Japanese Studies Advanced Guide

The Art Research Center was established in 1998. Since then, the Center's mission has been not only to conduct historical and social research and analyses of both tangible and intangible human cultural properties such as visual and performing arts and craftsmanship, but also to record, organize, preserve, and disseminate the research outcomes.

The Customs Museum opened in 1974 as a museum exhibiting actual Japanese customs and costumes from ancient times to modern times.

This a project created by Dr. Paula R. Curtis. The aim is to provide researchers and educators with a convenient way to locate and explore digital materials based on a variety of thematic content. The content can be filtered through a variety of labels and tags (explained below) or searched with keywords.

Gordon W. Prange Collection at the University of Maryland is the most comprehensive archive in the world of Japanese print publications issued during the early years of the Occupation of Japan, 1945-1949. These books, magazines, newspapers, posters, maps and more were subjected to censorship by the Allied Forces. They bear censorship markings ranging from check-in and examination dates to deletions, suppression and other changes.

The Historiographical Institute of the University of Tokyo is a research institution for the study of historical documents that span Japan’s pre-modern history from ancient times through to the Meiji Restoration. Our mission is to collect and analyze various historical documents from holdings both in Japan and overseas and compile and publish these as key collections of Japanese historical documents for the benefit of academia and society.

The International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Nichibunken), founded in 1987, pursues international, interdisciplinary, and comprehensive research on Japanese culture.

Drawing on the unique resources of the nation’s capital and our long history, the JASWDC promotes friendship and understanding between Americans and Japanese through diverse programming that spans the educational, cultural, business, and policy spheres.

JF digital collection, an online platform showcasing a variety of online programs created by JF headquarters and offices overseas.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an independent Federal Agency that preserves and oversees the management of all Federal records.

This is a page that has a collection of digitized documents published since the Meiji era.

As Japan's only general academic research institution seeking to create future value in the new discipline of informatics, the National Institute of Informatics (NII) seeks to advance integrated research and development activities in information-related fields, including networking, software, and content. These activities range from theoretical and methodological work through applications.

This institute strives to serve researchers in the field of Japanese literature and those working in various other humanities fields by collecting a massive archive of materials related to Japanese literature from all corners of the country in one location. NIJL is a comprehensive research institute and functions as a foundation for the broader promotion of advanced collaborative research into Japanese literature.

The NCC works to expand and improve access to library resources and information about Japan, through collaboration with institutions and organizations in North America, Japan, and elsewhere. NCC coordinates projects to cooperatively develop Japanese collections and articulate the information needs of librarians, scholars, and others.

The purpose of this website is to help scholars and librarians identify notable Japanese Studies collections in North American libraries and cultural institutions. It also serves as a pilot project toward building a comprehensive database that charts all print and digital materials, including unprocessed or partially processed collections, held at North American research organizations.

A website for students who want to research and write scholarly papers on Japan with English-language sources, designed by Hiromi Mizuno, Professor of Department of History, University of Minnesota. It is designed to introduce students to various English-language primary materials for conducting original research projects on Japan, such as translated diaries and English-edition newspapers. It also provides links to digitalized archival and visual materials.

As of March 2018, the Tokyo Metropolitan Central Library has more than 2.06 million books, over 6,000 titles of magazines and journals, in addition to various audio-visual materials, and rare materials (including Ukiyo-e and architectural drawings of Edo Castle).

Provide a collection of linked resources related to Japanese literature studies.

Provide various information related to Japanese literature, such as a list of digitized texts and a collection of links.