Instrument and Voice Guides

• M80-M84: Horn alone
  • M80: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M81: Original works - collections (one composer)
  • M82: Original works - separate works
  • M83: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
  • M84: Arrangements - separate works
• M255-M259: Horn with piano accompaniment
  • M255: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M256: Original works - collections (one composer)
  • M257: Original works - separate works
  • M258: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
  • M259: Arrangements - separate works
• M288-M289: Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds)
  • M288: Collections
  • M289: Separate works
• M290-M291: Duets - one stringed and one wind instrument
• M296-M297: Duets - one wind and one plucked instrument
• M315-M319: Piano and two wind instruments
• M320-M324: Piano, one string, and one wind instrument
• M335-M339: Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
• M355-M359: Three wind instruments
• M360-M364: Three stringed and wind instruments
• M375-M379: Three wind and plucked instruments
• M380-M384: Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
 

Concertos and similar pieces:

• M1028: Horn with orchestra - full scores
• M1028.5: Cadenzas for works for horn with orchestra
• M1029: Horn with orchestra - piano reductions
• M1128: Horn with string orchestra - full scores
• M1128.5: Cadenzas for works for horn with string orchestra
• M1129: Horn with string orchestra - piano reductions

Horn studies and methods:

• MT420: General works
• MT422: Systems and methods
• MT423: Teaching pieces
• MT424: Instructive editions
• MT425: Studies and exercises
• MT426: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
• MT427: Two horns
• MT428: Self-instructors

These DVD and CD materials are available at the Music Library - please stop at the Circulation Desk and our staff will be glad to help you to access them. And we have all the video and audio equipment you'll need to use them - just ask us if you need assistance!

Horn Club Starter Kit
Music Library, Closed Stacks (ask at the Circulation Desk!), AV-52  
Description from publisher: "The videos allow French horn students to hear orchestral works and to play along while watching a conductor. Audio CDs include musical performances by brass, jazz, and other instrumental ensembles. CD-ROMs contain parts for horns (original or transposed notation) in PDF file format for the orchestral and smaller ensemble repertoire performed on the videos and audio recordings."
 

iVasi Virtuoso System One DVD
Music Library, Closed Stacks (Visual Materials - ask at the Circulation Desk!), DVD-2203

• Strauss: Don Juan & Till Eulenspiegel
• Stravinsky: The Firebird Suite
• Wagner: The Rhine Journey  

Virtuoso System Five DVD
(On order)

• Brahms: Symphony No. 1
• Schumann: Symphony No. 3  
   

Virtuoso System Eight DVD
Music Library, Closed Stacks (Visual Materials), DVD-2218  

• Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5
• Brahms: Symphony No. 2
   

Virtuoso System Eleven DVD
Music Library, Closed Stacks (Visual Materials), DVD-2205  

• Mahler: Symphony No. 5
   

Virtuoso System Fourteen DVD
Music Library, Closed Stacks (Visual Materials), DVD-2204 

• Beethoven: Symphony No. 7
• Mozart: Symphony No. 35
• Lizst: Les Preludes  

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

• sonatas (horn)
• suites (horn)
• variations (horn)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (horn)
• horn music

Horn and piano music:

• rondos (horn and piano)
• sonatas (horn and piano)
• suites (horn and piano)
• variations (horn  and piano)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (horn and piano)
• horn and piano music

Duets:

• horns (2)
• horn and trumpet music
• horn and trombone music
• horn and tuba music
• etc.

Trios:

• brass trios (horn, trumpet, trombone) [also try other combinations of instruments with horn]
• wind trios [use this subject heading to search for mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations of instruments]
  • wind trios (flute horns (2))
  • wind trios (clarinet, flute, horn)
  • etc.
• trios [this subject heading will lead you to various combinations of stringed, brass, woodwind, etc. instruments]
  • trios (viola, horns (2))
  • trios (clarinet, trumpet, horn)
  • etc.
     

Quartets [follow this pattern for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets]:

• brass quartets [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• suites [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• variations [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]
   

Horn and orchestra:

• concertos (horn)
• concertos (horn solo with piano)
• horn with orchestra
• concertos (horn with string orchestra)
• rondos (horn with orchestra)
• [fill in this blank with the genre you're looking for] (horn with orchestra)

Want an overview of horn-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

• ML128 .H67: Horn bibliographies
• ML955: General works
• ML956: Construction
• ML957: Music and playing

Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:
 

• ​Anderson, Paul G. Brass Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print. Music Guide Series 5. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Co. 1987.
• Reference, ML128.W5 A57 1987  
   
• Brüchle, Bernhard. Horn Bibliographie. Wilhelmshaven: Heinrichshofen, 1974-1983. 3 vols.
• General Collection, ML128.H67 B88x 1974
   
• Fasman, Mark J. Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1990.
• Reference, ML128.W5 F3 1990
   
• Hernon, Michael. French Horn Discography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
• Reference, ML156.4.H7 H5 1986
   
• Horne, Aaron. Brass Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
• Reference, ML128.W5 H62 1996
   
• Janetzky, Kurt, and Bernhard Brüchle. The Horn. Translated by James Chater. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1988.
• General Collection, ML955 .J313 1988
   
• McBeth, Amy. A Discography of 78rpm Era Recordings of the Horn: Solo and Chamber Literature with Commentary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
• Reference, ML156.4 .H7 M33 1997
   
• Meckna, Michael. Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press 1994.=
• Reference, ML399 .M4 1994
   
• Schuller, Gunther. Horn Technique. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
• General Collection, MT420 .S35 1992  
   
• Reynolds, Verne. The Horn Handbook. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1997.
• General Collection, Quarto MT420 .R49 1997
   
• Tuckwell, Barry. Horn. London: Macdonald; New York: Schirmer Books, 1983.
• General Collection, ML955 .T82 1983b
  ​
• Wilkins, Wayne. The Index of French Horn Music. Magnolia, AR: Music Register, 1978.
• Reference, ML128.H67 W5 1978
  ​

Interested in browsing horn-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

• Brass Bulletin
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database
    ​
• ​Historical Brass Society Journal
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database
    ​
• Historical Brass Society Newsletter
  • Available in print at the Music Library, General Collection, Quarto ML929.5 
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database
     
• ​The Horn Call
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database
     
• The Horn Call Annual
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
      
• National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors Journal​​
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database