Instrument and Voice Guides

• M55-M58: Double bass alone
  • M55: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M56: Original works - collections (one composer)
  • M57: Original works - separate works
  • M58: Arrangements
• M229-M233: Cello or double bass with piano accompaniment
  • M229: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M230: Original works - collections (one composer) and separate works
  • M231: Sonatas
  • M232: Suites and variations
  • M233: Pieces - separate works
• M235-M236: Cello or double bass arrangements
  • M235: Collections
  • M236: Separate works
• M237-M238: Double bass with piano accompaniment
  • M237: Collections
  • M238: Separate works
• M286-M287: Duets for two string instruments (of all kinds)
  • M286: Collections
  • M287: Separate works
• M290-M291: Duets - one stringed and one wind instrument
• M294-M295: Duets - one stringed and one plucked instrument
• M310-M314: Piano and two stringed instruments
• M320-M324: Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
• M330-M334: Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument
• M349-M353: Three stringed instruments
• M360-M364: Three stringed and wind instruments
• M370-M374: Three stringed and plucked instruments
• M380-M384: Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
 

Concertos and similar pieces:

• M1018: Double bass with orchestra - full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas
• M1118: Double bass with string orchestra - full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas
  

Double bass studies and methods:

• MT320: General works
• MT322: Systems and methods​
• MT330: Studies and exercises - General works
• MT331: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
• MT333: Teaching pieces
• MT333.4: Instructive editions
• MT334: Self-instructors

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

Solo double bass music: 

• sonatas (double bass)
• suites (double bass)
• variations (double bass)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (double bass)
• double bass music

Double bass and piano music:

• rondos (double bass and piano)
• sonatas (double bass and piano)
• suites (double bass and piano)
• variations (double bass and piano)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (double bass and piano)
• double bass and piano music

Duets:

• double basses (2)
• violin and double bass music
• flute and double bass music
• horn and double bass music
• etc.

Trios:

• string trios [for three bowed instruments]
• trios [use this subject heading to search for various mixed combinations of instruments]
  • trios (piano, double basses (2))
  • trios (flute, horn, double bass)
  • etc.

Quartets [follow this pattern for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets]:

• string quartets [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• suites [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• variations [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• etc.
   

Double bass and orchestra:

• concertos (double bass)
• concertos (double bass solo with piano)
• double bass with orchestra
• concertos (double bass with string orchestra)
• rondos (double bass with orchestra)
• [fill in this blank with the genre you're looking for] (double bass with orchestra)

Want an overview of double bass-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

• ML128 .D6: Double bass bibliographies
• ML920: General works
• ML921: Construction
• ML925: Music and playing

Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:

• Bradetich, Jeff. Double Bass: The Ultimate Challenge. Denton, TX: Music for All to Hear, 2016.
• Reference, MT322.B75 D68 2016
   
• Brun, Paul. A History of the Double Bass. France: P. Brun, 1989.
• General Collection, ML920 .B7813 1989
   
• Goilav, Yoan. La contrebasse: Une philosophie du jeu, histoire, pedagogie, technique / The Double Bass: A Philosophy of Playing, History, Pedagogy, Technique. Levis, Quebec: Doberman-Yppan, 2003.
  On order - coming soon!
   
• Grodner, Murray. Comprehensive Catalog of Available Literature for the Double Bass. 3rd ed. Bloomington, IN: Lemur Musical Research, 1974.
• Reference, ML128.D6 G7 1974 
   
•  
• Grodner, Murray. Comprehensive Catalog of Music, Books, Recordings, and Videos for the Double Bass. 4th ed. Littleton, CO: Grodner Publications, 2000.
  Reference, ML128.D6 G7 2000
   
• Grodner, Murray. Concepts in String Playing: Reflections by Artist-Teachers at the Indiana University School of Music. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1979.
• General Collection, MT259 .C66 1979
   
• Grodner, Murray. Double Bassist's Guide to Refining Performance Practices. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2013.
• On order - coming soon!
   
• O'Brien, Orin. Double-Bass Notebook: Ideas, Tips, and Pointers for the Complete Professional. New York: Carl Fisher, 2016.
  On order - coming soon!

Interested in browsing double bass-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

• Bass World: The Journal of the International Society of Bassists
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database
    ​
• The Bass Sound Post
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section