Instrument and Voice Guides

Call numbers for violin music

  • M40-M44: Violin alone
    • M40: Collections (more than one composer)
    • M41: Original works - collections (one composer)
    • M42: Original works - separate works
    • M43: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
    • M44: Arrangements - separate works
  • M217-M223: Violin with piano accompaniment
    • M217: Collections (more than one composer)
    • M218: Original works - collections (one composer)
    • M219: Sonatas
    • M220: Suites and variations
    • M221: Pieces
    • M222: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
    • M223: Arrangements - separate works
  • M286-M287: Duets for two stringed instruments (of all kinds)
    • M286: Collections
    • M287: Separate works
  • M290-M291: Duets - one stringed and one wind instrument
  • M294-M295: Duets - one stringed and one plucked instrument
  • M310-M314: Piano and two stringed instruments
  • M320-M324: Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
  • M330-M334: Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument
  • M349-M353: Three stringed instruments
  • M360-M364: Three stringed and wind instruments
  • M370-M374: Three stringed and plucked instruments
  • M380-M384: Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments
  • M450: Quartets - collections (more than one composer and medium)
  • M451: Quartets - collections (more than one composer)
  • M452: Quartets - two violins, viola, violoncello
  • M452.2: Quartets - four violins
  • M452.4: Quartets - other combinations of stringed instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
 

Concertos and similar pieces:

  • M1012: Violin with orchestra - full scores
  • M1012.5: Cadenzas for works for violin with orchestra
  • M1013: Violin with orchestra - piano reductions
  • M1112: Violin with string orchestra - full scores
  • M1112.5: Cadenzas for works for violin with string orchestra
  • M1113: Violin with string orchestra - piano reductions
     

Studies and methods:

  • MT260: General works
  • MT261: Physiology of the hand
  • MT262: Systems and methods
  • MT265: Studies and exercises - general works
  • MT266: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
  • MT267: Bowing
  • MT268: Positions
  • MT269: Chords
  • MT270: Harmonics
  • MT271: Other techniques
  • MT272: Two violins
  • MT274: Teaching pieces
  • MT275: Instructive editions - two or more composers
  • MT276: Instructive editions - one composer
  • MT278: Self-instructors
  • MT279.5: Fiddling; folk style violin playing
  • MT279.7: Jazz

Subject headings for violin music

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

Solo violin music: 

  • sonatas (violin)
  • suites (violin)
  • variations (violin)
  • [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (violin)
  • violin music

Violin and piano music:

  • rondos (violin and piano)
  • sonatas (violin and piano)
  • suites (violin and piano)
  • variations (violin and piano)
  • [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (violin and piano)
  • violin and piano music

Duets:

  • violin (2)
  • violin and viola music
  • violin and cello music
  • violin and flute music
  • etc.

Trios:

  • trios (violin, viola, cello)
  • trios (flue, violins (2))
  • trios [use this subject heading to search for various combinations of instruments]
    • trios (violin, bassoons (2))
    • trios (percussion, violin, viola)
    • etc.
       

Quartets [follow this pattern for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets]:

  • string quartets
  • suites [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
  • variations [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]


Violin and orchestra:

  • concertos (violin)
  • concertos (violin solo with piano)
  • violin with orchestra
  • concertos (violin with string orchestra)
  • rondos (violin with orchestra)
  • [fill in this blank with the genre you're looking for] (violin with orchestra)

 

Find violin-specific scholarship online and in print through the Music Library

Want an overview of violin-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

  • ML128 .V4: Violin bibliographies
  • ML802: Construction - general works
  • ML803-ML807: Construction - by period
  • ML810-ML842: Construction - by region or country
  • ML845: Construction - by parts of the violin
  • ML850: Music and playing - general works 
  • ML853-ML857: Music and playing - by period
  • ML860-ML892: Music and playing - by region or country
  • ML895-ML897: Music and playing - by form and type (sonata, suite, etc.)


Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:

  • Baron, John H. Chamber Music: An Research and Information Guide. 3rd ed. Routledge Music Bibliographies. New York: Routledge, 2010.
    Reference ML128.C4 B37 2010  
     
  • Horne, Aaron. String Music of Black Composers. Music Reference Collection 33. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
    Reference ML128.B45 H7 1991  
     
  • Katz, Mark. The Violin: A Research and Information Guide. Routledge Music Bibliographies. New York: Routledge, 2006.
    Reference ML128.V4 K38 2006  
     
  • Landsman, Jerome. Annotated Catalogue of American Violin Music Composed Between 1947-1961. Urbana, IL: American String Teachers Association, 1968.
    Reference ML128.V4 L4 1968  
     
  • Lawrence, Ian. The Twentieth-Century String Quartet: An Historical Introduction and Catalogue. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2001.
    Reference ML128.C4 L37 2001  
     
  • Nardolillo, Jo. The Canon of Violin Literature: A Performer's Resource. Music Finders Series. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2011.
    Reference ML128.V4 N37 2011  
     
  • Parker, Mara E. String Quartets: A Research and Information Guide. 2nd ed. Routledge Music Bibliographies. New York: Routledge, 2011.
    Reference ML128.S68 P37 2011
     
  • Ping-Robbins, Nancy R. The Piano Trio in the Twentieth Century. Raleigh, NC: Regan Press, 1984.
    Reference ML128.C4 P55 1984  
     
  • Rangel-Ribeiro, Victor, and Robert Markel. Chamber Music: An International Guide to Works and their Instrumentation. New York: Facts on File, 1993.
    Reference ML128.C4 R3 1993  
     
  • Toskey, Burnett R. Concertos for Violin and Viola: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia. Seattle, WA: B.R. Toskey, 1983.
    Reference ML128.V4 T68 1983  
     

Interested in browsing viola- or string-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

 

Websites to help with viola research:

Want to learn more about finding and accessing music materials like books, scores, and recordings?

Last Updated: Jun 8, 2022 1:08 PM