Chinese Studies Advanced Guide

The website by Chinese Academy of Social Science.

Free. Personal account registration required for access to full-text articles.

Free. Personal account registration required for downloading full-text articles. Includes journals and articles of humanities and social science disciplines.

Leading representatives from twenty-nine newly independent African, Asian, and Middle Eastern countries came together for the Afro-Asian Conference in Bandung, Indonesia, from 19 April-24 April 1955.

This collection highlights China's relations with countries in Africa during the Mao period, particularly in the 1960s. The collection features Chinese documents on economic and cultural relations with several countries in Africa, as well as meetings and leadership exchanges.

This collection of Soviet records concerns the political and military turmoil in Xinjiang in the 1930s and 1940s. The records provide considerable details on the insurrection led by Ma Zhongying, Governor Sheng Shicai's relationship with Stalin, the establishment of the East Turkestan Republic (1944-1949) in northern Xinjiang, and Sino-Soviet relations, among other topics.

The Chinese Foreign Policy Database enhances the ability of contemporary observers and historians to gain broader perspectives on Chinese policies. Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, it offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture.

The Society and Culture Collection is an ongoing digital collection of historical images primarily from Washington State. The images cover a variety of political, cultural and social topics. These include: Japanese and Chinese Americans; the World War II Japanese internment camps of Camp Harmony (Puyallup) and Minidoka (Idaho); labor and politics; prohibition; legislative assemblies; women; socialist colonies in Washington State; leisure activities such as camping, hiking and mountaineering.

During the “Yi-Ta Incident” (the Yili-Tacheng Incident or Ili-Qoqek Incident) of spring 1962, 60,000 Kazakhs and Uyghurs fled from Xinjiang in China's northwest into the Soviet Union. The incident both revealed and exacerbated tensions between China and the Soviet Union, leading to angry accusations on both sides. In the wake of the incident, China waged a fierce struggle against Soviet "revisionism" within Xinjiang and expelled all Soviet diplomats from the Uyghur Autonomous Region. This collection mostly consists of translated Chinese records from the Foreign Ministry Archives in Beijing (PRC FMA).

At the end of 1957, the Xinjiang Party Committee announced the convening of an enlarged plenum, with the goal of exposing and criticizing so-called local nationalist deviations. Originally scheduled to last only a few weeks, the meeting dragged on for an extraordinary six months, only concluding in June 1958.

This database was developed by The Kyoto University Library. It contains 295 digitized documents from the Qing and the Republican periods, most of them are personal trade documents and official files.

Include the important works of the Communist Party and the People's Republic of China.

An official statistical portal of Hong Kong. Free access.

Annual or biannual questionnaire survey of China's urban and rural households, aiming to monitor systematically the changing relationship between social structure and quality of life in urban and rural China. Registration is required.

Conceived in August 2018, the Contemporary Chinese Village Gazetteer Data (CCVGD 数字村庄) project was initiated by the East Asian Library (EAL) within the University of Pittsburgh Library System (ULS). The project aims to promote the unique and sizeable collection of Chinese village gazetteers held by the library, to offer researchers and scholars access to a unique set of data extracted from selected gazetteers, and to support teaching, research, and reference services around it.

This databank contains 31 surveys on population, women studies, agriculture, household, enterprise and reform, and economy.

The Directorate General of Budget, Accounting and Statistics (DGBAS) of Executive Yuan, handles the national budget, accounting and statistics affairs. It has been in existence for over 90 years and has been reorganized numerous times since its inception.

A biennial social survey project that serves as a cross-national network of four General Social Survey type surveys in East Asia -- the Chinese General Social Survey (CGSS), the Japanese General Social Survey (JGSS), the Korean General Social Survey (KGSS), and the Taiwan Social Change Survey (TSCS).

National Statistics of P.R.C.

Has English version and Chinese version.

Provides access to a number of national survey, including China Family Panel Studies (CFPS) and China Health and Retirement Longitudinal Study（CHARLS）.

Provides maps and geospatially (GIS) integrated socioeconomic datasets, relating to topics such as administrative geography, hospitals and epidemiology, agriculture, and population.

An official government portal provides free access to the State Council Gazettes, Statistical Communiques, white papers, work reports, budget reports, plan reports, and government briefings.

China Vitae is a resource of biographical information on more than 5000 Chinese leaders in government, politics, the military, education, business, and the media. China Vitae tracks the appearances and travel of approximately 500 leading Chinese officials.

An official government portal provides free access to the State Council Gazettes, Statistical Communiques, white papers, work reports, budget reports, plan reports, and government briefings.