawings, photographs, and artifacts.
  • Historic Architecture and Landscape Image Collection (Art Institute of Chicago)
    Consisting of approximately 11,000 images that document the architecture, landscape and urban planning of sites across the United States - with a particular emphasis on Chicago and its suburbs - and, to a lesser extent, internationally, The Historic Architecture and Landscape Image collection, or HALIC, contains mounted photographic prints, lantern slides (both black and white and hand-colored), and postcards dating from the 1860s to the 1970s.
Clothing
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • Fashion: Past & Present
    A listing of dozens of online resources that cover the entire span of the history of fashion. The sources are also listed by century. Children's, men's, ethnic & folk fashions as well as military arms and armor and all types of cosmetics and accessories are also covered.
  • Index of American Design
    An index of over 18,000 watercolor renderings of American decorative art objects. Search the collection or in the selected online tours for "costume" or "textiles". A brief description of each item is also provided.
  • WWD - Women's Wear Daily
    A comprehensive archive of Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution, full color images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.
Journalism
  • American Memory Images
    Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
  • Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Image Collections
    The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Individuals can access a trove of tens of thousands of images across these institutions through DPLA's search interface (by selecting the "images" filter on results after performing a keyword search). Alternatively, consider using the OpenPics app. (http://dp.la/apps/6) to find images from the DPLA (and other repositories).
  • Dreamstime
    Dreamstime offers royalty free stock photos and sharing capability.
  • Flickr Commons
    Search and use hundreds of images with "no known copyright restrictions." A joint venture of Flickr and the Library of Congress, Flickr Commons was designed to increase access to publicly-held photography collections.
  • Minnesota Reflections
    Minnesota Reflections is a collection of more than 6,000 digital images of Minnesota prior to 1908, representing the first 50 years of statehood. The images were contributed by about 60 libraries, archives, museums, and historical societies from all corners of the state. This is the first collection of images produced by the Minnesota Digital Library Coalition. Future additions will include documents that have played an important role in Minnesota history.
  • Morguefile.com
    Morguefile.com bills itself as a photo archive that offers free stock photos marketed to illustrators, art directors, and instructors.
  • Stock Free Images
    "Stock Free Images is the largest web collection of FREE images, with [over 900,000] images, royalty-free stock photos and illustrations."
  • Stock.XCHNG
    Stock.xchng offers free stock photos. "Whether you just want to browse our huge image gallery or want to share your own photos with others, this is the site for you!"
  • U.S. Government Photos and Images
    A large collection of photos and images made available by the U.S. government. ost of these images and graphics are available for use in the public domain, and they may be used and reproduced without permission or fee. However, some images may be protected by license. We strongly recommend you thoroughly read the disclaimers on each site before use. For information about obtaining seals of Federal Agencies and the United States, please see the Government Printing Office website.
  • Wikimedia Commons
    Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content including images, sound and video clips.
  • World Digital Library
    Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
Marketing
  • Ad*Access
    Advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Digital collection at Duke University.
  • AdFlip
    Archive of classic print advertisements from 1940 to 2001. Search by publication, advertisement category, or year.
  • Ads of the World
    Contemporary ads from around the world, including award winners.
  • Advertolog
    Contemporary print and TV ads, browsable by categories, including cars, savoury foods, and men's magazines.
  • AdViews
    AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s from Duke University.
  • AIGA Design Archives
    Over 16,000 images of past winners of the American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA) annual competitions in the areas of Book, Brand and Corporate Identity, Promotional, Information, Package and Typographical design from 1950's to the present.
  • The American Package Museum
    Historical American packaging and print advertising from the early 20th century. Browse by product name. Some 3-D images available.
  • Early Advertising of the West, 1867-1918
    This collection from the University of washington Libraries consists of over 450 print advertisements published in local magazines, city directories, and theater pamphlets from 1867 to 1918.
  • Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
    An important, collaborative effort between the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History and Duke University's Digital Scriptorium provides images of over 9,000 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920. The site is designed to chronicle the rise of consumer culture in America in the late nineteenth century as well as the development of a professionalized advertising industry.
  • Gender Ads
    Advertising images focusing on gender content and analysis. Browse by female and male advertisements, body parts, gender roles, and more.
  • GLAAD Advertising Media Program
    Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) archive of current and historical advertising with diverse gender content. Image collection and analysis.
  • Medicine and Madison Avenue
    Over 600 historical and health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from 1910-1959; categories include cigarettes, vitamins and tonics, diet, and more From Duke University Libraries digital collections.
Communication Studies
  • ARTstor Authentication Required
    ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. How to use ARTstor: http://artstor.libguides.com/students
  • Time and Life Pictures
    Time-Life Pictures. Images by well-known photojournalists "documenting past and present political and cultural events, as well as celebrities and the American experience." Also includes commercial and archival footage.
  • Wikimedia Commons
    Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content including images, sound and video clips.

Freely Reusable Photos & Images (CC, Public Domain, etc.)

Freely Reusable Photos & Images (CC, Public Domain, etc.)

  • DrStockPhoto.com
    DrStockPhoto.com provides access to thousands of royalty free photos and images, under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license.
Local & Regional
  • Minnesota Historical Society's Visual Resources Database
    Information about photographs, artwork, posters, and fine art photographs, as well as selected images from the collections of the Minnesota Historical Society are included in this database. These historical collections visually represent Minnesotans, their lives, landscapes, leisure and occupations from the pre-territorial period to the present.
  • Minnesota Reflections
    Minnesota Reflections is a collection of more than 6,000 digital images of Minnesota prior to 1908, representing the first 50 years of statehood. The images were contributed by about 60 libraries, archives, museums, and historical societies from all corners of the state. This is the first collection of images produced by the Minnesota Digital Library Coalition. Future additions will include documents that have played an important role in Minnesota history.
  • UMedia Archive (UMN)
    Discover and learn about the rich collections available through the UMedia Archive.
Interdisciplinary Image Search Engines
  • Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Image Collections
    The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Individuals can access a trove of tens of thousands of images across these institutions through DPLA's search interface (by selecting the "images" filter on results after performing a keyword search). Alternatively, consider using the OpenPics app. (http://dp.la/apps/6) to find images from the DPLA (and other repositories).
  • Google Images
    Google's collection of millions of images employs "robots [that] analyze dozens of factors on and about webpages (like captions, descriptions, and other contextual information) to understand and index the images on the Web. Google also applies sophisticated algorithms to the Images index to remove duplicates and to ensure that the highest-quality results show up first. Google automatically crawls websites to find images, so there's no way to directly upload or add images to the Google Images index." The searches aren't perfect, but the number of images for any search is amazing.

Health Sciences

Health (BioMedical) Sciences


Medicine (general)
  • American Society of Hematology Image Bank
    The American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank is intended to serve as a comprehensive reference and teaching tool that is widely accessible to physicians and hematology students around the world.
  • Brain Biodiversity Bank Atlases
    Michigan State University online atlases of the brains of humans, sheep, dolphins, and more. Search for brain images by animal category.
  • Genome Image Gallery
    Genome Sciences images from the Department of Energy Human Genome Project. Search by topic or browse by categories including Human Chromosome Gallery, Basic Genomics, and more.
  • Harvard's Whole Brain Atlas
    Atlas of the human brain from Harvard Medicine. Browse for a variety of images by normal brain or brain disease type.
  • HEAL Images
    HEAL is a digital repository that allows medical educators to discover, download, and re-use over 22,000 medical education resources.
  • Images from the History of Medicine
    mages from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
  • Medscape Medical
    Over 10,000 medical images. Search for images by limiting your "content type" to "images."
  • Open-i Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
    Open-i is a National Institutes of Health (NIH) sponsored project designed to "provide next generation information retrieval services for biomedical articles from the full text collections such as PubMed Central. It is unique in its ability to index both the text and images in the articles." The initial launch is with 600,000 images, with plans to scale in the millions over time.
  • Springer Images
  • The JayDoc HistoWeb
    JayDoc HistoWeb is an online histology atlas. The creators of HistoWeb allow use of the content for non-profit, educational purposes.
  • Wellcome Images
    Over 40,000 current and historical medical images; topics include medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
History of Medicine
  • American Social Health Association Records
    The records chronicle the American Social Health (originally "Hygiene") Association's efforts to control and prevent venereal disease, prostitution, and drug addiction through educational, legal, and medical measures. The records reflect considerable interaction with the armed forces, particularly during periods of war or full mobilization. Field reports document conditions in individual cities and the influence of housing, recreation, sanitation, and other factors on vice and public health. Financial sections reflect the development of federated fund-raising and its impact on a national association's program. Activities of longtime executives and staff members William Snow, C. Walter Clarke, Bascom Johnson, and Paul Kinsie are extensively documented. Also included are extensive files of printed materials on social hygiene produced by ASHA. [Finding Aid available at http://purl.umn.edu/41138]
     
  • Department of Pathology - Digital Slidebox
    University of Western Ontario virtual slidebox of images illustrating pathological processes.
  • Images from the History of Medicine
    mages from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
  • Medicine and Madison Avenue
    Over 600 historical and health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from 1910-1959; categories include cigarettes, vitamins and tonics, diet, and more From Duke University Libraries digital collections.
  • Yale Cushing/Whitney Medical Digital Library
    Images from the Pathology Teaching Collection, historical hospital postcards, portrait engravings, and the George E. Palade slide collection.
     
  • "Youth and Life" was a 48-poster series, designed to educate teenage girls and young women about the dangers of sexual promiscuity and urged them to embrace moral and physical fitness. It was adapted in 1922 by the American Social Hygiene Association from "Keeping Fit", a similar series for boys and young men.
Cardiology
  • Alan E Lindsay ECG Learning Center in Cyberspace
    The ECG Learning Center also includes diagrams useful in explaining ECG abnormalities. Use of ECG Learning Center images is governed by a Creative Commons Copyright which allows rather liberal non-profit use.
  • ECG Library
    The ECG Library includes approximately 50 ECGs, a few diagrams useful in explaining ECG abnormalities, and a brief history of electrocardiography. Materials available through the site may be used for non-commercial purposes if their source is acknowledged.
Dentistry
  • Biology Image Library
    Biology Image Library: Collection of images, movies, illustrations and animations across biology and biomedicine. You can download as much material as you want for non-commercial purposes, such as for use in lectures or seminars.Some dental images - type in 'dental, teeth, oral'
  • HON Media Gallery
    Non-governmental organization whose central purpose is to set standards for the presentation of health information on the web. The Media Gallery is a searchable repository of over 6,800 images and videos which meet HON standards.  Search under: Dental, Oral, Tooth/Teeth
  • MedlinePlus
    MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 590 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
  • TRIP Database
    The trip database contained Evidence Based Healthcare reources. Each abstract denotes the source and description of information along with complete citations.
  • Anatomy.tv Authentication Required
    The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.
Dermatology
  • Dermatology Image Bank
    Includes images of many different dermatologic disorders. Maintained by the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, University of Utah Health Sciences Center. Multimedia items may be downloaded and used for educational purposes.
Embryology
  • Embryology Imaages: Normal and Abnormal Mammalian
    Embryo Images Normal and Abnormal Mammalian Development is a tutorial that uses scanning electron micrographs (SEMs) as the primary resource to teach mammalian embryology. The 3-D like quality of the micrographs coupled with selected line drawings and minimal text allow relatively easy understanding of the complex morphological changes that occur in utero. Because early human embryos are not readily available and because embryogenesis is very similar across mammalian species, the majority of mic
  • Multi-Dimensional Human Embryo
    The Multi-Dimensional Human Embryo is a collaboration funded by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) to produce and make available over the internet a three-dimensional image reference of the human embryo based on magnetic resonance imaging. The collection of images is intended to serve students, researchers, clinicians, and the general public interested in studying and teaching human development.
  • Visible Embryo
    Detailed accounts of stages of fetal development, images, embryology links. Site created with National Institute of Health support.
Gynaecology
  • Anatomy.tv Authentication Required
    The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.
  • Composite Atlases
    REGISTRATION REQUIRED Global Library of Women's Medicine Includes pathology, anatomy, MRI, CT and X-Ray images.
  • HEAL
    HEAL is a digital repository that allows medical educators to discover, download, and re-use over 22,000 medical education resources.
  • WebPath: Female Genital Tract Pathology
    University of Utah A series of images demonstrating gross and microscopic pathologic findings for a variety of disease processes. A short description accompanies each image.
Kinesiology
  • Google Body Browser
    Load WebGL and the beta version of Google Chrome to use this. View the human body as you would google earth!
  • HEAL Images
    HEAL is a digital repository that allows medical educators to discover, download, and re-use over 22,000 medical education resources.
  • Wellcome Images
    Over 40,000 current and historical medical images; topics include medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
  • Wikimedia Commons
    Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content including images, sound and video clips.
Pathology
  • Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
    The WebPath® computer-aided instructional resource at this website contains over 2000 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. For self-assessment and study there are over 2000 examination items. There are more than 20 tutorials in specific subject areas.
  • PEIR Digital Library
    The University of Alabama at Birmingham allows some non-profit, educational use of the images included in this searchable database.
  • Radiologic Anatomy Browser
    Radiologic image browser and a glossary with image links produced by the Department of Radiology and Nuclear Medicine The Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD
  • Urbana Atlas of Pathology
    Developed by University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign, this resources provides an overview of a number of pathologies including cardiovascular, endocrine, pulmonary, and renal.
Surgical Science
  • John Martin Rare Book Room Images
    These unique sets of several hundred images from the 5,000 volume John Martin Rare Book Room have been selected from some of the more striking works in the collection and include illustrations relating to anatomy, physiology, surgery, obstetrics, and therapeutics. An effort has been made to avoid duplicating the work of other digitizing projects relating to the history of medicine and to include only those images not already scanned in high resolution.
Urology
Veterinary Science
  • Animal Science Image Gallery
    The Animal Science Image Gallery is a collaborative project of the USDA National Agricultural Library and the American Society of Animal Science.
  • The Mouse Brain Library
    Supported as part of the Informatics Center for Mouse Neurogenetics, a Human Brain Project/Neuroinformatics program funded jointly by the National Institute of Mental Health, National Institute on Drug Abuse, and the National Science Foundation (P20-MH 62009
  • Virtual Cat Dissection
    From Penn State, real images document dissection of a cat, showing external anatomy to the nervous system.

Acknowledgements

Image Copyright Considerations: Depending on the context, use of images may require permissions from the rights holder. It is the responsibility of the user to obtain these rights. For further information on image copyright considerations as well as citing images in works, we recommend the University of Washington Image Citation and Copyright page.

Acknowledgements: Many of these discipline compilations and resource descriptions were initially culled, with further refinement by local subject liaison librarians, from the LibGuides Community as part of a comprehensive project to identify exemplar image collections. While by no means comprehensive, here are some of the external image guides that inspired our project. We are incredibly grateful for the contributions of our colleagues and the Libguides Community, as multimedia resources are increasingly becoming an invaluable part of scholarship! If you contributed to the curation/description of these resources and would like to be added to our bibliography, please contact Scott Spicer, and we will add your name, institution, and LibGuide URL to this list.
 

Last Updated: Nov 20, 2020 4:29 PM