Related Guides
This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in topics related to Japanese studies. For advanced researchers, please see the Japanese Studies Advanced Guide in the "Related Guides" section on
Start with:
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesSearch topics, especially in the humanities and the social sciences, on East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. You can also find citations to journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and more.
Then try any of the following:
- Asahi Shinbun DigitalUse this for daily updates, news, and analysis of Japanese and Asian politics, business, social trends, travel, and more from The Asahi Shimbun. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- CiNiiCiNii(Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator) is a Japanese database service which can be searched with academic information of articles, Books, Journals & Dissertations.
- Complete Database for Japanese Magazine and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the PresentIndex to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from Meiji Era to the present. Limited to 55 simultaneous users.
- JapanKnowledge LibThe database connects you to multiple resources including Japanese and English language dictionaries for modern and classical terms, historic chronology, general encyclopedias, news, Japanese names and biographies, business quarterly reports, law dictionaries, and multimedia. Searches can be done in English or Japanese with results in either language depending on what resources were searched.
- MagazinePlusAccess is limited for 3 simultaneous users.The largest searchable database in Japan with over 7 million records. In addition to the zasshi kiji sakuin (Japanese Periodicals Index) since 1975, this database includes a wide range of scholarly, general interest, business, and sports periodicals. The database permits searches by keyword, author, publication title, or publisher. It does not provide full-text access.
- Quick Guide on Citation Style for Chinese, Japanese and Korean SourcesYale University’s guide to MLA, Chicago, and APA citation styles for Chinese, Japanese, and Korean sources.
Also check out:
- Library of Congress Japanese Romanization GuideThe best way to search for specific Japanese language books in UMN Libraries Search is to use the romanized title or author name. This is the detailed guide from Library of Congress.
- Searching Japanese Materials in Library CatalogsA YouTube Video introduces how to best search Japanese language materials in library catalogs.
- Japanese Studies Advanced GuideExtensive list of databases and websites for more advanced research.
- East Asian Library
Collection, in Wilson Library, focused on Chinese, Japanese, and Korean language materials, serving the instructional and research needs of the East Asian studies and more.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 2:55 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/japan