Chinese Studies Advanced Guide

One of the hurdles researchers of modern and contemporary China face in their studies is knowing about, and having access to, archival collections held at Chinese archives. The Greater China Archival Resources Web Archive collects websites belonging to established, physical archives and learned archival societies located in the Greater China region, and archival projects from or about the Greater China region.

Between 1843 and the early 1950s tens of thousands of foreign nationals lived in China. They worked for foreign companies, municipal administrations, the Chinese Maritime Customs Service (also known as the Imperial Maritime Customs), as diplomats and missionaries, or served in foreign armies and navies. On this site you can find information about men and women of many different nationalities, professions and ages, who lived and worked in China between the 1850s and 1940s.

The website by Chinese Academy of Social Science.

This a project created by Dr. Paula R. Curtis. The aim is to provide researchers and educators with a convenient way to locate and explore digital materials based on a variety of thematic content. The content can be filtered through a variety of labels and tags (explained below) or searched with keywords.

In response to the dramatic changes of website resources and online databases, the CCS establishes “Digital Resources in International Chinese Studies” website to provide more up to date information of digital resources on Chinese studies. The system brings together a wealth of digital information of research on Chinese cultural studies and humanities.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more

Created by Heidelberg University, Institute of Chinese Studies.

The Pacific Rim Research Libraries Alliance, also known as PRRLA, focuses on cooperative ventures among academic libraries located around the Pacific Rim to improve access to scholarly research materials. The collections include books, archives, photos, videos, etc. Each collection can be viewed through individual institution website.

A registered society that is dedicated to the study of the history of Qing dynasty. The website has useful resources on Qing historical studies, including newsletters, bibliographes/catalogues, selected important articles etc.

Japanese language specialty required.