Chinese Studies Advanced Guide

The Ailing Zhang papers is a special collection hold at the USC library. It consist of six boxes of correspondence, manuscripts, newspaper clippings and journal articles, photographs, and essays, articles, and speeches (written by Zhang Ailing). 138 letters, 45 photos, 5 articles and 2 manuscripts are digitized and can be accessed online.

The China Biographical Database is a freely accessible relational database with biographical information about approximately 515,488 individuals as of December 2021, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. With both online and offline versions, the data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference.

The Chinese Iconography Thesaurus (CIT) is freely accessible and brings together sinology, art history and information studies to create the first alternative classification scheme, especially designed for the Chinese visual culture, with a complementary image archive.

The best way to improve Chinese reading skills is to get lots of practice on a regular basis. The collection of Chinese texts presented here is intended as a resource for students of written Chinese from the advanced beginner level onward. The selections represent a wide range of periods and genres, but all are well known in modern-day China and worth reading in their own right.

Hong Kong Literature Database is the first database on Hong Kong literature. It has been in use for more than two decades since its launched on 15 June 2000. As at June 2020, the database consists of nearly 588,000 records, including more that 200 Hong Kong journals and literary supplement of 20 Hong Kong early newspapers. In addition, it includes the Hong Kong Literature Archives donated by Prof. Lo Wai-lun (aka Xiao Si). The database aims to support the teaching and research of Hong Kong literature and promoting its development.

This website by the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) lists all the modern Chinese literature works by author.

TEXTCOURT is a five-year research project whose aim is to develop a digital archive of court drama texts to connect and link them with their local and global contexts. The project will enable textual studies of Chinese court drama and produce research publications and an anthology of English translations. It will contribute to the understanding of the role of Chinese court drama in world court cultures.

Unofficial or “underground” poetry publications—especially journals, but also one-off multiple-author anthologies and individual collections—play an important role in contemporary Chinese culture. They are comparable to Soviet-Russian samizdat publications, and to the “little magazines” often associated with early modernism in the West.

Xin Yu Si Electronic Library, founded in July, 1995, is a public FTP archive site dedicated to store electronic versions (GB code) of Chinese literatures. It mainly stores XYS magazine and Chinese classics, and also stores other literatures. It is currently the most complete public archive site of Chinese classics.

Using the GIS method, this website helps researchers analyze connections between Song poets, their works and places.

A database that can be used for searching the names of the officials in the imperial court in late Qing dynasty.