What kind of examples are included on this page?

As you scroll, you'll find footnote and bibliography entry templates and examples of citations for real sources for the following types of dissertations and theses:

  • Digital dissertations and theses
  • Print dissertations and theses

Digital dissertation or thesis

Digital dissertation footnotes:

Footnote template: 8. Author First Name Last Name, “Dissertation or Thesis Title” (DMA diss./PhD diss./master’s thesis, Institution Name, Year), Page Number, Database Name.

Example of a real footnote: 8. Christine Jobson, “Florence Price: An Analysis of Select Art Songs With Text by Female Poets” (DMA  diss., University of Miami, 2019), 56, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses.

 

Digital dissertation bibliography entries:

Bibliography entry template: Author Last Name, First Name. “Dissertation or Thesis Title.” DMA diss./PhD diss./Master’s thesis, Institution Name, Year. Database Name.

Example of a real bibliography entry: Jobson, Christine. “Florence Price: An Analysis of Select Art Songs With Text by Female Poets.” DMA diss., University of Miami, 2019. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses.

Print dissertation or thesis

Print dissertation footnotes:

Footnote template: 19. Author First Name Last Name, “Dissertation or Thesis Title’” (DMA diss./PhD diss./master’s thesis, Institution Name, Year), Page Number.

Example of a real footnote: 19. Gregory Alden Magie, “Conducting William Schuman's ‘New England Triptych’’” (DMA  diss.,  University of California, Los Angeles, 1996), 12.

 

Print dissertation bibliography entries:

Bibliography entry template: Author Last Name, First Name. “Dissertation or Thesis Title.’” DMA/PhD diss./Master’s thesis, Institution Name, Year.

Example of a real bibliography entry: Magie, Gregory Alden. “Conducting William Schuman's ‘New England Triptych.’” DMA diss., University of California, Los Angeles, 1996.

Last Updated: May 12, 2021 4:04 PM