Instrument and Voice Guides

Secular Vocal Music

• M1500: Scores (full)
• M1503: Piano-vocal scores
• M1505-M1508: Excerpts (with original or arranged accompaniment)

• M1510-M1518: Incidental music
• M1520-M1526: Ballets
• M1527: Motion picture, radio, and television music
• M1528-M1529.5: Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices

• M1611: Collections: full scores
• M1612: Collections: piano-vocal scores
• M1613: Separate works: full scores
• M1613.3: Separate works: other accompaniment
• M1614: Separate works: piano accompaniment
• M1615: Arrangements: Collections: full scores
• M1616: Arrangements: Collections: piano-vocal scores
• M1617: Arrangements: Separate works: full scores
• M1618: Arrangements: Separate works: piano accompaniment

• M1619: Collections (more than one composer)
• M1620: Collections: one composer
• M1621: Separate works: piano accompaniment
• M1621.2: Separate works: unaccompanied
• M1621.3: Separate works: accompanied by piano and one other instrument
• M1621.4: Song cycles
• M1622: Vaudeville, music-hall songs, etc.
• M1623: Accompaniment of one other instrument: Collections
• M1624: Accompaniment of one other instrument: Separate works
• M1625-M1626: Recitations with music
• M1627-M1853: National songs (solo songs and part-songs)
• M1900-M1978: Songs (solo songs and part-songs) of groups and schools or about special subjects
• M1990-M1998: Secular music for children

Sacred Vocal Music

• M2018-M2019.5: Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices

• M2102: Collections
• M2103: Separate songs: Full scores
• M2103.3: Separate songs: Other accompaniment
• M2104: Separate songs: piano-vocal scores
• M2105-M2108: Arrangements

• M2110: Collections (more than one composer)
• M2112: Collections (one composer)
• M2113: Separate songs: accompaniment of one instrument
• M2113.2: Separate songs: unaccompanied
• M2113.3: Song cycles
• M2114: Special texts: By religion or denomination
• M2115-M2146: Hymnals: By religion or denomination
• M2190-M2196: Sacred vocal music for children

Singing and Vocal Techniques

• MT820: General works
• MT821: Physiology and care of the voice
• MT823: History of vocal instruction and study

• MT825: American
• MT830: English
• MT835: French
• MT840: German
• MT845: Italian
• MT850: Other
• MT853: Systems using audio-visual aids

• MT855: General works
• MT860: Chanting
• MT870: Sight-singing
• MT875: Chorus and part-singing
• MT878: Breathing
• MT882: Tone production
• MT883: Pronunciation; diction
• MT885: Studies and exercises
• MT890: Instructive editions; teaching pieces
• MT892: Interpretation, phrasing, expression
• MT893: Self-instructors
• MT898-M916: Vocal techniques for children

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

Solo vocal music:

• songs, unaccompanied
• sacred songs, unaccompanied

• songs (high voice) with piano
• songs (medium voice) with piano
• songs (low voice) with piano
• sacred songs (high voice) with piano
• sacred songs (medium voice) with piano
• sacred songs (low voice) with piano

• vocal duets, unaccompanied
• vocal duets with piano
• vocal duets with chamber orchestra
• vocal duets with guitar
• etc.

• vocal trios, unaccompanied
• vocal trios with piano
• vocal trios with chamber orchestra
• vocal trios with guitar
• etc.

Want an overview of voice-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

• ML128 .S2: Sacred vocal music bibliographies
• ML128 .V7: Vocal music bibliographies

Vocal music:

• ML1400: General works
• ML1402-M1451: Vocal music (arranged by period then region or country)
• ML1460: Vocal technique

 Secular vocal music:

• ML1600: General works
• ML1602-M1651: By period then region or country
• ML1700-M1751: Forms and types (general works; by period then region or country)
• ML2400-M2551: Cantatas and songs: works about both solo songs and part-songs (arranged by period then region or country)
• ML2600-M2670: Part-songs (arranged by period then region or country)
• ML2800-M2854: Solo songs (arranged by period then region or country)
• ML2880-M2881: Christmas songs

 Sacred vocal music: 

• ML2900: General works
• ML2902-M2951: By period then region or country
• ML2999-M3197: Individual religions and denominations
• ML3201-M3275: Forms and types(oratorio, cantata, chorale)

Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:

• Abromeit, Kathleen A. Spirituals: A Multidisciplinary Bibliography for Research and Performance. Middleton, WI: Music Library Association and A-R Editions, 2015.
• Reference, ML128.S4 A27 2015
   
• Barlow, Harold, and Sam Morgenstern. A Dictionary of Opera and Song Themes, Including Cantatas, Oratorios, Lieder, and Art Songs. Rev. ed. New York: Crown Publishers, 1976.
• General Collection, ML128 .V7 B3 1976 
   
• Belov, Anton, Ann Brash, Valeria Konstantinovskaya, and Nico Castel. Libretti of Russian Operas: With International Phonetic Alphabet Transcriptions and Word-for-Word Translations, Including a Guide to The IPA and Russian Lyric Diction. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 2004.
• Reference, ML48 .L483 2004 
   
• Boles McTyre, Ruthann. Library Resources for Singers, Coaches, and Accompanists. Music Reference Collection 71. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
• Reference, ML128.V7 M45x 1998
   
• Castel, Nico. The Complete Puccini Libretti. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 1993-1994.
• Reference, Quarto ML49 .P977x 1993 
   
• Castel, Nico. The Complete Verdi Libretti. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 1994-1996.
• Reference, Quarto ML49.V45 C372 1994
   
• Castel, Nico. The Libretti of Mozart's Completed Operas: In Two Volumes. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 1997-1998.
• Reference, Quarto ML49.M83 C315x 1997
   
• Castel, Nico. A Singer's Manual of Spanish Lyric Diction. Mt. Morris, NY: Leyerle, 1994
• Reference, MT883 .C27 1994 
   
• Castel, Nico, and Hemdi Kfir. Handel Opera Libretti. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 2005.
• Reference, Quarto ML49.H13 O62 2005
   
• Castel, Nico, and Scott Jackson Wiley. Italian Verismo Opera Libretti: In Two Volumes. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 2000.
• Reference, Quarto ML48 .I884 2000 ​
   
• Castel, Nico, Scott Jackson Wiley, and Marcie Stapp. Italian Belcanto Opera Libretti. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 2000-2002.
• Reference, Quarto ML48 .I882x 2000
   
• Castel, Nico, and Marcie Stapp. Four Strauss Opera Libretti. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 2002.
• Reference, Quarto ML49.S76 C3x 2002 
   
• Castel, Nico, and Marcie Stapp. German Miscellaneous Opera Libretti: With International Phonetic Alphabet Transcriptions, Word for Word Translations, a Guide to the IPA, and Notes on teh German Transcriptions. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 2005.
• Reference, Quarto ML48 .G4 2005
   
• Castel, Nico, and Marcie Stapp. Der Ring des Nibelungen. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 2003.
• Reference, Quarto ML50.W14 R32 2003
   
• Castel, Nico, and Marcie Stapp. Three Wagner Opera Libretti. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 2006.
• General Collection, Quarto ML49.W14 C32 2006
   
• Castel, Nico, Marcie Stapp, Scott Jackson Wiley, and Michel Singher. French Opera Libretti. Geneseo, NY: Leyerle, 1999-2005.
• Reference, Quarto ML48 .F875x 1999 
   
• Carman, Judith E., William K. Gaeddert, and Rita M. Resch. Art Song in the United States, 1759-2011: An Annotated Bibliography. 4th ed. Forward by Thomas Hampson. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2013.
• Reference, Quarto ML128.S3 C37 2013
  
  
• Coffin, Berton. The Singer's Repertoire. New Brunswick, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1956.
  Reference, ML128.V7 C67 1956 and General Collection, ML128.V7 C67 1956 
•  
• Coffin, Berton. The Singer's Repertoire. 2nd ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1960.
  • Part I: Coloratura Soprano, Lyric Soprano, and Dramatic Soprano
  • Part II: Mezzo Soprano and Contralto
  • Part III: Lyric and Dramatic Tenor
  • Part IV: Baritone and Bass
  • Part V: Program Notes for the Singer's Repertoire (pub. 1962)

General Collection, ML128.V7 C67 2002 and online (click the "Full Text Available at HathiTrust" link at the top of this catalog record!)

• De Charms, Desiree, and Paul F. Breed. Songs in Collections: An Index. Detroit: Information Service Incorporated, 1966.
  Reference, ML128.S3 D37 1966
   
• Doscher, Barbara. From Studio to Stage: Repertoire for the Voice. Edited and annotated by John Nix. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2002.
• Reference, ML128.V7 D67 2002
   
• Espina, Noni. Repertoire for the Solo Voice: A Fully Annotated Guide to Works for the Solo Voice Published in Modern Editions and Covering Material from the 13th Century to the Present. Forward by Berton Coffin. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1977.
  Reference, ML128.S3 E8 and General Collection, ML128.S3 E8 1977 
   
• Espina, Noni. Vocal Solos for Christian Churches: A Descriptive Reference for the Church Year, Including a Bibliographical Supplement of Choral Works (Sacred Repertoire for Concert and Teaching). 3rd ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1984.
• Reference, Quarto ML128.V7 E8 1984
   
•  
• Goleeke, Thomas. Literature for Voice: An Index of Songs in Collections and Source Book for Teachers of Singing. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1984.
• General Collection, Quarto ML128.S3 G64 1984  
   
• Goleeke, Thomas. Literature for Voice, Volume II: An Index to Songs in Collections 1985-2000. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2002.
• Reference, Quarto ML128.S3 G644 2002 
   
• Gooch, Bryan N.S., and David S. Thatcher. Musical Settings of British Romantic Literature. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities 326. New York: Garland, 1982.
  Reference, ML128.V7 G57 1982
   
• Gooch, Bryan N.S., and David S. Thatcher. Musical Settings of Early and Mid-Victorian Literature. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities 149. New York: Garland, 1979.
• Reference, ML128.V7 G58 1979
   
• Gooch, Bryan N.S., and David S. Thatcher. Musical Settings of Late-Victorian and Modern British Literature. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities 31. New York: Garland, 1976.
• Reference, ML120.G7 G66 1976
   
• Hopkin, J. Arden. Songs for Young Singers: An Annotated List for Developing Voices. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2002.
  Reference, ML132.S6 H67 2002
   
• Hoover, Maya, ed. A Guide to the Latin American Art Song Repertoire: An Annotated Catalog of Twentieth-Century Art Songs for Voice and Piano. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2010.
• Reference, ML128.S3 H85 2010  
   
• Hovland, Michael. Musical Settings of American Poetry: A Bibliography. Music Reference Collection 8. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
• Reference, ML128.V7 H67 1986
   
• Kagen, Sergius. Music for the Voice: A Descriptive List of Concert and Teaching Material. Rev. ed. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1968.
• Reference, ML128.V7 K3 1968
   
• Klaus, Kenneth S. Chamber Music for Solo Voice and Instruments, 1960-1989. Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf Press, 1994.
• Reference, ML128.S3 K55 1994
   
• Laster, James H. Catalogue of Vocal Solos and Duets Arranged in Biblical Order. 2nd ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2003.
• General Collection, Quarto ML128.S3 L38 2003 
   
• Lust, Patricia. American Vocal Chamber Music, 1945-1980. The Music Reference Collection 4. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1985.
• Reference, ML128.V7 L8 1985
   
• Manning, Jane. New Vocal Repertory: An Introduction. New York: Crescendo/Taplinger, 1986.
• General Collection, ML128.V7 M38 1987
   
• Manning, Jane. New Vocal Repertory, vol. 2. New York: Clarendon Press, 1994.
• General Collection, ML128.V7 M3 1994
   
• Ord, Alan J. Songs for Bass Voice: An Annotated Guide to Works for Bass Voice. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1994. 
• Reference, ML132.S6 O73 1994 
   
• Ord, Alan J. Songs for Beginning Bass Voice: An  Annotated Guide to Works for Beginning Bass Voice. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2002. 
  General Collection, Quarto ML132.S6 O74 2002  
   
• Seaton, Douglass. The Art Song: A Research and Information Guide. New York: Garland, 1987.
• Reference, ML128.S3 S33 1987
   
• Winchester, Barbara, and Kay Dunlap. Vocal Chamber Music: A Performer's Guide. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2008. 
• Reference, ML128.V7 D86 2008
   

Interested in browsing voice-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

• Journal of Singing: The Official Journal of the National Association of Teachers of Singing
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database and other online Libraries resources
     
• Opera News
  • ​Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals​​ sectio
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database and other online Libraries resources