Chinese Studies Advanced Guide

The Chinese Religious Text Authority (CRTA) is a project that seeks to collect and present reliable bibliographic and scholarly information about religious texts in Chinese produced prior to 1949.

A comprehensive online quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious cultural history based at the University of British Columbia.

A comprehensive, open, online bibliography for the field of Buddhist studies, managed by H-Buddhism, the online network of scholars of Buddhism

A cooperative platform for expanding access to Buddhist literature. Explore the millions of pages of texts contributed by BDRC and its many partners. Registration required for full access.

This is the homepage of The Study and Creation of Buddhist Lexicographical Resources project, and the website is built and maintained by the Digital Archive Division, Dharma Drum Buddhist College (DDBC). The website has powerful tools for researching Buddhism.

Buddhist Studies Online was founded by Seth Powell in 2021 to provide continued educational services for the broader community interested in learning more about Buddhism. Buddhist Studies Online aims to bridge the gap between the meditation cushion and the academy—seeking to make accessible the highest quality and most cutting-edge research on Buddhism for practitioners and students.

A resource guide for public use compiled by The Ho Center for Buddhist Studies at Stanford.

This tool, developed by the Dharma Drum Buddhist College, covers the period from 220 BC to 1912 AD. It can also convert years from the Chinese calendar into western, Japanese and Korean years, and from western to Chinese, Japanese and Korean years.

This website has a rich collection of Tripitaka texts and useful research tools for Buddhism studies.

Gazetteers or local histories are a distinct genre of Chinese historiography. Usually written by scholars interested in a region, city or temple, gazetteers are compilations of a variety of texts. They are treasure houses containing topographical descriptions, biographies, poems, maps, portraits, miracle stories and much more. The aim of the project is to tap into this wealth of information in order to deepen our understanding of Chinese Buddhist history.

DDBTC is dedicated to collecting and constructing multi-lingual Tripitaka catalogues. Through key words searching users will conveniently acquire comprehensive information on various editions and versions of Tripitaka catalogues, and links to the corresponding full-text.

An open-access database includes a variety of materials from Dunhuang caves.

A Dharmamitra Translator by a research team at UC Berkeley. It uses AI for Automated Translation。 It can translate from classical languages such as Sanskrit, classical Tibetan, and classical Chinese to modern languages, including Chinese, English, Tibetan, Korean, Japanese, etc.

The library collects Buddhist bibliographies (456,439 entries ) with a database of 105,269 full text Buddhist articles in 45 languages and 15 different types of data.

On this site you will find information about mandalas and how they are created. You can learn about how mandalas heal and more about Tibetan Buddhism. Images of the mandala’s construction can be found on the Mandala page. By the Smithsonian's Museums of Asian Art.

The SAT Daizōkyō Text Database Committee has opened its data for public use with the full approval of Daizō Shuppan Kabushiki Kaisha, the original publisher of the Taishō Shinshū Daizōkyō. It is easy to browse chapters or search full-text by Chinese characters. This website is maintained by Kyoto University.

The Archives was established in 1996 and collects both primary and secondary resources in English and Chinese relevant to the study of the history of Christianity in China, regardless of denominations. Currently the Archives holds a growing collection of monographs, serials, microfilm, diaries and manuscripts.

The China Historical Christian Database is a new digital tool for the study of Chinese Christianity from 1550 to 1950.

The Oral History Program at Claremont Graduate School, Claremont, California launched a project to assess the influence of the China missionary movement, 1900-1950. Christian workers of various denominations gave their recollections of conditions and experiences in China. It's a restricted collection. Contact the Claremont Graduate School for access.

The Divinity Library holds extensive manuscript and archival material related to missionary work and the Christian church in China. Records of nearly 400 former China missionaries and many organizations are represented, primarily from the years 1832 to 1950. T

Between 1927 and 1951 millions of Christian posters entered the Chinese market. Printed by the thousands onto the cheapest paper, most were used in street preaching and teaching. Others were hung in tearooms and shop windows, or put up with starch and brooms on city gates and local temples. The Center for Global Christianity & Mission, funded by the Henry Luce Foundation, is pleased to make hundreds of these rare images digitally accessible and searchable for the first time.

The Chinese Christian Texts Database (CCT-Database) is a research database of primary and secondary sources concerning cultural contacts between China and Europe from the sixteenth to the early nineteenth centuries (ca. 1582-1840). It contains documents relating to various aspects of cultural interaction: religious, philosophical, scientific and artistic, etc.

Database of the 19th Century (1865-1894) Cantonese Christian Writings contains materials about the Bibles, novels, textbooks, etc.

The Chinese Christianity collection is a comprehensive free online collection of Chinese theology and on Christianity in China, including materials in Chinese as well as in other languages relating to Chinese theology and Christianity. The collection is a joint initiative from Globethics, Geneva, and Kingdom Business College, Beijing, China.

Christianity Collection 基督教傳教士文獻

Archive guides, primary sources, digitized materials gathered by Luce-funded project at IUPUI.

The selection held in the missionary society collections at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) is a representative sample of images from Africa, China, the Caribbean, Madagascar, South India, and Papua-New Guinea. The photographs come from the collections of the Council for World Mission (formerly the London Missionary Society), the Methodist Missionary Society, and the China Inland Mission (now the Overseas Missionary Fellowship).

The collection includes 722 items, such as books, pamphlets, manuscripts, newspapers, and maps. Most are in Chinese, but there are also 37 titles in Japanese, three in Korean, and two in Manchu. Some works are bilingual or trilingual, including a Chinese-Malay-English piece. The majority of the works were published between the mid-1800s and early 1900s, with a few dating back to the 17th century and some from the 1950s. These were published in various locations like Malacca, Hong Kong, Beijing, Shanghai, Tokyo, and even San Francisco.

Peter Parker specialized in treating diseases of the eye, particularly cataracts, but also performed general surgical operations including the removal of tumors. He is probably best known for the introduction of anesthesia to China in the form of sulphuric ether.

A UMN archive of records YMCA International Work in China, housed at Elmer L. Andersen Library.

As a result of growing interest in the historical contact between China and Western religious affiliations, the Ricci Institute created the Ricci 21st Century Roundtable Database (the Ricci Roundtable), a Web database, which allows users to browse and search information related to contributions of Catholic, Protestant, and Orthodox missionaries.

The BDCC is an electronic database containing the essential biographical facts of Chinese and foreign Christian missionaries, church leaders, evangelists, and laity chiefly responsible for laying the foundations and advancing the growth of Chinese Christian communities and their influence in societies around the world. While the database is widely inclusive of time periods and faith traditions, the distinctive focus of the project is on the lesser-known Chinese Christians of the modern era (1800 to 1950).

This collections of pamphlets is focused on missionary work.

Special Collections at the Yale Divinity School Library include more than 6000 linear feet of archival material, archivally-treated pamphlet collections, and microform holdings.

The Christian materials in the New Chinese gazetteers.

A Harvard Library photo collection on Chinese Minority ethnic groups' religious beliefs.

The Chinese University of Hong Kong Library maintains a precious collection of more than twenty Daoist texts of the Qing Dynasty. Originated from the Daoist abbeys in Luofu Mount in Guangdong, some of the textures arrived in Hong Kong from Daoist temples in Guangdong and nearby areas probably after the Republican period. The collectors donated the scriptures to Chung Chi College Elisabeth Luce Moore Library in the 50s of the last century.

The database has 3830 records of materials covers Daoism, Buddhism and Medicine. Each record has the metadata and full text of the book. The database is searchable, browsable, and also can be visualized and exported.

Israel's Messenger was the world's first Zionist publication. Its goal was mainly to inform its readers of the activities of the Sephardic communities in China, Hong Kong, Manila, Singapore and also of other Jewish communities in China and, from time to to time, world news were also featured.

Compiled by Joseph Adler, retired in 2014, who was the professor at the Kenyon College.