Japanese Studies Advanced Guide

A smart phone app developed by the Japan Foundation Japanese-Language Institute, Kansai, to help students learn Japanese.

This is an e-learning site that offers a fun way to learn a number of character/genre-based Japanese expressions which appear in anime and manga.

A free study tool for reading and writing kanji, Kanji alive is a web application designed to help Japanese language students of all levels learn to read and write kanji. All of the content in the application was created and reviewed with great attention to detail by Japanese instructors to help students best study, practice, and retain kanji. Supported by the Center for East Asian Studies' Committee on Japanese Studies.

Convert Kanji (漢字) and Websites to Romaji or Hiragana and translate Japanese to English, too.

MARUGOTO+ (MARUGOTO Plus) is a website where users can learn about Japanese language and culture based on the contents of the "MARUGOTO: Japanese Language and Culture", the official coursebook of the Japan Foundation, which complies to the JF Standard for Japanese-Language Education.

If you enter the URL of a Japanese website. The system adds hiragana or the kanji

Learn conversations from videos.

Aizuchi (back-channeling): A key to smooth conversation

An online website that provides a collection of picture books on Japanese folk tales.

A list of links of Nara ehon (picture books) and emaki (picture scrolls) that are available online.

A collection of Nara Ehon and Emakimono.

Nara ehon at the French National Library.

A digital collection by Keio University. Nara ehon are illustrated manuscripts produced from the late Muromachi to early Edo period. The illustrations typically used bright colors, such as a vermillion and green, with gold and silver leaf and distemper. The content consists mainly of short stories written from the Muromachi to early Edo period which belong to the genre of Otogi zoshi, including Urashima Taro.

A database of original text images of Naraehon (19 picture books) held by NIJL.

A radio broadcast telling the old folk tales.

This podcast covers a variety of topics in the media.

This is an educational podcast featuring an interview with a different personality every week, ranging from news broadcasters to athletes, novelists, and philosophers. Its motto is "things you either forgot or never learned in school." Regularly updated, approx. one hour per episode.

A podcast of news in slow Japanese.

This (old story) old-fashioned reading broadcast is an internet radio station that delivers reading aloud on a weekly basis, which was established to foster a beautiful heart and rich imagination for children. It is operated by Tea Step.

Japan Video Topics offers a comprehensive view of Japanese culture, nature, science and technology and tourism etc.

A website of folk tale story videos made for young children to learn Japanese. Made by NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation). Japanese learners can use it to listen and practice Japanese.

Jisho is a powerful Japanese-English dictionary. It lets you find words, kanji, example sentences and more quickly and easily.

Free online dictionary for kanji. It also offers the lists of 1) commonly used kanji (常用漢字); 2) kanji for people's names (人名用漢字); 3) of radicals (部首); and 4) of difficult kanji (難読漢字).

Navigates you to find Japanese language study website and apps.

A free Japanese English translator that can pick out and provide information on individual words and phrases.

Weblio English-Japanese Dictionary is a free, comprehensive online service that integrates multiple English-Japanese and Japanese-English dictionaries.

「音訳の部屋ー読み方辞典」は音訳者・点訳者、読みを必要としている方のために制作した多くの読み方辞典です。漢字の読み方調査、記号・単位・略語の読み方調べ等にお使い下さい。