Instrument and Voice Guides

• M20-M39: Piano alone
  • M20: Collections, mixed (original works and arrangements; two or more composers)
  • M21: Collections - original works, two or more composers
  • M22: Collections - original works, one composer
  • M23: Sonatas
  • M24: Suites
  • M25: Pieces
  • M26: Piano, one hand: left
  • M26.2: Piano, one hand: right
  • M27: Variations
  • M28: Marches
  • M30: Dances - general
  • M31: Dances - duple meter (polka, etc.)
  • M32: Dances - triple meter (waltz, etc.)
  • M32.8: Arrangements - collections
  • M33: Arrangements - complete works for opera, oratorios, and cantatas (NOT piano-vocal scores)
  • M33.5: Arrangements - excerpts from opera, oratorio, and cantatas
  • M34: Arrangements - transcriptions (for concert purpose) of operas, oratorios, cantatas, and excerpts
  • M35: Arrangements - orchestral and band music
  • M37: Arrangements - concertos (NOT piano reductions of concertos for solo instrument[s] and orchestra)
  • M37.5: Arrangements - concertos, excerpts
  • M38: Arrangements - chamber music, part songs, music for other solo instruments
  • M39: Arrangements - potpourris, medleys
  • M39.6: Arrangements - piano, one hand
• M198-M216: Duets (piano only)
  • M198: Three hands
  • M200: Four hands - mixed collections (original works and arrangements)
  • M201: Four hands - original works, collections
  • M202: Four hands - Sonatas
  • M203: Four hands - Suites, Variations
  • M204: Four hands - Pieces
  • M207: Arrangements - collections by two or more composers
  • M208: Arrangements - operas, ballets, oratorios, cantatas (complete)
  • M208.5: Arrangements - operas, ballets, oratorios, cantatas (excerpts)
  • M209: Arrangements - orchestral and band music
  • M210: Arrangements - concertos (NOT two-piano versions of concertos for solo instrument[s] and orchestra)
  • M211: Arrangements - chamber music, songs, and part songs
  • M213: Piano, five or more hands
  • M214: Two pianos, two performers - original works
  • M215: Two pianos, two performers - arrangements
  • M216: Two or more pianos, three or more performers
• M217-M285: Duets (piano and other solo instruments)
• M217-M239: Piano and one stringed instrument
• M240-M271: Piano and one wind instrument
• M272-M283: Piano and one plucked instrument
• M284-M285: Piano and other (includes percussion and electronics)
• M310-M344: Trios (Piano and two other instruments)
• M310-M314: Piano and two stringed instruments
• M315-M319: Piano and two wind instruments
• M320-M324: Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
• M325-M329: Piano and two plucked instruments
• M330-M334: Piano, one string, and one plucked instrument
• M335-M339: Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
• M340-M344: Piano and other combinations

• M1010: Piano with orchestra, full scores 
• M1010.5: Cadenzas for works for piano with orchestra
• M1011: Piano with orchestra (two-piano versions)
• M1110: Piano with string orchestra, full scores
• M1110.5: Cadenzas for works for piano with string orchestra
• M1111: Piano with string orchestra (two-piano versions)

Piano studies and methods:

• MT220: General works
• MT221: Physiology of the hand (including hand exercises)
• MT222: Systems and methods
• MT224: Rudiments of music when combined with piano instruction
• MT225-M239: Studies and exercises
• MT225: General works
• MT226: Left hand
• MT227: Pedal
• MT228: Touch
• MT229: Wrist
• MT230: Thirds, sixths, etc.
• MT231: Scales and arpeggios
• MT232: Fingering
• MT233: Rhythm
• MT235: Phrasing
• MT236: Sight reading, transposition, accompaniment, etc.
• MT238: Polyphonic playing
• MT239: Performance of popular music
• MT240: Other
• MT242: Four-hand, two-piano, etc. playing
• MT243: Teaching pieces
• MT245: Instructive editions, two or more composers
• MT247: Instructive editions, one composer
• MT248: Self-instructors
• MT250-M258: Special pianos, including early instruments

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

Solo piano music:

• sonatas (piano)
• suites (piano)
• variations (piano)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (piano)
• piano music
• etc.

• piano music (pianos (2))
• piano music (3 hands)
• piano music (4 hands)
• piano music (5 hands)
• etc.

• piano trios

• piano quartets

• concertos (piano)
• piano with orchestra
• concertos (piano with string orchestra)
• rondos (piano with orchestra)
• etc.

Want an overview of piano-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

• ML128 .P3: Piano bibliographies
• ML650: General works
• ML651-M697: Construction: general works; by time period; by region or country; special makes; parts of the piano
• ML700-M747: Music and playing: general works; by time period; by region or country; forms and types of music

Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:
 

• Bailey, Robert. Prelude and Transfiguration from Tristan and Isolde. Norton Critical Scores. New York: Norton, 1985.
  General Collection, M1505 .W13 T83 1985  
   
• Brendel, Alfred. Musical Thoughts & Afterthoughts. London: Robson Books, 1976.
  General Collection, ML60 .B85 1976
   
• Brendel, Alfred. Music Sounded Out: Essays, Lectures, Interviews, Afterthoughts. New York: Farrar Straus Giroux, 1991.
  General Collection, ML60 .B84 1991
   
• Chang, Frederic Ming, and Albert Faurot. Team Piano Repertoire: A Manual of Music for Multiple Players at One or More Pianos. Metuchen, NJ: The Scarecrow Pres, 1976.
• Reference, ML128.P3 C48 1976
   
• Comeau, Gilles. Piano Pedagogy: A Research and Information Guide. New York: Routledge, 2009. 
• Reference, ML128.P3 C66 2009
   
• Dart, Thurston, The Interpretation of Music. 4th ed. London: Hutchinson, 1967.
  General Collection, ML430.5 .D3 1967  
   
• Dubal, David. The Art of the Piano: Its Performers, Literature, and Recordings. 3rd ed., rev. and expanded. Pompton Plains, N.J. : Amadeus Press, 2004.
  General Collection, ML105 .D8 2004  NOTE: This text includes an accompanying disc. See catalog record at link for more info.
   
• Edel, Theodore. Piano Music for One Hand. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1994.
• Reference, ML128.P3 E3 1994
   
• Fuszek, Rita M. Piano Music in Collections: An Index. Detroit, MI: Information Coordinators, 1982. 
• Reference, ML128.P3 F87 1982
   
• Gillespie, John, and Ann Gillespie. A Bibliography of Nineteenth-Century American Piano Music: With Location Sources and Composer Biography-Index. Music Reference Collection 2. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984.
• Reference, ML128.P3 G54 1984
   
• Gillespie, John. Five Centuries of Keyboard Music: An Historical Survey of Music for Harpsichord and Piano. Belmont, Calif. : Wadsworth Publishing, 1965.
  General Collection, ML700 .G5 1965  
   
• Goldberg, Laurette. The Well-Tempered Clavier. San Francisco: Medallion Guild, 1988. [2-volume score]
  General Collection, Quarto M3.1.B2 W6 1988
   
• Gordon, Stewart. A History of Keyboard Literature: Music for the Piano and its Forerunners. New York: Schirmer Books, 1996.
  General Collection, ML700 .G65 1996  
   
• Hinson, Maurice. Music for More than One Piano. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1983.
• Reference, ML128.P3 H52 1983
   
• Hinson, Maurice. Music for Piano and Orchestra: An Annotated Guide. Enlarged ed. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1993.
• Reference, ML128.P3 H53 1993
   
• Hinson, Maurice. The Pianist's Guide to Transcriptions, Arrangements, and Paraphrases. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1990.
  General Collection, ML128.P3 H536 1990  
   
• Hinson, Maurice. The Pianist's Reference Guide. Los Angeles: Alfred Publishing, 1987.
  General Collection, ML128.P3 H54 1987  
   
• Hinson, Maurice, and Wesley Roberts. Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire. 4th ed. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2014. 
  Available as an ebook via the Libraries catalog and in print - Reference, ML128.P3 H5 2014
   
• Hutcheson, Ernest, and Rudolph Ganz. The Literature of the Piano: A Guide for Amateur and Student. 3rd ed. New York: Knopf, 1964.
  General Collection, MT140 .H95 1964
   
• Kinderman, William. Beethoven. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
  General Collection, ML410.B4 K56 2009  
   
• Matthews, Denis. Beethoven Piano Sonatas. London: Ariel Music/BBC Publications, 1986.
  General Collection, MT145.B42 M35 1986  
   
• Matthews, Denis. Keyboard Music. New York: Prager, 1972.
  Currently held in off-site storage, call number: 786.2 M432  NOTE: To access this item, click the link for the catalog record, sign in with your University ID and password, and click the green "Get It" button.
   
• Marshall, Robert. Eighteenth Century Keyboard Music. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2003.
  General Collection, ML705 .E37 2003 
   
• ​McGraw, Cameron. Piano Duet Repertoire: Music Originally Written for One Piano, Four Hands. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1981.
• Reference, ML128.P3 M2 1981
   
• Palmieri, Robert. Piano Information Guide: An Aid to Research. New York: Garland, 1989.
• Reference, ML128.P3 P34 1989
   
• Phemister, William. American Piano Concertos: A Bibliography. Detroit, MI: Information Coordinators, 1985.
• Reference, ML128.P3 P5 1985
   
• Rosen, Charles. The Classical Style: Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven. Expanded ed. New York: Norton, 1997.
  General Collection, ML195.R68 1997 NOTE: This text includes an accompanying disc. See catalog record at link for more info.
   
• Rosen, Charles. Sonata Forms. Rev. ed. New York: Norton, 1988.
  General Collection, ML1156 .R67 1988  
   
• Schonberg, Harold C. The Great Pianists. Rev. ed. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1987.
  General Collection, ML397 .S3 1987  
   
• Walker-Hill, Helen. Piano Music by Black Women Composers: A Catalog of Solo and Ensemble Works. Music Reference Collection 35. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992.
  Reference, ML128.P3 W3 1992 
   
• Wolcott, Michiko Ishiyama. Piano, the Instrument: An Annotated Bibliography. Lanham, MD: The Scarecrow Press, 2001.
  Reference, ML128.P3 W65 2001
• 
  
  

Interested in browsing piano-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

• The Piano Magazine (Earlier title: Clavier Companion)
  • Available online and in print at the Music Library
     
• International Piano
  • Available in print at the Music Library
     
• Performance Practice Review
  • ​​​​​​​Available online and in print at the Music Library
     
• Piano & Keyboard (Earlier title: Piano Quarterly)
  • Available online and in print at the Music Library
     

Education resources:

• The American Music Teacher
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Available online and in print at the Music Library
     
• Music Educators Journal
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Available online and in print at the Music Library

Check out the International Piano Archives at Maryland: The International Piano Archives at Maryland is a unique resource for the study, appreciation, and preservation of the classical piano repertoire and its performance. IPAM's collections comprise the world's most extensive concentration of piano recordings, books, scores, programs and related materials, including the archival papers of many great keyboard artists.