Reusable LibGuides boxes

This guide contains commonly used boxes in UMN LibGuides for our core and most used services, tutorials, tools, etc. Reusing a box from the Reusable LibGuides Boxes guide ensures that content is maintained centrally. In other words, you won’t have to worry about broken links or making changes to the boxes you’ve mapped to your own guides.

Benefits to "re-using" a box:

• It will help you save time in creating new guides.
• The UMN LibGuides advisory group will work to make sure the links are correct and updated as things change (e.g. link will be fixed on all boxes automatically).
• Using boxes from this guide makes our usage statistics more uniform and assessable.

If you have a box you think would be great to add to the guide or have any questions please contact Kate McManus (cmcmanus@umn.edu).

See the documentation on how to add a box to your guide or follow these directions: 

1. Add a Box to your guide

2. Choose the Reuse Existing Box tab

3. Under Guide, type in “Reusable LibGuides Boxes”

4. Select the box you’d like to add to your Guide.

5. Do NOT check the "copy" box if you want the box to update automatically if changes are made. Instead you want to "map" the box to your guide so changes are automatically made. Save your changes.

Contact Kate McManus (cmcmanus@umn.edu) with questions.

"Managing your Research Data: A Tutorial Series" (October 2020) - view all
These videos present basic concepts and foundational best practices for data management across subjects and disciplines.

• What is Data Management? (YouTube, 4:31 min)
• File and Folder Organization (YouTube, 8:10 min)
• Risk Management (YouTube, 3:22 min)
• Storage and Backup (YouTube, 8:40 min)
• Effective Documentation (YouTube, 6:24 min)

Current University students, staff and faculty should be able to get full text and online access to the University Libraries from anywhere. Here are three ways to access the library full text from off campus.

1. Search the University of Minnesota library website. Log in with your UMN Internet ID and password to access resources.
2. Log in using the U of M Virtual Private Network (VPN). You will need to download it VPN software to your computer from campus OIT (Office of Information Technology).
3. Install the Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser and click it to reload the page with your U of M login to get access to full text. Watch a proxy bookmarklet video (3 min) to learn more. 

View examples and learn more on our How to get to full text from on and off campus Guide.

Get It

Use the Get It link to have physical materials delivered to your home, campus office, or another library. 

More information about Get It

The Data Visualization Guide covers best practices and useful tools for successful data visualization. Exploratory visualization can help discover patterns in the data that may not be clear from statistics alone.

In addition to supporting a deeper understanding of data patterns, visualization is also a frequent final output of research. Putting some time and thought into data visualization upfront can help you create more effective charts, graphs, and figures. While software and data type may vary by discipline, the underlying concepts of good data visualization are consistent.

A dissertation is the final large research paper, based on original research, for many disciplines to be able to complete a PhD degree. The thesis is the same idea but for a masters degree.

Libraries Makerspaces are open to UMN folks from all majors, programs, and skill levels. Equipment and materials are always free for UMN students, staff, and faculty.

You'll find 3D printers, smart cutters for vinyl stickers and other materials, soldering irons, sewing machines, VR headsets, rotary tools, and software for 3D modelling and embroidery design. Plus, basic supplies for prototyping and crafting.

Find other campus makerspaces, technology, tools, and more by visiting the Makerspaces web page.

History, Humanities, Social Sciences

Primary sources in these disciplines are original records created at the time historical events occurred or well after events in the form of memoirs and oral histories.

Examples include: Letters, manuscripts, diaries, rare books, historical photographs, first-hand accounts or documentary sources on a subject, person, event or issue; newspapers written at the time of an event, song, or film from time period, historical maps, government reports or data, etc.

Using Archives and Special Collections resources

A citation manager is a software tool used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to:

• import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources,
• export your citations into Word documents or other types of publications,
• format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles, and
• include your own notes.

Choosing a citation manager

• Guide to Citation Managers at UMN
• Wikipedia's comparison of reference management software

• support
• download

Zotero is a free, open-source citation manager that:

• imports and organizes citations and PDFs;
• recognizes and creates citations for wide range of file types;
• formats citations in thousands of styles including APA and Chicago;
• easily adds in-text citations to Word and Google Doc documents, and creates a bibliography from those citations;
• allows you to add notes to your citation information for later use.

ZoteroBib is a free service that helps you build a bibliography from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing software. It is a quick and easy way to create a one-time bibliography for a paper.

• website
• support
• download

Mendeley is a free citation manager that can:

• create a database of citations by easily importing items from databases;
• manage your PDFs;
• sync your database to the Web;
• tag citations, organize them into folders, annotate, and share with others; and
• create bibliographies and in-text citations in a variety of styles, or export bibliographic data to other citation management applications like Zotero and EndNote.

EndNote is a computer-based, desktop citation manager available for purchase through the University Bookstore that allows you to:

• create your own database of citations by importing references from article databases and the library catalog
• have unlimited reference and attachment storage
• automatically generate bibliographies and in-text citations in all major styles
• edit and customize styles

support

EndNote Online is a free online citation manager that allows you to:

• collect and store up to 50,000 references
• organize and share your references with others
• insert references and format a bibliography in Word

support

Library resources for transgender topics
A guide to help you locate and identify authoritative information on people who identify as transgender.

• Library resources: Scholarly journals covering issues related to transgender individuals.
• Search terms and strategies: A contextualized list of terms and strategies for finding scholarly literature.
• Funding: Funding information for transgender researchers and researchers studying issues related to or experienced by the transgender community.
• Networking: Find departments and researchers on campus who are experts on transgender topics.

Browse scholarly journals available from the UMN Libraries on your tablet device, iPhone, or via the web using BrowZine.

• Read journal articles on your preferred device. 
• Create personal libraries of your favorite journals. 
• Set up alerts for new issues of journals.

For a quick overview, see this one-minute video about BrowZine. For more information, see the full BrowZine guide.

Text Mining 101: Read more about text mining case-studies, tools, and methods.

1. Q 76 .K26
2. QA 17 .F75 - QA comes after Q
3. QA 17.1 .C98 - 17.1 after 17
4. QA 17.1 .D22 - .D22 after .C98
5. TK 29 .M49 - TK after QA
6. TK 29 .M5 - .M5 after .M49

A systematic review is a research method in which a team formulates a research question, searches, selects, and appraises the literature in order for researchers, practitioners, and policy-makers to make evidence based decisions.

The key characteristics of a systematic review are:

1. a clearly stated set of objectives with an explicit, reproducible methodology;
2. a systematic search that attempts to identify all studies that would meet the eligibility criteria;
3. an assessment of the validity of the findings of the included studies, for example through the assessment of risk bias; and
4. a systematic presentation, and synthesis, of the characteristics and findings of the included studies.

Systematic reviews are reproducible, transparent, and the methods used are documented. A systematic review answers specific questions which are fully described in the protocol. Bias is minimized by having at least two people on the team do each step. A systematic review may take a year or more to complete.

Librarians are expert searchers who can support and guide investigators throughout the systematic review process.

• Social sciences, sciences, and arts & humanities systematic review service
• Health sciences systematic review service

When using Library resources, the FindIt link is your connection to accessing the full text of articles if a PDF link is not already visible.

This short video will show you how to get to the articles you need for your research paper or other University of Minnesota assignments. Never pay for articles! If we don't have it online, request it and we will get it for you. 

Alerts and feeds provide an automated way to stay current on what's new in an area you care about.

Alerts

Alerts are sent from publishers and indexes/databases. Common alerts are table of contents, search alerts, citation alerts and new publication alerts.

Table of contents alerts

You subscribe to a journal's table of contents so it's sent to you when a new issue comes out. Most publishers will provide this service for free (so a library subscription to the publication is not needed, but often requires registration to the publisher's site and may charge a fee.

To determine if you have access to the journal through the University Libraries' you will need to search the e-journals.

Database alerts

Most databases have an alert feature. This feature allows you to set up a feed based on a search so that articles that fit the search criteria are sent to you when they are added to a database. An alert runs a saved search automatically every few days or weeks. If new items are found, you receive an email listing the results.

To find out how to set up an alert in a database, perform a search and look for the word Alert on the screen. If you don't see it listed with the results, look for a way to save the search. Once a search is saved, you may see an option to set an alert for it.

News aggregators

News aggregators, also called feed aggregators or RSS readers, are a great and easy way to stay informed by retrieving the latest content from publishers and other web sites. Instead of going to many websites to look for new content, you can set up a news aggregator to receive all the content in one place. There are many aggregators available.

Need help with alerts and feeds? 

Your subject librarian/department liaison can assist you in setting up alerts and advise you on other ways you can stay up-to-date on research in your field. 

These services are designed to:

• Boost your confidence as a student
• Help you stay on top of your coursework
• Offer a deeper understanding of the content
• Connect you to peers who know tips and tricks for various courses 
• Teach you effective study strategies and time management

As a student, you've probably realized you need new skills for dealing with the many tasks filling up your semester: studying, classes, work, finances, family, friends. Explore these free online tutorials to learn new ways to manage your time, manage stress, take better notes, and prepare for tests.

Go to effectiveu.umn.edu.

The Toaster is a place where you can...

• Connect and collaborate with fellow students
• Launch a product, service or vision
• Design, build, tinker and make
• Learn from industry experts
• Find campus resources

Here are 5 things to know about the Toaster and a quick guide on how to get started.

There are resources all over campus to support you as you navigate student life:

• Student Counseling Services: They promote student success by helping you with: mental health and life concerns, learning and academic skills challenges, career uncertainty, faculty/staff to student communication, and more!
• Boynton Mental Health: They support mental health through counseling services, medication management, and crisis care.  
• Learn to Live: This platform offers therapy in five targeted areas: Social Anxiety, Depression Program, our Insomnia, Substance Use, and Stress, Anxiety and Worry.
• Let's Talk: These are informal virtual and in person drop-in consultations for students throughout the academic year. No appointment is necessary and find out more about counseling options. 
• Nutritious U Food Pantry: They provides fresh and healthy food to students that struggle to get enough to eat. Any student can visit the food pantry, no proof of need is needed.
• RecWell: Campus exercise and fitness facilities, classes and more. Studies show that working out can reduce stress and improve your mental health. Physical health is very important! 
• Pet Away Worry and Stress: (PAWS): Hang out with some of our furry and feathered friends, offered weekly this semester!

Use these tools and services to learn how to incorporate outside researchers' thoughts/concepts/words/phrases into your own work.

• In-text Citations: APA

  The structure (Last Name, Year) or Last Name (Year) tells your reader the origin of the surrounding information-- who wrote it and when it was published.
• In-text Citations: MLA

  The structure (Last Name, Page Number) or (Page Number) tells your reader the origin of the surrounding information-- who wrote it and which page the information can be found.
• Plagiarism...and How to Avoid It

  Slide deck illustrates what is and what isn't plagiarism.
• Quoting and Paraphrasing

  Tips on how to improve your paraphrasing.
• Signal Phrases

  These terms alert readers that the next few words are not the author's own.
• Student Writing Support

  Free to students. Make online on in-person appointments to improve your writing skills.

CADRE is a cloud-based platform that provides access to a standardized version of the bibliometric Web of Science and Microsoft Academic Graph datasets. You do not need to have any coding experience to use CADRE. You can query, analyze, visualize and store data all from the comfort of your browser.

More information on CADRE is available on the Text Mining guide.

For more in-depth news research, please consult these detailed research guides:

• New sources (general)
• Historical news sources
• Minnesota news
• World news

The University Libraries is excited to welcome the first on-campus Sensory Room. This space promotes calm and focus, especially for people who are overwhelmed by sensory input, and/or those who need a sensory outlet to maintain focus. It can also just be a relaxing place to work or study individually or with others.

The Sensory Room is available to all students and employees of the University and includes adjustable lighting, a sit/stand desk, exercise ball, fidgets, weighted lap pad, wobble seat, pillows, and more. The space is in the basement of Wilson Library (West Bank) and can be reserved for up to two hours per day. Check out the room key at the first-floor service desk at the time of your reservation.

The sensory room was created in response to a student request and designed with student input throughout the process. Contact Lacie McMillin with questions or feedback.

Access to materials and library buildings

Visitors (non-UMN students, faculty or staff) may visit any of our campus Libraries, use our spaces and access physical materials (books, journals, videos) within library buildings. Learn about options for checking out materials for visitors on our borrowing privileges page.

We encourage visitors to contact the specific library of interest prior your visit, especially if planning a group or class visit. Doing so helps us provide you with the best possible experience. If you are not sure where to start, please contact Wilson Library at (612) 624-3321 or use our contact us form.

Access to computers and online resources

• Current University of Minnesota - Twin Cities students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to library computers.
• All visitors are invited to stop by a library service desk to sign up for a "computer workstation card" by presenting a valid government issued photo ID. This card will give you up to two hours of computer and online database access per day. It is valid for one year and may be renewed with library staff.
• Catalog-only computers are available to offer quick catalog searches.
• Additional visitor computer access is available by joining the Friends of the Libraries or qualifying for a special borrowing privileges card.
• Visitors may use library computers to access most of our licensed indexes and databases and ebooks while using library computer workstations. Visitors are expected to abide by University Libraries policies.

Off-site access to online resources

Due to licensing restrictions, off-site access to online resources is only available to current University of Minnesota—Twin Cities students, faculty, and staff. Minnesota residents can take advantage of the ELibrary of Minnesota for journal articles, ebooks, and more.