Japanese Studies Advanced Guide

The collections here include a range of East Asian (plus Singapore) newspapers, journals, and magazines published in Chinese, Korean, and Japanese languages from 1850-1950.

The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America. Image content in this collection is accompanied by OCR-generated text where possible, thus rendering the text searchable. The holdings of each title are browsable by date, title, and publication place, with each title cross searchable with other titles on the platform.

A digital collection of the Official Gazette (官報). Full-text available in Japanese.

A digital collection of the Official Gazette (官報). Full-text available in English.

By Kobe University Library. The collection of newspaper clippings from the end of Meiji to Showa 45 (1970). Some older newspaper clippings have been digitized.

In 1917, the "Japan-China Business Association" (日支実業協会) was established in the Kobe Chamber of Commerce (renamed "Kobe Japan-China Business Association" 神戸日華実業協会 in 1924). This newspaper is published from 1922 by the association, which still exists today, is this "Nichika Kogyo".

The "Nikkwa Shimpo" held by the Kobe University is a newspaper mixed with Chinese and Japanese, published in Motomachi, Kobe from 1904 to the 1920s.

With the aim of publishing the circumstances in modern Japan, it's a collection of publication and advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines in the early Meiji period.

Digitized version of the pictorial magazine from 1938-1944

The Japan News is an English-language daily newspaper published by the Yomiuri Shimbun. It was launched in 1955, and was long known as The Daily Yomiuri until 2013.

The Japan Times is Japan's largest and oldest English-language daily newspaper.

Government Gazette from July 2, 1883 (Meiji 16) to April 30, 1952 (Showa 27).

The Mainichi Newspapers is one of the largest daily newspapers in Japan.

Nikkei Asia brings you news and insights on the region's most influential companies, and comprehensive coverage of politics, economy, markets and trends-all from a uniquely Asian perspective.

The Nikkei, formally the The Nihon Keizai Shimbun, is the flagship publication of Nikkei, Inc. and the world's largest financial newspaper, with a daily circulation exceeding three million.

The Yomiuri Shimbun (讀賣新聞/読売新聞) is a Japanese newspaper published in Tokyo, Osaka, Fukuoka, and other major Japanese cities. It is one of the five major newspapers in Japan. It is a newspaper that represents Tokyo and generally has a conservative orientation.