Call numbers for bassoon music
- M75-M79: Bassoon or contrabassoon alone
- M75: Collections (more than one composer)
- M76: Original works - collections (one composer)
- M77: Original works - separate works
- M78: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
- M79: Arrangements - separate works
- M253-M254: Bassoon or contrabassoon with piano accompaniment
- M253: Collections
- M254: Separate works
- M288-M289: Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds)
- M288: Collections
- M289: Separate works
- M290-M291: Duets - one stringed and one wind instrument
- M296-M297: Duets - one wind and one plucked instrument
- M315-M319: Piano and two wind instruments
- M320-M324: Piano, one string, and one wind instrument
- M335-M339: Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
- M355-M359: Three wind instruments
- M360-M364: Three stringed and wind instruments
- M375-M379: Three wind and plucked instruments
- M380-M384: Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
Concertos and similar pieces:
- M1026: Bassoon with orchestra - full scores
- M1026.5: Cadenzas for works for bassoon with orchestra
- M1027: Bassoon with orchestra - piano reductions
- M1126: Bassoon with string orchestra - full scores
- M1126.5: Cadenzas for works for bassoon with string orchestra
- M1127: Bassoon with string orchestra - piano reductions
Studies and methods:
- MT400: General works
- MT402: Systems and methods
- MT403: Teaching pieces
- MT404: Instructive editions
- MT405: Studies and exercises
- MT406: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
- MT407: Two bassoons
- MT408: Self-instructors
- MT412: Contrabassoon
- MT415: Sarrusophone
Subject headings for bassoon music
Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:
Solo bassoon music:
- sonatas (bassoon)
- suites (bassoon)
- variations (bassoon)
- [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (bassoon)
- bassoon music
Bassoon and piano music:
- rondos (bassoon and piano)
- sonatas (bassoon and piano)
- suites (bassoon and piano)
- variations (bassoon and piano)
- [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (bassoon and piano)
- bassoon and piano music
- bassoons (2)
- violin and bassoon music
- flute and bassoon music
- horn and bassoon music
- woodwind trios (bassoon, oboe, flute) [also try other combinations of instruments with bassoon]
- wind trios [use this subject heading to search for mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations of instruments]
- wind trios (bassoon, clarinet, trumpet)
- wind trios (bassoon, flute, horn)
- trios [this subject heading will lead you to various combinations of stringed, brass, woodwind, etc. instruments]
- trios (viola, bassoons (2))
- trios (bassoon, trumpet, percussion)
Quartets [follow this pattern for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets]:
- woodwind quartets [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
- suites [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
- variations [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
- wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]
Bassoon and orchestra:
- concertos (bassoon)
- concertos (bassoon solo with piano)
- bassoon with orchestra
- concertos (bassoon with string orchestra)
- rondos (bassoon with orchestra)
- [fill in this blank with the genre you're looking for] (bassoon with orchestra)
Find bassoon-specific scholarship online and in print through the Music Library
Want an overview of bassoon-related publications and lists of repertoire?
Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!
- ML128 .B26: Bassoon bibliographies
- ML950: General works
- ML951: Construction
- ML953: Music and playing
Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:
- Beebe, Jon P. Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Company, 1990.
Reference, ML128.B26 B43 1990
- Bulling, Burchard. Fagott Bibliographie. Wilhelmshaven: Florian Noetzel Verlag; Heinrichshofen Bücher, 1989.
Reference, ML128.B26 B84 1989
- Cooper, Lewis Hugh, and Howard Toplansky. Essentials of Bassoon Technique. Union, NJ: Howard Toplansky, 1968.
- General Collection, Quarto MT402.C66 E87 1968
- Fletcher, Kristine Klopfenstein. The Paris Conservatoire and the Concert Solos for Bassoon. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1988.
Reference, ML128.B26 F6 1988
- Jooste, S.J. The Technique of Bassoon Playing. Potchefstroom, South Africa: Potchefstroom University for CHE Publications, 1984.
- General Collection, MT402 .J6 1984
- Joppig, Gunther. The Oboe and the Bassoon. Translated by Alfred Clayton. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1988.
- General Collection, ML940 .J6613 1988
- Koenigsbeck, Bodo. Bassoon Bibliography. Monteux, France: Musica Rara, 1994.
Reference, ML128.B26 K7x 1994
- Kopp, James B. The Bassoon. Yale Musical Instrument Series. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2012.
General Collection, ML950 .K66 2012
- Langwill, Lyndesay. The Bassoon and Contrabassoon. New York: W.W. Norton, 1965.
- General Collection, ML950 .L29 1965
- Lehman, Paul R. The Harmonic Structure of the Tone of the Bassoon. Seattle: Berdon, 1965. [NOTE: This is a microfilm and is held behind the circulation desk. Just ask us for help getting started with microfilm!]
General Collection, Mfilm 74
- McGill, David. Sound in Motion. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2007.
- General Collection, MT170 .M34 2007
- McKay, James R. The Bassoon Reed Manual: Lou Skinner’s Theories and Techniques. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2000.
- General Collection, Quarto ML951 .M35 2000
- Popkin, Mark, and Loren Glickman. Bassoon Reed Making. 4th ed. North Conway, NH: Charles Double Reed Co., 2013.
- General Collection, ML951 .P67 2013
- Schillinger, Christin. Bassoon Reed Making: A Pedagogic History. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2016.
- General Collection, ML951 .S35 2016
- Waterhouse, William. The Bassoon. Yehudi Menhin Music Guides. London: Kahn & Averill, 2003.
- General Collection, MT400 .W38 2003
- Weait, Christopher. Bassoon Strategies for the Next Level. Worthington, OH: Christopher Weait, 2003.
- General Collection, Quarto MT400 .W3 2003
- Weait, Christopher, and Alan Emery. Bassoon Reed Making: An Illustrated Basic Method. Worthington, OH: Christopher Weait, 2008.
- General Collection, Quarto ML951 .W43 2008
- Weisberg, Arthur. The Art of Wind Playing. New York: Schirmer Books, 1975.
- General Collection, MT339 .W45 1975
- Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of Bassoon Music Including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas. Magnolia, AR: The Music Register, 1976.
Reference, ML128.B25 W5 1976
Interested in browsing bassoon-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):