Instrument and Voice Guides

Related guides

This guide covers search tools for finding orchestral and voice materials.

Call numbers for trumpet music

  • M85-M89: Trumpet or cornet alone
    • M85: Collections (more than one composer)
    • M86: Original works - collections (one composer)
    • M87: Original works - separate works
    • M88: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
    • M89: Arrangements - separate works
  • M260-M261: Trumpet or cornet with piano accompaniment
    • M260: Collections
    • M261: Separate works
  • M288-M289: Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds)
    • M288: Collections
    • M289: Separate works
  • M290-M291: Duets - one stringed and one wind instrument
  • M296-M297: Duets - one wind and one plucked instrument
  • M315-M319: Piano and two wind instruments
  • M320-M324: Piano, one string, and one wind instrument
  • M335-M339: Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
  • M355-M359: Three wind instruments
  • M360-M364: Three stringed and wind instruments
  • M375-M379: Three wind and plucked instruments
  • M380-M384: Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
 

Concertos and similar pieces:

  • M1030: Trumpet or cornet with full orchestra - full scores
  • M1030.5: Cadenzas for works for trumpet or cornet with full orchestra
  • M1031: Trumpet or cornet with full orchestra - piano reductions
  • M1130: Trumpet or cornet with string orchestra - full scores
  • M1130.5: Cadenzas for works for trumpet or cornet with string orchestra
  • M1131: Trumpet or cornet with string orchestra - piano reductions

Studies and methods:

  • MT440: General works
  • MT442: Systems and methods
  • MT443: Teaching pieces
  • MT444: Instructive editions
  • MT445: Studies and exercises
  • MT446: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
  • MT447: Two trumpets
  • MT448: Self-instructors​

Subject headings for trumpet music

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

Solo trumpet music: 

  • sonatas (trumpet)
  • suites (trumpet)
  • variations (trumpet)
  • [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (trumpet)
  • trumpet music

Trumpet and piano music:

  • rondos (trumpet and piano)
  • sonatas (trumpet and piano)
  • suites (trumpet and piano)
  • variations (trumpet and piano)
  • [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (trumpet and piano)
  • trumpet and piano music

Duets:

  • trumpets (2)
  • trombone and trumpet music
  • flute and trumpet music
  • horn and trumpet music
  • etc.

Trios:

  • brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet) [also try other combinations of instruments with trumpet]
  • wind trios [use this subject heading to search for mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations of instruments]
    • wind trios (bassoon, clarinet, trumpet)
    • wind trios (flute, horn, trumpet)
    • wind trios (trumpets (2), horn)
    • etc.
  • trios [this subject heading will lead you to various combinations of stringed, brass, woodwind, etc. instruments]
    • trios (viola, trumpets (2))
    • trios (bassoon, trumpet, percussion)
    • etc.
       

Quartets [follow this pattern for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets]:

  • brass quartets [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of brass instruments, e.g. trumpets (2), horns (2)]
  • wind quartets [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of brass and woodwind instruments]
  • suites [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
  • variations [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
  • wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]
     

Trumpet and orchestra:

  • concertos (trumpet)
  • concertos (trumpet solo with piano)
  • trumpet with orchestra
  • concertos (trumpet with string orchestra)
  • rondos (trumpet with orchestra)
  • [fill in this blank with the genre you're looking for] (trumpet with orchestra)

 

Find trumpet-specific scholarship online and in print through the Music Library

Want an overview of trumpet-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

  • ML128 .T78: Trumpet bibliographies
  • ML960: General works
  • ML961: Construction
  • ML963: Music and playing


Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:
 

  • Anderson, Paul G. Brass Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print. Music Guide Series 5. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Co. 1987.
  • Reference, ML128.W5 A57 1987  
     
  • Baron, John H. Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide. 3rd ed. Routledge Music Bibliographies. New York; Routledge, 2010.
  • Reference, ML128.C4 B37 2010
     
  • Bate, Philip. The Trumpet and Trombone: An Outline of Their History, Development, and Construction. 2nd ed. New York: W.W. Norton, 1978.
  • General Collection, ML960 .B38 1978  
     
  • Cansler, Philip T. Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Organ: An Annotated Bibliography. Brass Research Series 11. Nashville, TN: The Brass Press, 1984.
  • Reference, Quarto ML128.T78 C32 1984 
     
  • Carovale, Norbert A., and Paul F. Doersken. Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Orchestra. 2nd rev. ed. United States: Brass Press, 1994.
  • Reference, Quarto ML128.T78 C34x 1994
     
  • ​Fasman, Mark J. Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1990.
  • Reference, ML128.W5 F3 1990
     
  • Hiller, Albert. Music for Trumpets from Three Centuries (c. 1600 - After 1900): Compositions for 1-24 (Natural)Trumpets with and without Timpani. Cologne Music Series 1-3. Köln: Wolfgang G. Haas, 1993.
  • General Collection, ML128.F7 H53x 1993
     
  • Horne, Aaron. Brass Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
  • Reference, ML128.W5 H62 1996
     
  • Meckna, Michael. Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press 1994.=
  • Reference, ML399 .M4 1994
     
  • McGill, David. Sound in Motion. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2007.
  • General Collection, MT170 .M34 2007
     
  • Smithers, Don L. The Music and History of the Baroque Trumpet before 1721. 2nd ed. Carbondale and Edwardsville, IL: Southern Illinois University Press, 1988.
  • General Collection, ML960 .S63 1988
     
  • Weisberg, Arthur. The Art of Wind Playing. New York: Schirmer Books, 1975.
  • General Collection, MT339 .W45 1975  
     

Interested in browsing trumpet-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

Want to learn more about finding and accessing music materials like books, scores, and recordings?

Last Updated: Jan 25, 2024 4:36 PM