Health Statistics and Data Sources

By Disease, Condition and Special Topics

• Children
• Diseases
  • AIDS and HIV
  • Cancer
  • Diabetes
  • Digestive / Gastrointestinal Diseases
  • Heart Disease
  • Infectious Diseases
    • COVID-19
  • Kidney, Renal or Urologic Diseases
  • Oral / Dental
• Environmental
• Maternal and Infant Health
• Health Care Costs and Utilization
• Health Disparities
• Health Surveys
• Injuries and Accidents
• Mental Health
• Health Surveys
• Mortality
• Obesity
• Population
• Rural Health
• Senior Health
• Substance Abuse
• Transplantation
• Women's Health

• CDC Wonder
  • CDC WONDER presents an array of health related data sets. Each data set can be queried using a series of menus.

    Document collections, such as CDC Prevention Guidelines, are presented in a topic list or table of contents. In some cases, a full text search option is available as well.

    Statistical databases and document databases are presented in a series of "fill in the blanks" request forms. You fill in the forms to specify the criteria for your data request, and then send the request to be processed. If the system is delayed processing your request, however, some queries allow you to retrieve your results later, or you can have them e-mailed to you.

    Topics include: Chronic diseases; Health practice & prevention; Communicable diseases; Injury prevention; Environmental health; Occupational health; Reference data. Can create charts, maps, etc. Data can be used in Word documents/Excel spreadsheets, etc.

• Data,CDC.gov
  • A repository for selected CDC data that can be visualized and syndicated to external sites. While most of this data is already available through various other CDC websites and applications, Data.CDC.gov provides a central way to search and discover data and allows for visualizations (e.g., charts, maps, and filtered views), and syndication. The Data.CDC.gov team is actively working to collect and offer more data on the site to aid in the increased use and distribution of health-related data.

• Find a CMS Data File
  • By category, program, privacy level and list of top requested sites.
    • CMS Data Request Center
      • This section will provide you with resources for preparing and submitting your CMS data request. CMS maintains three different categories of data files that can be used for research including Research identifiable, Limited Data Sets, and Public Use files. Select the links under the CMS Data Request Center navigation bar to review the request process and materials necessary to submit a request for data under each category.

• Data2010
  • ... the Healthy People 2010 database

    DATA2010 is final as of October 2011. No further updates will occur after this.

• Data2020
  • Healthy People 2020 interactive database

• NHIS: IPUMS HEALTH SURVEYS
  • The National Health Interview Survey is a survey collecting information on the health, health care access, and health behaviors of the civilian, non-institutionalized U.S. population, with digital data files available from 1963 to present. IPUMS Health Surveys harmonizes these data and allows users to create custom NHIS data extracts for analysis.(NHIS)
• IPUMS-USA
  • IPUMS-USA is a project dedicated to collecting IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
• IPUMS-CPS
  • IPUMS CPS harmonizes microdata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), covering the period 1962 to the present. Data include demographic information, rich employment data, program participation and supplemental data on topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security, and more
• IPUMS-DHS (Demographic & Health Series)
  • IPUMS-DHS facilitates analysis of Demographic and Health Surveys, administered in low- and middle-income countries since the 1980s. IPUMS-DHS contains thousands of consistently coded variables on the health and well-being of women, children, and births, for 22 African countries and India. Users can determine variable availability at a glance and create data files with just the variables and samples they need.
• IPUMS-International
  • IPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge.
• IPUMS: Time USE
  • These projects provide free individual-level time use data for research purposes. The data extract systems make it easy to create data sets containing time use and other variables a user needs.
• NAPP: North Atlantic Population Project
  • The North Atlantic Population Project (NAPP) harmonizes and disseminates nineteenth and early twentieth century census microdata. The collection includes data from Canada, Denmark, Great Britain, Germany, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, and the United States for the period 1703 to 1911.
• NHGIS: National Historical Geographic Information System
  • The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.
• IPUMS Terra: Integrated Population and Environmental Data
  • IPUMS Terra integrates population and environmental data across disciplinary scientific domains, enabling research into dramatic transformations of human populations, the environment, and their interactions.

• Major NCHS data sources.  
  • Longitudinal Studies of Aging 
    • Collaborative project of NCHS and the National Institute on Aging. A multicohort study of persons aged 70 years and older.
  •  National Health Care Surveys 
    • Designed to answer key questions of interest to health care policy makers, public health professionals and researchers.
  •  National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) 
    • A nationwide examination survey designed to collect information about the health and diet of people in the United States.
  •  National Health Interview Survey 
    • Principal source of information on the health of the civilian non-institutionalized population. NHIS data are used to monitor trends in illness and disability and to track progress toward achieving national health objectives.
  •  National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG) 
    • Provides information on fertility, conception, family planning and women's reproductive health in the United States. The 2002 study included males aged 15 to 44 and covered topics similar to those addressed for females.
  • National Vital Statistics System (NVSS) 
    • Collects and disseminates the Nation's official vital statistics on births, marriages, divorces and deaths.
  •  State and Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey (SLAITS) 
    • Collects key health care data at state and local levels through a variety of smaller surveys.
•  Interactive Data Tools and Query Systems 
  • Interactive tables and data
  • Health Data Interactive 
    • NCHS Interactive Data Query Systems presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.

      Topics include: -- Health and functional status -- Health care use and expenditures -- Health conditions -- Health insurance and access -- Mortality and life expectancy -- Pregnancy and birth -- Risk factors and disease prevention

  •  NCHS Survey Measures Catalog 
    • Provides an overview of questions about child and adolescent mental health, and functioning and disability in various surveys of the NCHS Data Systems. Some of the survey measures are included in both the mental health section and the functioning and disability section of the catalog.
  • Vital Statistics Online Data Portal
    • A portal to the online data dissemination activities of the Division of Vital Statistics, including both interactive online data access tools and downloadable public use data files.
•  Indian Health Service: Division of Program Statistics 
  • The Division of Program Statistics (DPS) produces the Indian Health Service's statistical information and publications that measure and document the progress in assuring access to health care services and improving the health status of the American Indian and Alaska Native populations we serve. The DPS data and publications are the most important tools to support the IHS's mission and goal. They are also the historical and foundational documents that will support the new health initiatives.
    • Publications 
      • Indian Health Focus: Injuries
      • Regional Differences in Indian Health
      • Trends in Indian Health
•  Injury Data and Resources 
  • The purpose of this Web site is to provide an overview of injury morbidity and mortality data and statistics available from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and to provide details on injury surveillance methodology and tools to assist in data analysis.
•  Life Tables 
  • Life tables are annual reports that track life expectancy in the United States each year by age, race and sex.
• National Death Index 
  • The National Death Index (NDI) is a centralized database of death record information on file in state vital statistics offices. Working with these state offices, the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) established the NDI as a resource to aid epidemiologists and other health and medical investigators with their mortality ascertainment activities.
•  Public-Use Data Files and Documentation 
  • The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) offers downloadable public-use data files through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) FTP file server. Users of this service have access to data sets, documentation, and questionnaires from NCHS surveys and data collection systems. Downloading instructions are available in "readme" files.

    Public-use data files are prepared and disseminated to provide access to the full scope of the data. This allows researchers to manipulate the data in a format appropriate for their analyses. NCHS makes every effort to release data collected through its surveys and data systems in a timely manner.

    Users of NCHS public-use data files must comply with data use restrictions to ensure that the information will be used solely for statistical analysis or reporting purposes.

Journals & Periodical Sources

• Advanced Data from Vital and Health Statistics
  • "These reports provide early release of data from the National Center for Health Statistics' health and demographic surveys. Many of these releases are followed by detailed reports in the Vital and Health Statistics series."

    No.1 (1976) - present available in pdf format.

• MMWR: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report 
  • National and state data on notifiable diseases, as well as a review of a selected health problem. Issues: vol. 31(1982) - present.

    Also includes --

• • Surveillance Summaries vol. 32 (1983) - present.

    The CDC Surveillance Summaries provide a means for CDC programs to disseminate surveillance findings, permitting detailed interpretation of trends and patterns based on those findings.

  • Recommendations & Reports vol.39 (1990) - present

    The MMWR Recommendations and Reports contain in-depth articles that relay policy statements for prevention and treatment on all areas in CDC's scope of responsibility (e.g., recommendations from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices).

• National Vital Statistics Report 
  • This title replaces the Monthly Vital Statistics Report (MVSR) effective with Vol. 47, No. 1.

    Regular issues cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics.

    Four to six special reports are issued per year. Special reports cover final data on births for the previous year, and special topic analyses are issued from time to time.

• Vital and Health Statistics Series 
  • Series 24. Compilations of Data on Natality, Mortality, Marriage, and Divorce
  • Series 23. Data From the National Survey of Family Growth
  • Series 22. Data From the National Mortality and Mortality Natality Surveys
  • Series 21. Data on Natality, Marriage, and Divorce
  • Series 20. Data on Mortality
  • Series 16. Compilations of Advance Data From Vital and Health Statistics
  • Series 15. Data From Special Surveys
  • Series 14. Data on Health Resources: Manpower and Facilities
  • Series 13. Data From the National Health Care Survey
  • Series 12. Data From the Institutionalized Populations Surveys
  • Series 11. Data From the National Health Examination Survey, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Surveys, and the Hispanic Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
  • Series 10. Data From the National Health Interview Survey
  • Series 6. Cognition and Survey Measurement
  • Series 5. International Vital and Health Statistics Reports
  • Series 4. Documents and Committee Reports
  • Series 3. Analytical and Epidemiological Studies
  • Series 2. Data Evaluation and Methods Research
  • Series 1. Programs and Collection Procedure
  • URL:http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/series.htm
    Also known as the "Rainbow Series"
•  Vital Statistics of the United States 
  • Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce.

    Historical Volumes: 1890-1936

    Bound Volumes: 1900-1984 and 1985-1993

    Above volumes available for download

    E-Only volumes: 1994-2000 -- Volumes produced only as download or CD-ROM

• The core functions of the Center for Health Statistics include:
  • The collection and analysis of health-related data
  • The design and implementation of public health surveys
  • The coordination of health data collection efforts at the state and local level
  • The provision of technical assistance and consultation

•  General statistics

  • County health tables: A compilation of public health statistics for Minnesota, its 87 counties, and its community health boards.

  • County-level indicators for community health assessment: Indicators from across public health categories and from various data sources has to assist local public health in community health assessment and planning processes.

  • HEDA: Conducting a Health Equity Data Analysis: Information on how to think about and analyze data related to health equity, and a starting point for understanding how to document health inequities in Minnesota.

  • Annual summary of Minnesota health statistics: Annual data for the state of Minnesota, including population characteristics, live births, fertility, and deaths.

  • Vital Statistics Interactive Queries (new window): Customize online queries of birth, death, and population data, and produce data tables, charts, and maps.

  • Vital statistics trend reports for Minnesota, counties, and community health boards: Demographic, natality, and mortality trends for Minnesota, its 87 counties and community health boards.

• Vital statistics

  • Natality (Births)
  • Mortality (Deaths)
  • Infant/Fetal Mortality
•  Minnesota County Health Profiles 
  • The Minnesota County Health Tables includes information on the following topics: Demographics; Natality; Mortality; Morbidity and Utilization; Chemical Health; Environmental Health; Minnesota Children with Special Health Needs

• Health Care Workforce Data Portal

  • provides data on Minnesota’s licensed healthcare workforce. Available data include provider demographics, geographic distribution, education, career plans, and practice characteristics on over 20 different licensed health care providers.

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe.

European health statistics measure both objective and subjective aspects of population's health. They cover different kinds of health-related issues in different sides of everybody's life, including key indicators on the functioning of the health care systems.

• Health status: self-reported health and morbidity, functional and activity limitations, injuries
• Health determinants: overweight and obesity, physical activity, dietary habits, risky behaviours such as tobacco and alcohol consumption
• Health care: health care expenditure, health care resources (staff and facilities) and activities (hospital and ambulatory services)
• Morbidity: diagnosis-specific morbidity (prevalence and incidence rates for defined diseases). This domain is under development.
• Disability: prevalence of disability, employment of disabled persons, barriers to the social integration of disabled persons
• Causes of death: national and regional mortality data by causes of death
• Accidents at work: incidence of accidents, causes of accidents

• Country Statistics 
  • The country statistical pages bring together the main health data and statistics for each country, as compiled by WHO and partners in close consultation with Member States, and include descriptive and analytical summaries of health indicators for major health topics.

•  Data Repository 
  • The GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository.

    The GHO data repository provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others. In addition, the GHO provides on-line access to WHO's annual summary of health-related data for its 194 Member states: the World Health Statistics 2012.

• Map Gallery 
  • The GHO map gallery includes an extensive list of maps on major health topics.

• Health Data
  • Core indicators, health analysis, mortality and health topics.

Journals & Periodical Sources

• Emerging Infectious Diseases 
  • Emerging Infectious Diseases is published monthly by the National Center for Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

• EuroSurveillance 
  • Peer-reviewed European information on communicable disease surveillance and control. Portions are updated weekly, monthly and quarterly.

• Weekly Epidemiological Record 
  • The Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER) serves as an essential instrument for the rapid and accurate dissemination of epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks of diseases under the International Health Regulations and on other communicable diseases of public health importance, including the newly emerging or re-emerging infections.

    Published by WHO

Children

• Birth Defects
  • Data & Statistics on Birth Defects (CDC).  National statistics on the occurrence of birth defects in the United States.  Specific birth defects are broken out into individual pages.
  • Birth defects: Minnesota Public Health Data Portal
• Child Development Data & Statistics
  • CDC
•  Child Health 
  • World Health Organization
• ChildTrends databank
  • The Child Trends DataBank is an online resource for indicators of child and family well-being and associated measures. The DataBank includes close to 100 population-based measures, covering the domains of health and safety, child care and education, and behaviors linked to positive and negative well-being.

• ChildStats.gov 
  • The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, or the Forum, is a working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families.

    "This web site offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. The Forum fosters coordination, collaboration, and integration of Federal efforts to collect and report data on conditions and trends for children and families."

•  Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health 
  • The Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health is a project of the Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI) supported by Cooperative Agreement 1-U59-MC06980-01 from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).
• FastStats: Child Health 
  • Centers For Disease Control
• Kids Count Data Center and Data Book
  • Offers data on more than 100 child well-being indicators on the national, State, and local level. Also includes the KIDS COUNT Data Book(opens in new window), which provides information and State rankings of performance on multiple child well-being indicators.  Annie E. Casey Foundation
•  UNICEF Statistics 

Diseases

• AIDS and HIV 

  • Basic Statistics 
    • Centers for Disease Control.

      Estimates, trends, cases.

    • HIV/AIDS Surveillance Report 

      • "The HIV/AIDS Surveillance Report contains tabular and graphic information about U.S. AIDS and HIV case reports, including data by state, metropolitan statistical area, mode of exposure to HIV, sex, race/ethnicity, age group, vital status, and case definition category. It is published annually by the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention, National Center for HIV, STD, and TB Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), usually in the early fall. The mid-year edition was discontinued after the 2001 reporting year."

  • Statehealthfacts.org: HIV/AIDS 
    • Subset of StateHealthFacts.org. 50 state comparisons.    
  • UNAIDS:AIDS/HIV Data 
    • Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS.

      Epidemiology, methodology and the AIDS Epidemic Update

    •  UNAIDS: Data 
      • Portal page to statistical analysis, and data tables, tools and interactive tables.
        • AIDSInfo

• Cancer  

  • American Cancer Society: Statistics 
    • " The ACS tracks cancer occurrence, including the number of deaths, cases, and how long people survive after diagnosis. ACS also tracks data regarding behaviors that influence the risk of developing cancer and the use of screening tests."

      Includes the full text of Cancer Facts & Figures

    • Cancer Statistics Center 

      • The Cancer Statistics Center website is a comprehensive interactive resource for learning about the cancer burden in the United States. Produced by the American Cancer Society, the website provides detailed statistics on a range of topics including:

        *The estimated numbers of new cancer cases and deaths in the current year

        *Current cancer incidence, mortality, and survival rates and trends

        *State-level risk factor and screening metrics

        The website offers a new way to explore the data the Society publishes in its annual Cancer Facts & Figures report, which it has been producing since 1951. The website also, for the first time, merges data from Society researchers' annual paper, Cancer Statistics, published in the American Cancer Society journal, CA: A Cancer Journal for Clinicians.

        The American Cancer Society projects the numbers of new cancer cases and deaths expected each year in order to estimate the contemporary cancer burden because cancer incidence and mortality data lag two to four years behind the current year.

        The Cancer Statistics Center website aims to serve the needs of cancer control advocates, journalists, government and private public health agencies, and policy makers, as well as patients, survivors and the general public, in order to promote cancer prevention and control.

  • Global Cancer Observatory 

    • The Global Cancer Observatory (GCO) is an interactive web-based platform presenting global cancer statistics to inform cancer control and cancer research. The platform focuses on the visualization of cancer indicators to illustrate the changing scale, epidemiological profile, and impact of the disease worldwide, using data from several key projects of IARC’s Section of Cancer Surveillance (CSU), including GLOBOCAN; Cancer Incidence in Five Continents (CI5); International Incidence of Childhood Cancer (IICC); and Cancer Survival in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and Central America (SurvCan).
  • National Cancer Institute: Cancer Statistics 
    • Sections include: Finding cancer statistics; understanding cancer statistics; statistical tools and data
      • SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results) 
        • Statistics include cancer incidence, mortality, and survival data from population-based cancer registeries in the United States.
  •  United States Cancer Statistics 

    • Centers for Disease Control (CDC)

    • USCS Data Visualizations

    • Public Use Databases

•  Diabetes  

  • Data And Statistics 
    • Centers for Disease Control

      National, State and County Data

      • Interactive Diabetes Atlas 

      • National Diabetes Statistical Report 

  • Diabetes Statistics 

    • National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive & Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)

  • International Diabetes Federation

    • IDF Diabetes Atlas

      • Click on "resources" to access IDF Diabetes Atlas, global & regional facts sheets, country reports and more.

  • Statistics About Diabetes 

    • American Diabetes Association

• Digestive/Gastrointestinal Disease 

  • Digestive Disease Statistics

    • National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse (NDDIC, a service of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease (NIDDK)).  Digestive disease statistics for the U.S.

  • FastStats: Digestive Diseases

    • CDC

• Heart Disease  

  • American Heart Association: Statistics 

    • Prevalence and mortality of heart disease and stroke by age, gender and race. Links to the annualHeart Disease and Stroke Statistics

  • British Heart Foundation: Statistics

    • British Heart Foundation statistics website.  "comprehensive and up-to-date source of statistics on the burden, prevention, treatment and causes of heart disease in the UK."

  • Health Disease Statistics and Maps

    • CDC

  • National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute Morbidity and Mortality Chartbook 

    • National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute.

      "The NHLBI Chartbook is a biennial compilation of data on the size and trends of morbidity and mortality from the cardiovascular, lung, and blood diseases. While most charts describe national prevalence, hospitalizations, and mortality statistics, some of them provide additional information by state or country. Risk factors estimates and the economic costs of these diseases are also included."

• Infectious Diseases  

  • COVID-19
    • Vaccinations
      • COVID-19 Vaccinations in the United States (CDC)
      • Coronavirus (COVID-19) vaccinations (Our World in Data)
      • KFF Vaccine monitor (Kaiser Family Foundation)
    • Rates / Deaths / Mortality
      • COVID Data Tracker (CDC)
        • Cases, deaths, hospitalizations, vaccinations
      • Johns Hopkins University Coronavirus Resource Center
        • Maps and trends
      • Coronavirus (Our World in Data)
        • Includes country profiles
      • COVID deaths by Race/Ethnicity (Kaiser Family Foundation)

    • State level statistics (local border states)

      • Minnesota

      • South Dakota

      • Wisconsin

      • North Dakota

      • Iowa

  • Infectious Disease : FastStats
    • National Center for Health Statistics/CDC
  • National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS) 
    • Nationally Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (CDC).
      • Notifiable Infectious Disease Data Tables
        • Includes annual list of notifiable conditions, as well as historical lists
  • Surveillance Atlas of Infectious Diseases 
    • European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control

•  Kidney, Renal or Urologic Diseases  

  • Cancer Stat Facts: Kidney and Renal Pelvis Cancer
    • SEER: National Cancer Institute
  • Health Statistics: Kidney & Urologic Diseases 
    • National Institute of Diabetes And Digestive And Kidney Diseases
  • Kidney cancer: statistics
    • Cancer.net
  • USRDS: United States Renal Data System 
    • Collects, analyzes, and distributes information about end-stage renal disease (ESRD) in the United States. Includes downloadable atlas and reference tables.

• Oral/Dental  

  •  Data and Statistics 
    • National Institute of Dental & Craniofacial Research (NIDCR)
  • FastStats: Oral & Dental Health 
    • Centers For Disease Control
  • Oral Health Data 
    • Division of Oral Health, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
      • National Oral Health Surveillance System 
      • Oral health indicators
        • Dental Visit. Adults aged 18+ who have visited a dentist or dental clinic in the past year.
        • Teeth Cleaning. Adults aged 18+ who have had their teeth cleaned in the past year (among adults with natural teeth who have ever visited a dentist or dental clinic).
        • Complete Tooth Loss. Adults aged 65+ who have lost all of their natural teeth due to tooth decay or gum disease.
        • Lost 6 or More Teeth. Adults aged 65+ who have lost six or more teeth due to tooth decay or gum disease.
        • Fluoridation Status. Percentage of people served by public water systems who receive fluoridated water.
        • Caries Experience. Percentage of 3rd grade students with caries experience, including treated and untreated tooth decay.
        • Untreated Tooth Decay. Percentage of 3rd grade students with untreated tooth decay.
        • Dental Sealants. Percentage of 3rd grade students with dental sealants on at least one permanent molar tooth.
        • Cancer of the Oral Cavity and Pharynx. Oral and pharyngeal cancer comprises a diverse group of malignant tumors that affect the oral cavity and pharynx (mouth and throat).
        • URL:https://www.cdc.gov/oralhealthdata/overview/nohss.html
           
  • WHO Oral Health Country/Area Profile Programme (CAPP) 
    • Oral health profiles by country. Includes statistics on dental caries, tooth mortality, oral mucosal lesions, oral health manpower, health care systems, sugar consumption and fluoride exposure

Enviromental  

• Data Resources

  • National Center for Environmental Health. provides a reference list of nationally funded data systems that have a relationship to environmental public health. 

• Envirofacts Data Warehouse

  • Provides access to several EPA databases to provide information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. Can also generate maps of environmental information.

Maternal & Infant Health  

• Maternal Health
  • WHO.
    • Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health Data Portal
    • Maternal Mortality: Levels & Trends 2000-2017
      • interactive
• PeriStats 
  • March of Dimes

    Provides free access to US, state, county, and city maternal & infant health data. Contains over 60,000 graphs, maps and tables.

• Reproductive Health: Data & Statistics

  • CDC

    The major surveillance systems in the division include the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), the National ART Surveillance System (NASS), and the Pregnancy Mortality Surveillance System (PMSS). CDC also collaborated with organizations to develop the Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) Case Registry, which seeks to improve population-based SUID surveillance in grantee states. Reports are generated from these systems on a routine ongoing basis. DRH also monitors teen pregnancy and the number and characteristics of women obtaining legal induced abortions in the United States.

•  Vital Statistics Online 
  • From the National Center for Health Statistics, a collection of vital statistics products including tables, data files, and reports that allow users to access and examine vital statistics and population data interactively.

    Currently only births and perinatal mortality is available.

Health Care Costs and Utilization

•  Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality: Archives 
  • AHRQ's Archive contains outdated information that may be useful for historical or research interest.

    This includes historical reports on hospitalization, diagnosis, prevalence, treatment, screening, disparities, effectiveness and costs.

• Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care 
  • "For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide comprehensive information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as individual hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

    These reports, used by policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others, have radically changed our understanding of the efficiency and effectiveness of our health care system. This valuable data forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.

    This website provides access to all Atlas reports and publications, as well as interactive tools to allow visitors to view specific regions and perform their own comparisons and analyses.

• Data.Medicare.gov 
  • Wealth of data-sets on home health care, hospital compare, healthcare supplier data, and more.

• HCUPnet 
  • "HCUPnet is an on-line query system that gives access to the largest set of all-payer health care databases that are publicly available. Generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S. In addition, community hospital data are available for those States that have agreed to participate in HCUPnet.

    HCUPnet is part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUPnet generates statistics using data from HCUP's Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS), the Kids' Inpatient Database (KID), and the State Inpatient Databases (SID).

    HCUP data are used for research on hospital utilization, access, charges, quality and outcomes. The data are used to describe patterns of care for uncommon as well as common diseases, to analyze hospital procedures, including those that are performed infrequently, and to study the care of population sub-groups such as minorities, children, women, and the uninsured. Researchers and policymakers use HCUP data to identify, track, analyze and compare hospital statistics at the national, regional and State levels. 

• Hospital Compare 
  • Tool provides information on how well the hospitals in an area care for all their adult patients with certain medical conditions. Helps compare the quality of care hospitals provide. Hospital Compare was created through the efforts of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and organizations that represent hospitals, doctors, employers, accrediting organizations, other Federal agencies and the public.

•  [Medicare/Medicaid] Research, Statistics, Data & Systems 
  • Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS).

    Data and analysis on health care plans, expenditures, program rates, trends, consumer research and more.

  • Medicare Search & Compare Databases 

    • "Have the option of downloading the data used in the search and compare tools onto your computer. Please note that the download-able databases are zipped Microsoft Access databases, for use primarily by health policy researchers and the media. In order to use the download-able databases, you must have a working knowledge of Microsoft Access."

•  MEPS: Medical Expenditure Panel Survey 
  • The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the U.S. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

    MEPS currently has two major components: the Household Component and the Insurance Component. The Household Component provides data from individual households and their members, which is supplemented by data from their medical providers. The Insurance Component is a separate survey of employers that provides data on employer-based health insurance.

    MEPS also includes a Medical Provider Component (MPC), which covers hospitals, physicians, home health care providers, and pharmacies identified by MEPS-HC respondents. Its purpose is to supplement and/or replace information received from the MEPS-HC respondents.

  • Data & Statistics 

    • Links to various statistical summaries, query tools, downloadable data files and projected expenditures for the Household Component of the MEPS survey; as well as information for the Medical Provider component, insurance component and nursing home component.
  • Publications
    • Search for chartbooks, methodology reports, statistical briefs and working papers.
  • Minnesota Hospital Quality Report 
    • Gives a snapshot of hospitals' performance in three key areas: heart attack, heart failure and pneumonia. Can quickly see how often a particular Minnesota hospital provides the care that is expected when patients have one of these three conditions. Can also easily compare how different hospitals perform.
  •  National Center for Health Workforce Analysis 
    • Health Workforce Data 
    • Area Health Resource Files 
      • The Area Health Resources Files (AHRF) data are designed to be used by planners, policymakers, researchers, and others interested in the nation’s health care delivery system and factors that may impact health status and health care in the United States. The AHRF data includes county, state, and national-level files in eight broad areas: Health Care Professions, Health Facilities, Population Characteristics, Economics, Health Professions Training, Hospital Utilization, Hospital Expenditures, and Environment. The AHRF data are obtained from more than 50 sources.
    •  National Hospital Discharge Survey 
      • The NHDS collects data from a sample of approximately 270,000 inpatient records acquired from a national sample of about 500 hospitals.

        "The medical abstract form and the automated data tapes contain items that relate to the personal characteristics of the patient. These items include age, sex, race, ethnicity, marital status, and expected sources of payment. Administrative items such as admission and discharge dates (which allow calculation of length of stay), as well as discharge status are also included. Medical information about patients includes diagnoses and procedures coded to the International Classification of Diseases, 9th Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM)."

    •  Safety Net Profile Tool 
      • The Safety Net Monitoring Initiative has been archived, but all data is available.

        Access to all the data included in the Safety Net Monitoring Initiative. 118 measures are available for 30 States and the District of Columbia, including 355 counties and 172 cities in 90 metropolitan areas, as well as all 1,818 counties (both metropolitan and non-metropolitan) in those States. The Profile Tool will guide you step-by-step to obtain the statistics you need, and can be used to generate reports that compare multiple measures for one or more geographic areas.

    • SHADAC: State Health Access Data Assistance Center 
      • The University of Minnesota's State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC) is funded by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to help states monitor rates of health insurance coverage, understand factors associated with access to care, and to utilize data for implementation of health reform. In addition to providing health policy analysis, SHADAC provides technical assistance to federal agencies that conduct health insurance surveys, and states that conduct their own surveys and/or use data from national surveys. Our goal is to help bridge the gap between health insurance data and the policy making process. SHADAC produces timely and targeted health policy research with a focus on deriving lessons from state variations in policy and outcomes in the national context. SHADAC maintains an ongoing research agenda related to issues of health insurance coverage and access to care, data collection methods, and state health policy.

Health Disparities  

• Data Query
  • Data Query is an interactive tool that allows you to access national and State data from the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports. You can search for data or trends based on particular subject areas, topics, or measures..  National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports.  
• Health Disparities Data Tool 
  • The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) partnered with the Office of Minority Health (OMH) to expand DATA2020, the HealthyPeople.gov data search function, to include a tool that shows health disparities information for measurable, population–based objectives where data are available.
• Health System Data Center
  • Explore state health system performance and policy data through custom tables, graphs and maps. The Commonweath Fund. 

Injuries and Accidents

• Accident Statistics: Boating Safety
  • U.S. Coast Guard.
• Clearninghouse Online Query Tool
  • Consumer Product Safety Commission.

    The CPSC National Injury Information Clearinghouse (Clearinghouse) provides incident data involving consumer products from various data sources and publishes incident reports involving consumer products that meet eligibility criteria on www.saferproducts.gov. The Clearinghouse provides updates on the status of reports and works with those reporting consumer product related incidents to meet publication eligibility. In addition, the Clearinghouse also disseminates information relating to the prevention of death and injury associated with consumer products.

• Injuries, Illness and Fatalities 
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics

    The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program provides data on illnesses and injuries on the job and data on worker fatalities. Includes customize data tables, publications and overviews

• National Center for Health Statistics: Injury Data and Resources
  • The purpose of this Web site is to provide an overview of injury morbidity and mortality data and statistics available from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and other sources and to provide details on injury surveillance methodology and tools to assist in data analysis.
  • International Collaborative Effort (ICE) on Injury Statistics
    • To provide a forum for international exchange and collaboration among injury researchers who develop and promote international standards in injury data collection and analysis.
  • NCHS Data Bases
    • Some of the databases included: Mortality Data / Hospital Inpatient Discharge Data / Emergency Department Visit Data / Health Interview Data and more.
• National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
  • Facts, data and publications.
  • WISQARS
    • National Center for Injury Prevention and Control

      WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data.

• National Center for Statistics and Analysis of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Provides statistics on the number of traffic-related injuries and fatalities. Includes the Traffic Safety Annual Report and the State Traffic Safety Information Website.
  • Fatatlity Analysis Reporting System (FAS)
    • "The Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) contains data on all vehicle crashes in the United States that occur on a public roadway and involve a fatality. This FARS Query System provides interactive public access to fatality data through this web interface."

      Includes reports on trends, crashes, vehicles, people and states and a search-able database.

  • State Traffic Safety Information Website
    • "STSI is a by-State profile of traffic safety data and information including: crash statistics, economic costs, legislation status, funding programs, et al."

• OSH.net: Accident/Injury Statistics
  • Directory of links to sites with accident/injury statistics
• Public Transportation Safety and Security Statistics
  • American Public Transportation Association.

    Reports fatalities and injuries that occur on public transit systems. All data is United States.

• TransStats
  • Bureau of Transportation Statistics
  • Statistical Products and Data
    • National Transportation Statistics
      • See sections on air, highway, transit, railroad and water safety.

Mental Health Statistics  

• Data & Statistics on Children's Mental Health
  • CDC
  • CDC uses surveys, like the National Survey of Children’s Health, to understand which children have diagnosed mental disorders and whether they received treatment.
• Data and Publications 
  • CDC
• FastStats: Mental Health
  • CDC
  • Morbidity, physician visits, emergency room visits, mortality
• Mental Health
  • Our World in Data
  • The latest estimates of mental health disorder prevalence and the associated disease burden. Most of the estimates are produced by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation and reported in their flagship Global Burden of Disease study.
• Mental Health By the Numbers
  • National Alliance on Mental Illness
  • Includes infographics
• NIMH: Statistics 
  • National Institute of Mental Health
  • Includes currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population. In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
• SAMHDA 
  • The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) is an initiative funded under contract HHSS283201500001C with the Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). CBHSQ has primary responsibility for the collection, analysis, and dissemination of SAMHSA's behavioral health data.
• The State of Mental Health in America
  • Mental Health America
  • Includes adult, youth, prevalence & access to care data.

Health Surveys

• Health Poll Database

  • The Health Poll database is the most comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.  All visitors receive up to 10 free question views per month. Views are counted when you open a question to reveal responses.

• IPLUMS Health Surveys

  • IPUMS Health Surveys provide free individual-level survey data for research purposes from two leading sources of self-reported health and health care access information: the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).

• National Health Interview Survey

  • Data, Questionnaires and Related Documentation: NHIS collects data on a broad range of health topics are collected through personal household interviews.

Mortality  

•  Atlas of United States Mortality
  • "Released to the public on April 14, 1997. This atlas shows all leading causes of death by race and sex for small U.S. geographic areas referred to as Health Service Areas (HSA's). The 18 causes of death included in this atlas account for 83 percent of all deaths in the United States during 1988-92. In addition to maps with age-adjusted death rates for each HSA, the atlas includes maps that compare each HSA rate to the national rate, smoothed maps for each cause that show the broad geographic patterns at selected ages, and a chart with regional rates for each cause of death."
• NCI Cancer Atlas 
  • The NCI Cancer Atlas is a tool that allows users to create maps of cancer statistics, demographics, and risk factors.
• Cancer Mortality Statistics
  • SEER.cancer.gov
• Causes of Death
  • Our World in Data
  • Includes causes of death by category, age, cause and risk factors
• Compressed Mortality File 
  • CDC Wonder.

    Underlying Cause-Of-Death for years 1968-2016.

    Contains mortality and population counts for all U.S. counties. Counts and rates of death can be obtained by underlying cause of death, state, county, age, race, sex, and year.

• FastStats: Death and Mortality
  • CDC
• WHO Mortality Database 
  • The WHO Mortality Database is a compilation of mortality data by age, sex and cause of death, as reported annually by Member States from their civil registration systems.

Obesity  

• Obesity
  • Our World in Data
• Overweight and Obesity Statistics
  • National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
• Overweight And Obesity: Data and Statistics 
  • Centers for Disease Control
  •  Surveillance Systems 
    • Nutrition, Physical Activity, Breastfeeding and Obesity : risk factors, surveys, and studies
  • Adult Obesity  
    • Prevalence maps and state tracking
•  Global Obesity Observatory
  • World Obesity Federation represents professional members of the scientific, medical and research communities from over 50 regional and national obesity associations. Through our membership we create a global community of organisations dedicated to solving the problems of obesity.

    Includes an interactive obesity atlas and country profiles.

Population  

• Current Population Survey 
  • Joint project of the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) and the Bureau of the Census.
• Demographic and Social Statistics
  • United Nations.
  • Since 1948, the United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of social and demographic topics.
• Demographics and the Economy
  • State Health Facts. Kaiser Family Foundation
  • Includes information on demographics (population by age, gender, race/ethnicity), income (people in poverty by demographic grouping, median family income), and state fiscal distress (unemployment, food stamp participation, foreclosures).
• Explore Census Data (Data.Census.gov)
  • US Census data exploration portal.  Replaces American FactFinder.
• QuickFacts
  • US. Census. 
  • QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
• People And Households -- Data By Subject 
  • US Census Bureau
• Population
  • OECD data.
  • Working age, young, elderly and fertility
• Population, Total
  • World Bank Databank
  • population statistics gathered from a variety of international sources.

Rural Health

• North Carolina Rural Health Research and Policy Analysis: Cartographic Archive
  • Collection of charts on national health status indicators, health manpower and services, rural areas and rural hospitals around the United States.
• RHIhub: Rural Health Information Hub
  • (Formerly the Rural Assistance Center).

    The Rural Health Information Hub, formerly the Rural Assistance Center, is funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy to be a national clearinghouse on rural health issues. We are committed to supporting healthcare and population health in rural communities.
    Rural Data Explorer Select from a wide range of data on health disparities, health workforce, demographics, and more. Explore how metropolitan and nonmetro counties compare, nationwide and by state.

• Rural Health Care Chart Book
  • AHRQ. National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Report chartbook
• Rural Health Care in Minnesota Chartbook
  • Minnesota Department of Health

Senior Health  

• AgingStats.gov 
  • Web Site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics (Forum)

    "The Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics (Forum) was initially established in 1986, with the goal of bringing together Federal agencies that share a common interest in improving aging-related data." Includes links to other age-related statistical information.

  • Older Americans: Key Indicators of Well-Being 
    • Reports that provide the latest data on the 37 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into five subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, and health care.
•  AGing Integrated Database (AGID) 
  • Administration on Aging.

    The AGing Integrated Database (AGID) is an on-line query system based on ACL-related data files and surveys, and includes population characteristics from the Census Bureau for comparison purposes. The four options or paths through AGID provide different levels of focus and aggregation of the data – from individual data elements within Data-at-a-Glance to full database access within Data Files.

  FastStats: Older Persons' Health

  • CDC

  Gateway to Global Aging Data

  • The Center for Economic and Social Research
  • free public resource designed to facilitate cross-national and longitudinal studies on aging using the family of health and retirement studies around the world.
    • Overview of HRS family surveys
    • Cross-study concordance tables of specific survey topics
    • In-depth documentation of cross-study comparability
    • Statistics visualized in interactive graphs and tables
    • Search publications based on HRS family surveys
    • Harmonized data
• Healthy Aging Data Portal

  • CDC

Substance Abuse  

• Drug Abuse Statistics
  • National Center for Drug Abuse Statistics
  • Features the most noteworthy drug abuse statistics and data surrounding drug addiction in the United States, including overdose deaths, addiction by drug type, and overall illicit drug use.
• Drug Use
  • Our World in Data
• FastStats: Illict Drug Use
  • CDC
• HCUP Statistical Briefs - Mental and Substance Use Disorders
  • Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)/AHRQ
  • These HCUP Statistical Briefs provide statistics about mental and substance use disorders treated in U.S. hospitals. Topics include depression, drug abuse, and eating disorders.
• National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program 
  • The National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research. The scope of the data housed at NAHDAP covers a wide range of legal and illicit drugs (alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, cocaine, synthetic drugs, and others) and the trajectories, patterns, and consequences of drug use as well as related predictors and outcomes.
• National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA):Trends And Statistics 
  • Science-Based Facts on Drug Abuse and Addiction.

    The resources cover a variety of drug related issues, including information on drug usage, emergency room data, prevention and treatment programs, and other research findings.

• Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) 
  • SAMHDA provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health.
  • National Survey on Drug Use & Health 
    • Drinking, smoking, marijuana, cocaine and other illegal drug use statistics.

Transplantation  

• Data Reports 
  • OPTN: Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network.

    National, regional, state and custom reports

• Data and trends 
  • UNOS: United Network for Organ Sharing.

    National, regional, state and custom reports

• Global Observatory on Donation and Transplantation
  • WHO-ONT
  • The global database on donation and transplantation represents the most comprehensive source to date of worldwide data concerning activities in organ donation and transplantation derived from official sources, as well as information on legal and organizational aspects.
• IRODaT Database
  • International Registry of Organ Donation and Transplantation
• Organ Donation & Transplantation: HRSA Data
  • Health Resources & Services Administration
  • Organ Donation Statistics: HRSA 
    • Division of Transplantation (DoT) is within the Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration's Healthcare Systems Bureau.
• SRTR/OPTN Annual Data Reports
  • Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients
  • Statistics on donation and transplantation in the United States. Includes chapters on kidney, pancreas, liver, intestine, heart, and lung transplantation, a chapter on deceased donor organ donation, and a chapter presenting economic data.

Women's Health  

• Explore the Data
  • Status of Women In the United States
  • Provides data on women’s progress in 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the United States overall. The data can be used to raise awareness, improve policies, and promote women’s equality.  Includes national, state, by population group and health topic.
• FASTATS: Women's Health 
  • National Center for Health Statistics
• Office on Women's Health: Open Access to Health Data 
  • This interactive site makes available state and country wide health data so that researchers, students, policy makers, grant writers and men and women across the country can fully explore the key issues and concerns of health.
  • State Fact Sheets 
    • Fact sheets are now available for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia. Each fact sheet presents a snapshot of demographic characteristics as well as a variety of health status indicators for females within the area
• State Health Facts: Kaiser Family Foundation
  • Women's Health
  • State Profiles on Women's Health (interactive)
• Women of Color Health Data Book 4th ed.
  • NIH Office of Research on Women's Health.
• Women's Health USA  Chartbooks
  • Developed by HRSA (Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Office of Women's Health) to provide an easy-to-use collection of current and historical data on some of the most pressing health challenges facing women, their families, and their communities. Scroll down to Women's Health USA for years 2002-2013

• Comparative Study 
• Demography 
  • Sex Distribution
    • Sex Ratio
  • Residence Characteristics
  • Population Dynamics
    • Population Control
    • Population Growth
  • Population Density
  • Health Status
  • Family Characteristics
    • Birth Order
  • Censuses
  • Age Distribution

• Epidemiologic Methods 
  • Data Collection
    • Geriatric assessment
    • Health Care Surveys
    • Health Surveys
    • Interviews
    • Narration
    • Nutrition Assessment
    • Questionnaires
    • Records
    • Registries
    • Vital Statistics
      • Life Expectancy
      • Life Tables
      • Mordibity
        • Basic Reproduction Number
        • Incidence
        • Prevalence
      • Mortality
        • Cause of Death
        • Child Mortality
        • Fatal Outcome
        • Fetal Mortality
        • Hospital Mortality
        • Infant Mortality
        • Maternal Mortality
        • Survival Rate
      • Pregnancy Rate
        • Birth Rate
    • Disease Notification
    • Epidemiologic Research Design
      • Control Groups
      • Cross-Over Studies
      • Double-Blind Method
      • Match-Pair Analysis
      • Meta-Analysis
      • Random Allocation
      • Reproducibility of Results
      • Sample Size
      • Sensitivity and Specificity
        • Predictive Value of Tests
      • Single-Blind Method
    • Epidemiologic Study Characteristics
      • Clinical Trials
        • Clinical Trials, Phase I
        • Clinical Trials, Phase II
        • Clinical Trials, Phase III
        • Clinical Trials, Phase IV
        • Controlled Clinical Trials
          • Randomized Controlled Trials
        • Multicenter Studies
      • Epidemiologic Studies
        • Case-Control Studies
          • Retrospective Studies
        • Cohort Studies
          • Follow-Up Studies
          • Longitudinal Studies
          • Prespective Studies
        • Cross-Sectional Studies
        • Seroepidemiologic Studies
      • Feasibility Studies
      • Intervention Studies
      • Pilot Projects
      • Sampling Studies
      • Twin Studies
    • Statistics
      • Factor Analysis, Statisticsl
      • Probability
        • RiskUncertainty
          • Llogistic Models
          • Risk Assessment
          • Risk Factors
      • Survival Analysis
        • Disease-Free Survival

Finding and Using Health Statistics

This tutorial is aimed at students, librarians, and other professionals interested in an introduction to the principles behind health statistics.  It describes different types of health statistics, how they are collected, and where they can be found.

Course Goals

1. Understand what health statistics measure and how to use them to improve general health
2. Gain a basic knowledge of the statistical terms commonly used when reading about health statistics
3. Learn different ways health information can be collected, and the pros and cons of each
4. Become familiar with a variety of online sources for health statistics
5. Create a set of strategies to find specific health statistics

In this course

• About Health Statistics: Find out what health statistics are, and who uses them.
• Common Terms and Equations in Health Statistics: Learn what phrases like “statistically valid,” and “sampling” really mean.
• Health Data Sources: Discover where health statistics come from and why that matters.
• Finding Health Statistics Exercises: Start searching for statistics to answer research questions.
• Glossary: This resource contains both a terms glossary and a resource glossary.

Each section contains a quiz to help you determine your understanding of the course. The section on Finding Health Statistics provides an overview of the key organizations important in any research that requires statistical information. A detailed glossary is also included in the course. The course is eligible for 3 CE hours from the Medical Library Association. A certificate is also available upon completion of the course.