Chinese Studies Advanced Guide

This paper provides a concise and practical summary of the structure of the Chinese
judicial system and court hierarchy, explains key legal processes under Chinese
procedure law, and examines the role and functions of courts.

Full-text Chinese court decisions and case documents.

ChinaLawInfo, (a.k.a pkulaw.cn) is a Chinese language legal research database. Due to vendor licensing restrictions remote access to this resource is limited to University of Minnesota Law School faculty, students and staff. All other patrons may access this resource by visiting the University of Minnesota Law Library.

Created by Case Western Reserve University School of Law.

This special series presented by the International Society for Chinese Law and History invites researchers to introduce a document from their own collections, provide a translation, and discuss what these texts might be used to study.

By Joan Lijun Liu.
Joan Lijun Liu is currently a curator at Fudan University Library. In addition to teaching for the Library and Information Studies program and supervising the LIS graduate students in the Literature and Information Center of the Library, she also lectures in the Law School at the Fudan University. Previously, she served as a tenured associate curator at the New York University Law Library.

Created by Heidelberg University, Institute of Chinese Studies.

This database contains selected Chinese legislation and related documents that have been translated into English. It includes: laws, regulations, pronouncements, resolutions, notices, measures, rules, decisions, decrees, principles, provisions, announcements, procedures, official replies and circulars (in interim, current and/or planned versions).

This guide, prepared by the Law Library of Congress, includes links to free online resources regarding the country of China, focusing on its constitution; executive, legislative and judicial branches; legal guides; and general sources.

Includes full text laws in Chinese

English full-text translations of laws and regulations

Managed by Hiroaki Terada at Kyoto University Law School, the site offers a Bibliography of Chinese Legal History Studies in Modern Japan (1900-2000), an Annotated List of Works by H. Terada, and related links,.

Includes Laws of the People's Republic of China database and Constitution of the People's Republic of China 2004.

English translations of statutes for many countries, including China, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, and Taiwan (Republic of China)

Chinese Central Government Laws and Regulations page.

The digital library of the Supreme Court of China.

The website covers the Constitutional Court cases and interpretation (in English and Chinese) and full text searching of the the judgments and interpretations of the lower courts is in Chinese only.

A commercial site with materials derived from the government sources. The library does NOT have a subscription but free limited logins are available for searching the laws and regulations section of the database.

By the University of Iowa.

Laws and Regulations Republic of China.

The site is multilingual and covers a wide range of legislative updates and news relating to the Legislative Yuan.

This guide, prepared by the Law Library of Congress, includes links to free online resources regarding Taiwan.

In English and Chinese.

By Hungdah Chiu and Jyh-Pin Fa, University of Maryland.

It includes the following database:
臺灣日治時期統計資料庫
法律與社會變遷調查資料庫
法律文件資料庫
法律影像資料庫
法律動態影像視聽資料檔案庫
臺灣戰後中小學法治教育影像資料庫

Consists of over 80 central and provincial gazettes published since 1912.

The search platform links to the official Taiwan Law Database (中華民國法律目錄及彙編) but has Keyword-In-Context Search (KWIC關鍵字索引系統) functionality and a standard English translation dictionary (英譯法律關鍵詞典). The library LawPack tab includes topical secondary sources.

Created by Alex Zhang, the Assistant Dean for Legal Information Services and Professor of Practice at the Washington and Lee University School of Law.

English translations of statutes for many countries, including China, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, and Taiwan (Republic of China)

English language official website. Includes full text, commentary, publicity and searchable database of Basic Law Court Cases

GovHK is the one-stop portal of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government with the main content provided by participating Government bureaux and departments, making those information and services of the public sector easier to find and use.

The Historical Laws of Hong Kong Online is a full-text image database providing access to past revised editions of Hong Kong Laws. The database comprises a total of seven consolidations of the laws of Hong Kong: 1890, 1901, 1912, 1923, 1937, 1950, and 1964 (last updated to 1989).

Hong Kong e-Legislation (HKeL) is the official database of Hong Kong legislation. It provides free online access to current and past versions of consolidated legislation dating back to 30 June 1997 and PDF copies marked “verified copy” have official legal status. Different searching and viewing modes are available to facilitate access to law. The database is maintained by the Department of Justice.

Free resource. Legislation and case law with links to originating bodies.

This website enables you to access useful information about the work of the Judiciary, the services available for court users, and also current major initiatives.

Official website of Legislative Council of HK.

Full text available.

How to cite legal materials from China and Taiwan. Created By University of Washington School of Law LL.M and Ph.D students in 2013.