Instrument and Voice Guides

• M65-M69: Oboe alone
  • M65: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M66: Original works - collections (one composer)
  • M67: Original works - separate works
  • M68: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
  • M69: Arrangements - separate works
  • M110.E5: English horn
• M245-M247: Oboe with piano accompaniment
  • M245: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M246: Original works - separate works
  • M247: Arrangements - separate works​
• ​M270.E5: English horn
• M288-M289: Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds)
  • M288: Collections
  • M289: Separate works
• M290-M291: Duets - one stringed and one wind instrument
• M296-M297: Duets - one wind and one plucked instrument
• M315-M319: Piano and two wind instruments
• M320-M324: Piano, one string, and one wind instrument
• M335-M339: Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
• M355-M359: Three wind instruments
• M360-M364: Three stringed and wind instruments
• M375-M379: Three wind and plucked instruments
• M380-M384: Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
 

Concertos and similar pieces:

• M1022: Oboe with orchestra - full scores
• M1022.5: Cadenzas for works for oboe with orchestra
• M1023: Oboe with orchestra - piano reductions
• M1034.E5: English horn
• M1122: Oboe with string orchestra - full scores
• M1122.5: Cadenzas for works for oboe with string orchestra
• M1123: Oboe with string orchestra - piano reductions
• M1134.E5: English horn

Oboe studies and methods:

• MT360: General works
• MT362: Systems and methods
• MT363: Teaching pieces
• MT364: Instructive editions
• MT365: Studies and exercises
• MT366: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
• MT367: Two oboes
• MT368: Self-instructors
• MT376: English horn

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

Solo oboe music: 

• sonatas (oboe)
• suites (oboe)
• variations (oboe)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (oboe)
• oboe music

Oboe and piano music:

• rondos (oboe and piano)
• sonatas (oboe and piano)
• suites (oboe and piano)
• variations (oboe and piano)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (oboe and piano)
• oboe and piano music

Duets:

• oboes (2)
• violin and oboe music
• flute and oboe music
• oboe and clarinet music
• etc.

Trios:

• woodwind trios (flute, oboe, clarinet) [also try other combinations of instruments with oboe]
• wind trios [use this subject heading to search for mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations of instruments]
  • wind trios (oboe, bassoon, clarinet)
  • wind trios (oboe, trumpet, horn)
  • etc.
• trios [this subject heading will lead you to various combinations of stringed, brass, woodwind, etc. instruments]
  • trios (viola, oboes (2))
  • trios (oboe, trumpet, percussion)
  • etc.
     

Quartets [follow this pattern for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets]:

• woodwind quartets [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• suites [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• variations [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]
   

Oboe and orchestra:

• concertos (oboe)
• concertos (oboe solo with piano)
• oboe with orchestra
• concertos (oboe with string orchestra)
• rondos (oboe with orchestra)
• [fill in this blank with the genre you're looking for] (oboe with orchestra)

Want an overview of oboe-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

• ML128 .F58: Oboe bibliographies
• ML940: General works
• ML941: Construction
• ML942: Music and playing

Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:

• Bate, Philip. The Oboe, an Outline of its History, Development, and Construction. 3rd ed. New York: W. W. Norton, 1975. 
• General Collection, ML940 .B37 1975  
   
• Gifford, Virginia Snodgrass. Music for Oboe, Oboe d'amore, and English Horn: a Bibliography of Materials at the Library of Congress. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983. 
• Reference, ML128.O2 G5 1983  
   
• Goossens, Leon, and Edwin Roxburgh. The Oboe. Yehudi Menhin Music Guides. New York: Schirmer, 1977.
• General Collection, MT360 .G66
   
• Haynes, Bruce. Music for Oboe, 1650-1800: A Bibliography. 2nd ed. Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf Press, 1992. 
• Reference, ML128.O2 H55 1992 
   
• Hosek, Miroslav. Oboen-Bibliographie. Wilhelmshaven: Heinrichshofen, 1975.
• General Collection, ML128 .O2 H7 1975
   
• Joppig, Gunther. The Oboe and the Bassoon. Translated by Alfred Clayton. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1988.
• General Collection, ML940 .J6613 1988  
   
• McGill, David. Sound in Motion. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2007.
• General Collection,  MT170 .M34 2007  
  ​
• Weisberg, Arthur. The Art of Wind Playing. New York: Schirmer Books, 1975.
• General Collection, MT339 .W45 1975  
   
•  
• Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of Oboe Music including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas. Magnolia, AR: Music Register, 1976.
• Reference, ML128.O2 W5 1976
•   ​
•  
•  

Interested in browsing clarinet-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):​

• The Double Reed​​
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database
     
• Journal of the International Double Reed Society
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals​​ section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database