Related Guides
- Holocaust and Genocide StudiesComprehensive guide on resources related to Holocaust and Genocide Studies.
- Russian and Slavic StudiesResources for Russian and Slavic Studies for beginning researchers.
Ask Brian!
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
Russian Dictionaries
- Oxford DictionariesComprehensive bilingual dictionaries and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using many different languages. Includes Russian and Spanish. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Multitran: English-Russian and Russian-English dictionary (ONLINE)Translator's dictionary for Russian and English.
Oxford Russian Dictionary by ISBN: 9780198614203Publication Date: 2007
Random House Russian-English English-Russian Dictionary by Call Number: TC Wilson Library General Collection PG2640 .K4 1999ISBN: 0679449647Publication Date: 1999
For additional dictionaries, see consult Libraries Search.
Other Slavic and East European Dictionaries and Resources
- Slavic Language Dictionaries (ONLINE)List of online dictionaries for Slavic languages.
For additional dictionaries, see consult Libraries Search.
Polish Dictionaries
Oxford-PWN Polish-English English-Polish Dictionary by Call Number: TC Wilson Library Reference Quarto PG6640 .O94 2005ISBN: 0198610750Publication Date: 2005-10-20
Polish-English - English-Polish by ISBN: 0781804965Publication Date: 1996
For additional dictionaries, see consult Libraries Search.
Czech Dictionaries
- Multi dictionary (ONLINE)Bilingual dictionaries for Czech to English, French, German, Spanish; and vice-versa.
- Seznam.cz (ONLINE)Bilingual dictionary for Czech into and from other languages.
- Vícejazyčný slovník (Multilingual Dictionary) (ONLINE)Bilingual dictionary for Czech into and from other languages.
A Frequency Dictionary of Czech by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780203805978Publication Date: 2011A Frequency Dictionary of Czech is an invaluable tool for all learners of Czech, providing a list of the 5,000 most frequently used words in the language.
Czech-English Comprehensive Dictionary by ISBN: 9780781805094Publication Date: 1996
For additional dictionaries, see consult Libraries Search.
Transliteration and Cyrillic Keyboard Resources
What is transliteration? Transliteration is the conversion of a text into a different alphabet. To effectively research topics on Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia, you'll need to convert Cyrillic letters into Latin ones. For example, цензура ("censorship" in English) would be transliterated as t͡senzura.
Transliteration systems can vary by country and time period. Transliteration styles are also not always consistent between books, periodicals, and online resources. For this reason it can be useful to try a variety of searches if you're not getting the results you think you should. You might see different results, for example, if you search for Dostoevsky, Dostoevskii, Dostoevskij.
The most common transliteration system used in library catalogs and databases is the ALA-LC Romanization system. You can consult this ALA-LC transliteration table for Russian.
Tips for searching:
- Search first with Latin characters in library catalogs. Many catalog records do not have Cyrillic terms.
- Some databases have virtual keyboards which allow you to converts letters.
- To find what you need, you may need to use both transliterated terms and terms in Cyrillic.
- Transliteration.comTool to convert Cyrillic to Latin letters and vice-versa.