Instrument and Voice Guides

Call numbers for guitar music

  • M125-M129: Guitar alone
    • M125: Collections (more than one composer)
    • M126: Original works - collections (one composer)
    • M127: Original works - separate works
    • M128: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
    • M129: Arragements - separate works
  • M276-M277: Guitar with piano accompaniment
    • M276: Collections
    • M277: Separate works
  • M292-M293: Duets for two plucked instruments (of all kinds)
    • M292: Collections
    • M293: Separate works
  • M294-M295: Duets - one stringed and one plucked instrument
  • M296-M297: Duets - one wind and one plucked instrument
  • M325-M329: Piano and two plucked instruments
  • M330-M334: Piano, one string, and one plucked instrument
  • M335-M339: Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
  • M365-M369: Three plucked instruments
  • M370-M374: Three stringed and plucked instruments
  • M375-M379: Three wind and plucked instruments
  • M380-M384: Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
 

Concertos and similar pieces:

  • M1037.4 .G8: Guitar with orchestra - full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas
  • M1137.4 G8: Guitar with string orchestra - full scores, piano reductions, and cadenzas
     

Studies and methods:

  • MT580: General works
  • MT582: Systems and methods
  • MT583: Teaching pieces
  • MT584: Instructive editions
  • MT586: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
  • MT587: Two guitars
  • MT588: Self-instructors

Subject headings for guitar music

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

Solo guitar music: 

  • sonatas (guitar)
  • suites (guitar)
  • variations (guitar)
  • [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (guitar)
  • guitar music

Guitar and piano music:

  • rondos (guitar and piano)
  • sonatas (guitar and piano)
  • suites (guitar and piano)
  • variations (guitar and piano)
  • [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (guitar and piano)
  • guitar and piano music

Duets:

  • violin and guitar music
  • flute and guitar music
  • horn and guitar music
  • etc.

Trios:

  • plucked instrument trios
  • trios; use this subject heading to search for mixed stringed and plucked, various combinations; for example:
    • trios (guitar, violin, viola)
    • trios (flute, guitar, violin)
    • etc.

Quartets [follow this pattern for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets]:

  • plucked instrument quartets
    • This subject heading will return a list of various combinations of strings and winds instruments
  • plucked instruments suites
    • This subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments
  • plucked instrument variations
    • This subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments
  • plucked instrument + the genre of composition you're looking for

Guitar and orchestra:

  • guitar with orchestra
  • concertos (guitar with string orchestra)
  • rondos (guitar) with orchestra
  • [fill in this blank with the genre you're looking for] (guitar) with orchestra

 

Find guitar-specific scholarship online and in print through the Music Library

Want an overview of guitar-related publications and lists of repertoire? See these books, available in print in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and in the general collection. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!
 

  • Jape, Mijndert, ed. Classical Guitar Music in Print. Music-In-Print Series 7. Philadelphia: Musicdata, 1989.
    Reference, ML128.G8 J36 1989
     
  • Reese, Donald T., ed. Classical Guitar Music in Print: 1998 Supplement. Music-In-Print Series 7s. Philadelphia: Musicdata, 1998.
    Reference, ML128.G8 J36 1989 suppl. 1998
     
  • MacAuslan, Janna, and Kristan Aspen. Guitar Music by Women Composers. Music Reference Collection 61. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
    Reference, ML128.G8 M33 1997
     
  • McCutcheon, Meredith. Guitar and Vihuela: An Annotated Bibliography. RILM Retrospectives 3. New York: Pendragon Press, 1985.
    Reference, ML128.G8 M45 1985
     
  • Noonan, Jeffrey. The Guitar in American Banjo, Mandolin and Guitar Periodicals, 1883-1933. Edited by Mark Palkovic. Music Library Association Index and Bibliography Series 35. Middleton, WI: Music Library Association and A-R Editions, 2009.
    Reference, ML128.G8 N66 2009
     
  • Rezits, Joseph, ed. The Guitarist's Resource Guide: Guitar Music in Print and Books on the Art of Guitar. San Diego: Pallma Music, 1983.
    General Collection, Quarto/Folio, ML128.G8 R5 1983
     
  • Schwarz, Werner, and Monika Haringer. Guitar Bibliography: An International Listing of Theoretical Literature on Classical Guitar from the Beginning to the Present. Forward by Siegfried Behrend. New York: K.G. Saur, 1984.
    Reference, ML128.G8 S4 1984
     
  • Smith, Dorman H., and Laurie Eagleson. Guitar and Lute Music in Periodicals: An Index. Fallen Leaf Reference Books in Music 13. Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf Press, 1990.
    Reference, ML128.G8 S64 1990 
     


Interested in browsing guitar-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (print periodicals located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

 

Want to learn more about finding and accessing music materials like books, scores, and recordings?

Last Updated: Jun 8, 2022 1:08 PM