Japanese Studies Advanced Guide

The National DietLibrary's online exhibition "Birth of the Constitution of Japan" presents the major events and important documents involved in the framing and enactment of Japan's Constitution.The exhibition was updated on May 3, 2004 with the addition of 81 new documents and a new section of main issues.

Available in both English and Japanese, the elements of this site form a fluid and iterative network for exploring discussions surrounding the Constitution of Japan from multiple vantage points: constitution chapters, individual and collective voices who support and oppose revisions, and topics that are central to their debates. An array of proposed drafts for a new constitution can also be explored on their own or through various pages that allow comparisons with the current constitution.

In Japanese. Japanese laws and regulations in full text.

In English. Comprehensive print collection translations of laws and regulations, available at the UMN Law Library.

Japanese Law Translation is a website operated by the Ministry of Justice that provides translations of Japanese laws and regulations.

Legislative information, documents concerning activities of the Japanese Diet.

A digital collection of the Official Gazette (官報). Full-text available in Japanese.

Index to 19th Century Japanese laws and regulations

In Japanese. Index to Japanese current laws, regulations, treaties and bills, and also abolished laws.

Full-text Japanese court decisions, includes Supreme Court, High Court, District Court, and special court decisions.

Database system for minutes of the Imperial Diet. Search pre-1945 laws and regulations of the Japanese Imperial Diet

English translations of statutes for many countries, including China, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, and Taiwan (Republic of China)