Music Librarian
What kind of examples are included on this page?
As you scroll, you'll find footnote and bibliography entry templates and examples of citations for real sources for the following types of scores:
- Print score: Single composer
- Vocal score
- Reprint score
- Digital score: Something that was originally in print but has been made available digitally (e.g., items on IMSLP or in a library database like Classical Scores Library)
- Digital Score: A born-digital score (something that was created as a digital score and never available in print)
- Part of a score (e.g., individual Lied in a set, introduction to a score by an author who isn't the composer, etc.)
-
Introduction or other text-based section of a score
Print score: Single composer
Footnote template:
34. Composer First Name Last Name, Score Title, ed. or arr. First Name Last Name if Applicable (Name of Publisher, Year of Publication), Page Number, m. Measure Number if Applicable.
Example of a real footnote:
34. Gabriela Lena Frank, Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout (G. Schirmer, 2005), 3.
4. Charles Ives, Twelve Easy Songs: For High Voice and Piano, ed. Neely Bruce and James B. Sinclair (Peermusic Classical, 2019), 12-13.
Bibliography entry template:
Example of a real bibliography entry:
Vocal score
Notes:
- It can be really helpful for your reader to know what type of score you’re referencing, so including the designation “vocal score” can help with distinguishing between a full score and a piano reduction!
Footnote template:
2. Composer First Name Last Name, Score Title, ed. or arr. by First Name Last Name if Applicable, vocal score (Name of Publisher, Year of Publication), Page Number, m. Measure Number if Applicable.
Example of a real footnote:
2. W.A. Mozart, Don Giovanni, English version by W.H. Auden and Chester Kallman, vocal score (G. Schirmer, 1961), 8.
Bibliography entry template:
Example of a real bibliography entry:
Reprint score
Footnote template:
17. Composer First Name Last Name, Score Title (Original Score Title if Applicable, Name of Original Publisher if Applicable, Original Year of Publication; repr. Name of New Publisher, New Year of Publication), Page Number, m. Measure Number if Applicable.
Example of a real footnote:
17. Gustav Mahler, Symphony No. 9 in Full Score (Neunte Symphonie von Gustav Mahler, Partitur, Universal-Edition, 1912; repr. Dover Publications, Inc., 1993), 1, m. 9.
24. Joseph Haydn, Symphony #71 (Cianchettini and Sperati, 1807; repr. Da Capo Press, 1967), 14.
Bibliography entry template:
Example of a real bibliography entry:
Digital score: Something that was originally in print but has been made available digitally (e.g., items on IMSLP or in a library database like Classical Scores Library)
Notes:
- If your PDF includes page numbers as they were printed in the original - and they may not start at page #1! - cite the page number as it appears in the score, NOT the page number within the PDF file. PDF versions of items that originally existed in print were made from the print publication, and your reader might have access to the original and will need the page number to find the piece of information you’re referencing. Also, another PDF may have different page numbers!
- Unlike materials that are openly accessible on the internet and available to anyone without a login, scores from Libraries databases are behind a paywall. If you see a very long URL in your browser’s address bar that includes the text “ezp1.lib.umn.edu,” then anyone who doesn’t have a UMN username and password won’t be able to access it via a link. In those cases, it’s okay to just include the name of the database (in this case, Classical Scores Library).
-
When a source doesn't include a date, add “n.d.” in the spot where a date would appear (but always try to include the date if possible!).
Footnote template:
2. Composer First Name Last Name, Score Title, ed. Editor First Name Last Name if Applicable (Name of Publisher, Year of Publication), access date, Database Name and/or URL, Page Number, m. Measure Number if Applicable.
Example of a real footnote:
2. Franz Schubert, Winterreise, ed. Max Friedlaender (Edition Peters, n.d.), accessed March 20 2020, http://ks4.imslp.net/files/imglnks/usimg/9/92/IMSLP00414-Schubert_-_Winterreise.pdf, 54, m. 8.
31. Franz Schubert, Winterreise (Breitkopf and Härtel, 1897), accessed March 20, 2020, Classical Scores Library, 2, m. 8.
Bibliography entry template:
Example of a real bibliography entry:
Digital Score: A born-digital score (something that was created as a digital score and never available in print)
Footnote template:
76. Composer First Name Last Name, Score Title, in Database Name, ed. Editor First Name Last Name if Applicable, access date, URL if Available, Page Number, m. Measure Number if Applicable.
Example of a real footnote:
76. Fanny Mendelssohn, Trio for Violin, Violoncello, and Piano, Op. 11, in A-R Music Anthology, ed. James L. Zychowicz, accessed October 14, 2020, www.armusicanthology.com, 2, m. 12.
Bibliography entry template:
Example of a real bibliography entry:
Part of a score (e.g., individual Lied in a set, introduction to a score by an author who isn't the composer, etc.)
Footnote template:
From a single-volume publication (no volume number)
1. Composer First Name Last Name, “Song/Lied/Movement Title,” in Score Title, ed. Editor First Name Last Name if applicable (Publisher Name, Year of Publication), Page Number, m. Measure Number if Applicable.
From a multivolume set
6. Composer First Name Last Name, “Song/Lied/Movement Title,” in Score Title, vol. #, ed. Editor First Name Last Name if Applicable (Publisher Name, Year of Publication), Page Number, m. Measure Number if Applicable.
Example of a real footnote:
From a single-volume publication (no volume number)
1. George Gershwin, “I Got Rhythm,” in Gershwin at the Keyboard: 16 Song Hits Arranged by the Composer for Piano (New World Music Corp., 1930), 12, mm. 1-4.
From a multivolume set
6. Richard Strauss, “Morgen!,” in Lieder: Gesamtausgabe, vol. I, ed. Franz Trenner (Boosey & Hawkes, 1964), 143.
Bibliography entry template:
From a single-volume publication (no volume number)
From a multivolume set
Example of a real bibliography entry:
From a single-volume publication (no volume number)
From a multivolume set
Introduction or other text-based section of a score
Notes:
- The page numbers for introductory material like prefaces and forwards are often notated in Roman numerals; if that’s the case, retain that formatting and DON’T translate the numbers to Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3, etc.)!
Footnote template:
13. Author First Name Last Name, “Introduction Title,” in Score Title, comp. Composer First Name Last Name, ed. Editor First Name Last Name if Applicable and Different from the Author of the Introduction (Publisher Name, Year of Publication), Page Number.
Example of a real footnote:
13. Bettina Schwemer and Douglas Woodfull-Harris, “Preface,” in 6 Suites a Violoncello Solo senza Basso, BWV 1007-1012, comp. J.S. Bach (Bärenreiter, 2018), vi.
Bibliography entry template:
Example of a real bibliography entry: