Instrument and Voice Guides

Percussion works for one performer:

• M146: Drum(s), including timpani, drum set, side drum, etc. and works for one percussionist playing two or more different percussion instruments
• M147: Bells, glockenspiel, etc.
• M175.X6: Xylophone, marimba, vibraharp, vibraphone
   

Collections of percussion works for one performer with piano accompaniment (collections containing works by more than one composer or a variety of different works by the same composer):

• M284.B4: Bells
• M284.C94: Cymbals
• M284.D8: Drum
• M284.G65: Glockenspiel
• M284.P4: Percussion (one percussionist playing two or more different percussion instruments)
• M284.T5: Timpani
• M284.X9: Xylophone, marimba, vibraphone
   

Separate percussion works for one performer with piano accompaniment (one work by one composer):

• M285.B4: Bells
• M285.C94: Cymbals
• M285.D8: Drum
• M285.G65: Glockenspiel
• M285.P4: Percussion
• M285.T5: Timpani
• M285.X9: Xylophone, marimba, vibraphone

Works for all percussionists or percussion and a combination of other instruments:

• M298: Duets
• M340-M344: Trios with piano
• M385: Trios without piano
• M445-M449: Quartets with piano
• M485: Quartets without piano
• M545-M549: Quintets with piano
• M585: Quintets without piano
• M645-M649: Sextets with piano
• M685: Sextets without piano
• M745-M749: Septets with piano
• M785: Septets without piano
• M845-M849: Octets with piano
• M885: Octets without piano
• M945-M949: Nonets with piano
• M985: Nonets without piano

Percussion solo with orchestral accompaniment:

• M1038: Percussion with orchestra (full scores)
• M1039: Percussion with orchestra (piano reductions)
• M1039.4.X9: Xylophone with orchestra (piano reductions)
• M1138: Percussion with string orchestra (full scores)
• M1139: Percussion with string orchestra (piano reductions)
   

Percussion instruction and method books; studies; orchestral excerpts and parts:

• MT655-M656: General
• MT660: Timpani
• MT662: Drum, bass, drum, snare, drum, etc., including drum set and instruction for the entire batterie
• MT663: Bongo, conga drums
• MT664: Tabla
• MT719: Xylophone, marimba, vibraphone
• MT722: Implements put to musical use (e.g., kitchen utensils)

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

One percussionist playing one instrument: 

• If the work is a specific type for one percussionist playing one percussion instrument, use the subject heading for that type of piece, followed by the name of the instrument, e.g. suites (timpani)
• If the work is not a specific type, but is still for one percussionist playing one percussion instrument, use the name of the instrument followed by "music" - e.g. snare drum music, xylophone music, etc.
• Music for one percussionist playing one unspecified solo percussion instrument, and for collections of compositions for several different solo percussion instruments, use: percussion instrument music

Two or more percussionists playing one instrument:

• Use the name of a specific type of piece, e.g. sonatas, variations, followed by the name of the instrument and the number of hands:
  • Sonatas (Marimba, 4 hands)
  • Variations (Marimba, 4 hands)
  • etc.

Two or more percussionists, each playing one or more instruments:

• Use the name of a specific type of piece, e.g. sonatas, variations, followed by "Percussion ensemble":
  • Suites (Percussion ensemble)
  • Variations (Percussion ensemble)
• If the work is not designated as a specific genre, just search for the subject heading "Percussion ensemble"

Chamber music for various combinations of instruments that also include percussion instruments:

• This is a little complicated, and will take some trial and error. Here are some examples of subject headings and what they'll lead you to; try a few searches replacing these instrument names with what you're hoping to find. Not finding what you need? Contact Jessica Abbazio (jabbazio@umn.edu), Music Librarian for help!
  • Quintets (Percussion, violins (2) viola, cello) - this subject heading is for a group with only one percussionist
  • Quartets (Percussion, viola) - this subject heading is for a group with three percussionists
  • Sonatas (Flute and marimba) - this subject heading is for a sonata for one flute and one marimba
  • Sonatas (Flute and percussion) - this subject heading is for a flute and one percussionist playing two or more instruments
  • Quintets (Marimba, violins (2), viola, cello) - this subject heading is for a quintet that includes a string quartet and a marimba
  • Quintets (Clarinet, flute, tubular bells, violin, cello) - this subject heading is for a chamber group of various instruments with one percussionist playing one instrument
  • Quintets (Percussion, violins (2), viola, cello) - this subject heading is for a quintet that includes a string quartet and one percussionist playing two or more instruments
  • Quintets (Marimbas (2), violin, viola, cello) - this subject heading is for a quintet that includes a violin, a viola, a cello, and two marimbas
  • Quintets (Marimba, timpani, violin, viola, cello) - this subject heading is for a quintet for violin, viola, cello, and two percussionists, one playing timpani, the other playing marimba
  • Remember: this is confusing, and don't be afraid to ask for help! :)
    

Music using non-musical instruments as instruments (like kitchen utensils!):

• Search for the subject heading "Sound effects music"

Want an overview of percussion-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

• ML102.P4: Percussion dictionaries and encyclopedias
• ML128.P23: Percussion bibliographies

Books on percussion history and criticism:

• ML1030: General works
• ML1035: Drums including drum set
• ML1036: Timpani
• ML1038: Other percussion instruments alphabetically: arará, atabaque, batá, bodhrán, bonkó, bronze drum, ceṇḍa, dhimay, kotsuzumi, mridanga, nāykhim, pung, rebana, santūr, steel drum, tabla, tupan
• ML1039: Bells, carillons, gongs, chimes, including change ringing, peals, etc.
• ML1048: Xylophone, marimba, vibraphone, etc.
• ML1049: All other percussion instruments not mentioned in ML1038

Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:
 

• Adato, Joseph, and George Judy, eds. The Percussionist's Dictionary: Translations, Descriptions, and Photographs of Percussion Instruments from around the World. Melville, NY: Belwin-Mills, 1984.
• General Collection, Quarto ML102.P4 A3 1984  
   
• Bajzek, Dieter. Percussion: an Annotated Bibliography with Special Emphasis on Contemporary Notation and Performance. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1988.
• Reference, ML128.P23 B34 1988
   
• Beck, John H., ed. Encyclopedia of Percussion. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2007. 
• Reference, Quarto ML102.P4 E5 2007 
   
• Lang, Morris, and Larry Spivack. Dictionary of Percussion Terms: as Found in the Symphonic Repertoire. New York: Carl Fischer, 2000.
• Reference, Quarto ML102.P4 L27x 2000  
   
• Vlieger, Henk de. Handbook for the Orchestral Percussion Section. The Hague: Albersen, 2003.
• Reference, ML128.P23 V86 2003 
•  

Interested in browsing percussion-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

• Percussive Notes
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section and online through the University Libraries (click the link titled "Miscellaneous Ejournals")
     
• The Modern Drummer
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section and online through the University Libraries (click the second link for Music Periodicals Database to access the most current issues of this title!)
     
• Down Beat
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
     
• Jazz Times
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section and online through the University Libraries
     
• Journal of Band Research
  • ​​​​​​​Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section and online through the University Libraries
     
• Music Educators Journal
  • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section and online through the University Libraries
     
• National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors (NACWPI) Journal
  • ​​​​​​​Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section

Need some historical context on a composer's life, works, and style? Take a look at the entries, works lists, and bibliographies in Oxford Music Online (which contains the content from the print Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians) and MGG Online.

Interested in jazz and jazz history? Check out historical publications through our subscription to RIPM Jazz Periodicals!