Japanese Studies Advanced Guide

The National DietLibrary's online exhibition "Birth of the Constitution of Japan" presents the major events and important documents involved in the framing and enactment of Japan's Constitution.The exhibition was updated on May 3, 2004 with the addition of 81 new documents and a new section of main issues.

Full text foreign ministry documents; in Japanese

Database in kundoku (“Japanese” or explanatory reading) of the full texts of diaries and other old records from the middle part of the Heian period.

JACAR has built and operates an online database for releasing Asian historical records, that are historical documents of Japan concerning to the modern Japanese relations with other countries, particularly those in Asia. The documents of the archive are provided by the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, and the National Institute for Defense Studies of the Ministry of Defense of Japan.

Digitized images of Pre-Modern Japanese Works (created until 1868 and written by Japanese authors) held by Kobe University Library are available here, including disciplines such as medicine, humanities, science, social science, etc.

A digital collection of Modern Japanese political history materials. Full-text available for most of the materials.

With the aim of publishing the circumstances in modern Japan, it's a collection of publication and advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines in the early Meiji period.

The Society and Culture Collection is an ongoing digital collection of historical images primarily from Washington State. The images cover a variety of political, cultural and social topics. These include: Japanese and Chinese Americans; the World War II Japanese internment camps of Camp Harmony (Puyallup) and Minidoka (Idaho); labor and politics; prohibition; legislative assemblies; women; socialist colonies in Washington State; leisure activities such as camping, hiking and mountaineering.

A database of publication information and images of advertisements collected by Taijiro Masuda.

Image Database of DMUCH Collection by Art Research Center, Ritsumeikan University.