Instrument and Voice Guides

• M60-M64: Flute or alto flute alone
  • M60: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M61: Original works - collections (one composer)
  • M62: Original works - separate works
  • M63: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
  • M64: Arrangements - separate works
• M110.P5: Piccolo
• M240-M244: Flute or alto flute with piano accompaniment
  • M240: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M241: Original works - collections (one composer)
  • M242: Original works - separate works
  • M243: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
  • M244: Arrangements - separate works
• M270.P45: Piccolo with piano accompaniment
• M288-M289: Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds)
  • M288: Collections
  • M289: Separate works
• M290-M291: Duets - one stringed and one wind instrument
• M296-M297: Duets - one wind and one plucked instrument
• M315-M319: Piano and two wind instruments
• M320-M324: Piano, one string, and one wind instrument
• M335-M339: Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
• M355-M359: Three wind instruments
• M360-M364: Three stringed and wind instruments
• M375-M379: Three wind and plucked instruments
• M380-M384: Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
 

Concertos and similar pieces:

• M1020: Flute or alto flute with orchestra - full scores
• M1020.5: Cadenzas for works for flute or alto flute with orchestra
• M1021: Flute or alto flute with orchestra - piano reductions
• M1034.P5: Piccolo with orchestra - full scores
• M1034.5.P5: Cadenzas for works for piccolo with orchestra
• M1035.P5: Piccolo with orchestra - piano reductions
• M1120: Flute or alto flute with string orchestra - full scores
• M1120.5: Cadenzas for works for flute or alto flute with string orchestra
• M1121: Flute or alto flute with string orchestra - piano reductions
• M1134.P5: Piccolo with string orchestra - full scores
• M1134.5.P5: Cadenzas for works for piccolo with string orchestra
• M1135.P5: Piccolo with string orchestra - piano reductions

Flute studies and methods:

• MT340: General works
• MT342: Systems and methods
• MT343: Teaching pieces
• MT344: Instructive editions
• MT345: Studies and exercises
• MT346: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
• MT347: Two flutes
• MT348: Self-instructors
• MT356: Fife
• MT357: Piccolo

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

Solo flute music: 

• sonatas (flute)
• suites (flute)
• variations (flute)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (flute)
• flute music

Flute and piano music:

• rondos (flute and piano)
• sonatas (flute and piano)
• suites (flute and piano)
• variations (flute and piano)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (flute and piano)
• flute and piano music

Duets:

• flutes (2)
• violin and flute music
• clarinet and flute music
• horn and flute music
• etc.

Trios:

• woodwind trios (clarinet, oboe, flute) [also try other combinations of instruments with flute]
• wind trios [use this subject heading to search for mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations of instruments]
  • wind trios (flute, oboe, bassoon)
  • wind trios (flute, clarinet, oboe)
  • etc.
• trios [this subject heading will lead you to various combinations of stringed, brass, woodwind, etc. instruments]
  • trios (viola, flutes(2))
  • trios (flute, trumpet, percussion)
  • etc.
     

Quartets [follow this pattern for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets]:

• woodwind quartets [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• suites [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• variations [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]
   

Flute and orchestra:

• concertos (flute)
• concertos (flute solo with piano)
• flute with orchestra
• concertos (flute with string orchestra)
• rondos (flute with orchestra)
• [fill in this blank with the genre you're looking for] (flute with orchestra)

Want an overview of flute-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

• ML128 .F58: Flute bibliographies
• ML935: General works
• ML936: Construction
• ML937: Music and playing

Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:
 

• Alphonse Leduc (Firm). Musique pour flûte: Catalogue thématique. Paris: Leduc, 1991.
• Reference, ML128.F7 A47 1991
   
• Bate, Philip. The Flute: A Study of its History, Development, and Construction. 2nd ed. New York: Norton, 1979.
• General Collection, ML935 .B25 1979

• Boehm, Theobald. The Flute and Flute-Playing in Acoustical, Technical, and Artistic Aspects. New York: Dover Publications, 1964.
• General Collection, ML936 .B682 1964
   
• Boehm, Theobald. An Essay on the Construction of Flutes. London: Rudall, Carte & Co., 1882.
  Available online through HathiTrust, or in print through the University of Minnesota Libraries
   
• De Lorenzo, Leonardo. My Complete Story of the Flute: The Instrument, the Performer, the Music. Revised and expanded edition. Lubbock, TX: Texas Tech University Press, 1992.
• General Collection, ML935 .D47 1992  
   
• Dorgeuille, Claude. The French Flute School, 1860-1950. London: T. Bingham, 1986.
• General Collection, ML937 .D6713 1986  
   
• Krell, John C. Kincaidiana; A Flute Player's Notebook. Santa Clarita, CA: National Flute Association, 1997.
  Reference, MT340 .K74 1997
   
• Meyland, Raymond. The Flute. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1988.
• General Collection, ML935 .M513 1988  
   
• Morris, Gareth. Flute Technique. New York: Oxford, 1991.
• Reference, MT340 .M73 1991  
   
• Phelan, J. James, and Lillian Burkart. The Complete Guide to the Flute and Piccolo. 2nd ed. Shirley, MA: Burkart-Phelan, Inc., 2000.
  Reference, Quarto ML936 .P4 2000
   
• Prill, Emil. Führer durch die Flöten-Literatur: Grosser Katalog enthaltend über 7500 Nummern. Frankfurt: Zimmerman, 1992.
• Reference. ML128.F64 P9x 1992
   
• Quantz, Johann Joachim. On Playing the Flute. 2nd ed. Translated by Edward R. Reilly. New York: Schirmer Books, 1985.
• General Collection, MT342 .Q313 1985
   
• Toff, Nancy. The Development of the Modern Flute. New York: Taplinger, 1979.
• General Collection, ML935 .T63 1979
   
• Toff, Nancy. The Flute Book: A Complete Guide for Students and Performers. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford, 2012.
• Reference, ML935 .T65 2012

Interested in browsing flute-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

• Flute Talk
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database
     
• ​The Flutist Quarterly
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database