Chinese Studies Advanced Guide

Prof. Liu Ching-chih (known as C. C. Liu) (劉靖之) is the most senior and prolific freelance music critic, the best-known musicologist, and a pioneering and renowned translation scholar in Hong Kong.

Mr. Lai Cho-tin (1921-1994) was one of Hong Kong’s most respected composers and music directors. Not only had he composed and arranged a large number of popular songs and chorus, but he had also created many film scores and theme songs to locally produced movies and stage plays. Mr. Lai was also active in the promotion of choral music by creating and arranging music for choirs as well as conducting choirs. He was famous in composing Cantonese dialect songs for the choirs too.

A website by John Thompson focusing on Guqin (古琴).

The “Digital Archives Program on Kun Opera from Suzhou to Taiwan” intends to digitalize the collection and research results over ten years in Research Section for Chinese Drama and Opera, National Central University so as to provide academic resources by the platform of “National Digital Archives Program”.

A digital collection of SP records by National Taiwan University Library. Some of the music audios are available online. Full access to the collection are only available inside the library.

A digital phonograph records collection at National Taiwan University Library. Some of the music audios are available online. Full access to the collection are only available inside the library.

By developing a collection of digital books and a database of web resources in textual and visual mode, the Asian Digital Library (BNA) aims to contribute to research and the dissemination of knowledge on East Asia. The film collection include 121 films from 1922 to 1997.

The Chinese Film Classics project, launched in 2020, is an online research and teaching initiative aimed at making early Chinese films and cinema history more accessible to the general public. Led by Christopher Rea at the University of British Columbia, the project is centered on the website http://chinesefilmclassics.org and the companion YouTube channel Modern Chinese Cultural Studies. These two platforms together host new English translations of over two dozen Republican-era Chinese films, over two hundred film clips organized into thematic playlists, and a free online course of video lectures on Chinese film classics.

The archive is dedicated to preserving Hong Kong's film heritage, facilitating research and bringing film art to the community.

Reviews & essays by Hong Kong Film Critics Society members.

The Chinese Cinema Collection covers a heterogeneous body of film publications in China’s Republican era. The collection highlights localized conceptions of Chinese film cultures, the cultivation of movie fandom in its semi-colonial society, as well as the history of the Chinese film industry spanning the three decades preceding the Second Sino-Japanese War.

A Taiwanese film database searchable by thematic categories; include information on screening authorization. The interface and data are available in both Chinese and English. Administered by the Taiwan Film Institute, supported by the Ministry of Culture.

The Youtube channel of Taiwan Film and Audiovisual Institute (TFAI) .

They were called the “Doolittle Raiders,” named after their commanding officer and American aviation legend Lt. Col. James “Jimmy” Doolittle. 2022 marks the 80th anniversary of their pivotal World War II mission, America’s answer to Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor. In 2018 some of the children of the “Doolittle Raiders” visited China, to “walk in their fathers’ footsteps.” But how is this mission remembered in China? What kind of reception did they receive at a time when US/China relations were bad, and getting worse? Distributed by American Public Television, this documentary has or will are in 200+ Public TV stations, in conjunction with the 80th anniversary of the Doolittle Tokyo Raid.

A database of historical sources of Taiwan film studies before 1949.