This is a guide for researchers who are looking for East Asian visual materials such as paintings, prints, photos, maps, posters and slides.
- Big Ten Academic Alliance GeoportalThe Big Ten Academic Alliance Geoportal provides discoverability and facilitates access to geospatial resources. The resources in the portal are selected and curated by librarians and geospatial specialists at ten research institutions in the Big Ten Academic Alliance. The resources include GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps. Learn more about the research institutions involved and the sources of the geospatial records.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)A searchable online catalog with millions of digitized items to browse, including photos, maps and books, from libraries, archives, museums, and cultural institutions around the United States.
- Early Japanese Imperial Maps of China and Korea: A DatabaseThe Library of Congress houses hundreds of original hand-drawn survey maps of the Chinese continent and the Korean Peninsula created by Japanese Army officers in the 1880s. This database provides images of these maps.
To browse the collection, please enter "agree" in the textbox and click the button "閲覧する"
- East Asian Image CollectionIt is an open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, rare books and slides under the general editorship of Paul D. Barclay, Professor of History at Lafayette College, in partnership with staff at Digital Scholarship Services and Special Collections & College Archives. It includes digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, & slides of colonial Taiwan (1900-45) and occupied Japan (1947-52).
- Harvard Digital Maps CollectionThis is a map collection from Harvard University. Most of the maps have free online access. It covers the maps of China, Japan, Korea, & Vietnam
- HOLLIS ImagesHOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. It focuses on artistic and cultural materials.
- Minnesota Digital LibraryThe Minnesota Digital Library (MDL) supports discovery and education through access to unique digital collections shared by cultural heritage organizations from across the state of Minnesota. The Minnesota Digital Library also provides education and training opportunities concerning digitization best practices, metadata for digital collections, and digital preservation.
- MIT Visualizing CulturesThis collection contains visual sources of Japan in the modern world and early-modern China.
- National Museum of Asian ArtThe museum cares for exceptional collections of Asian art, with more than 45,000 objects dating from the Neolithic period to today and originating from the ancient Near East to China, Japan, Korea, South and Southeast Asia, and the Islamic world.
- Old Maps OnlineOldMapsOnline developed out of a love of history and heritage of old maps. The project began as a collaboration between Klokan Technologies GmbH, Switzerland and The Great Britain Historical GIS Project based at the University of Portsmouth, UK.
- Pacific Rim Digital Library Alliance (PRDLA)The Pacific Rim Research Libraries Alliance, also known as PRRLA, focuses on cooperative ventures among academic libraries located around the Pacific Rim to improve access to scholarly research materials. The collections include books, archives, photos, videos, etc. Each collection can be viewed through individual institution website.
- UMediaUMedia includes digitized collections from the University of Minnesota Libraries, Archives and Special Collections.
- World Digital LibraryCreated by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.
- 東洋文庫 画像The Toyo Bunko collection has many digitized rare materials on East Asian studies, including book, images and maps. Most of them are free to access.
- 東洋文庫画像データベース 中華帝国図等A collection of western maps mostly on China acquired by the Toyo Bunko in 1917. It also includes some maps on Japan, Korea, Southeast Asia and Asia.
Last Updated: Feb 8, 2023 2:05 PM