Related Guides
- Holocaust and Genocide StudiesComprehensive guide on resources related to Holocaust and Genocide Studies.
- Russian and Slavic StudiesResources for Russian and Slavic Studies for beginning researchers.
Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide is an in-depth listing of Russian & Slavic Studies resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota
Biographical Sources
- World Biographical Information SystemSearch short biographical information on over 6 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. WBIS provides an index to the entire archive; we have full-text access to these language-area archives: Baltic, Czech & Slovak, German, Polish, Russian & Soviet, and Scandinavian Biographical Archives.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProvides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Search by full-text keyword, author, topic, volume title, publication date, or DLB series.
Biographical Dictionary of Central and Eastern Europe in the Twentieth Century by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780765624628Publication Date: 2008Documents the lives of some two thousand of the region's most important twentieth century historical and cultural figures. Filled with information that is not available in any other resource, the dictionary covers Albania, Belarus, Bulgaria, the Czech and Slovak Republics, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania and Moldova, Ukraine, and the countries that made up Yugoslavia.
Additional print and electronic resources can be found by searching the University of Minnesota Libraries' Catalog.
For national biographical dictionaries, enter the name of a country and "biography" and "dictionaries" as subject keywords (e.g. "russia" "biography" "dictionaries")
Last Updated: Feb 29, 2024 3:02 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/morerussian