Instrument and Voice Guides

• M70-M74: Clarinet or bass, alto, basset, etc. alone
  • M70: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M71: Original works - collections (one composer)
  • M72: Original works - separate works
  • M73: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
  • M74: Arrangements - separate works
• M248-M252: Clarinet or bass, alto, basset, etc. with piano accompaniment
  • M248: Collections (more than one composer)
  • M249: Original works - collections (one composer)
  • M250: Original works - separate works
  • M251: Arrangements - collections (one composer)
  • M252: Arrangements - separate works
• M288-M289: Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds)
  • M288: Collections
  • M289: Separate works
• M290-M291: Duets - one stringed and one wind instrument
• M296-M297: Duets - one wind and one plucked instrument
• M315-M319: Piano and two wind instruments
• M320-M324: Piano, one string, and one wind instrument
• M335-M339: Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
• M355-M359: Three wind instruments
• M360-M364: Three stringed and wind instruments
• M375-M379: Three wind and plucked instruments
• M380-M384: Three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).
 

Concertos and similar pieces:

• M1024: Clarinet or bass, alto, basset, etc. with orchestra - full scores
• M1024.5: Cadenzas for works for clarinet or bass, alto, basset, etc. with orchestra
• M1025: Clarinet or bass, alto, basset, etc. with orchestra - piano reductions
• M1124: Clarinet or bass, alto, basset, etc. with string orchestra - full scores
• M1124.5: Cadenzas for works for clarinet or bass, alto, basset, etc. with string orchestra
• M1125: Clarinet or bass, alto, basset, etc. with string orchestra - piano reductions

Clarinet studies and methods:

• MT380: General works
• MT382: Systems and methods
• MT383: Teaching pieces
• MT384: Instructive editions
• MT385: Studies and exercises
• MT386: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
• MT387: Two clarinets
• MT388: Self-instructors

Bass clarinet studies and methods:

• MT392: General works
• MT392.2: Systems and methods
• MT392.3: Studies and exercises
• MT392.4: Orchestral studies (excerpts)
• MT392.5: Teaching pieces
• MT392.6: Instructive editions
• MT392.7: Two bass clarinets
• MT392.8: Self-instructors

Use this list of subjects to get started searching in the Libraries catalog:

Solo clarinet music: 

• sonatas (clarinet)
• suites (clarinet)
• variations (clarinet)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (clarinet)
• clarinet music

Clarinet and piano music:

• rondos (clarinet and piano)
• sonatas (clarinet and piano)
• suites (clarinet and piano)
• variations (clarinet and piano)
• [fill in this blank with the genre of composition you're looking for] (clarinet and piano)
• clarinet and piano music

Duets:

• clarinets (2)
• violin and clarinet music
• flute and clarinet music
• horn and clarinet music
• etc.

Trios:

• woodwind trios (clarinet, oboe, flute) [also try other combinations of instruments with clarinet]
• wind trios [use this subject heading to search for mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations of instruments]
  • wind trios (bassoon, clarinet, trumpet)
  • wind trios (clarinet, flute, horn)
  • etc.
• trios [this subject heading will lead you to various combinations of stringed, brass, woodwind, etc. instruments]
  • trios (viola, clarinets (2))
  • trios (clarinet, trumpet, percussion)
  • etc.
     

Quartets [follow this pattern for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets]:

• woodwind quartets [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• suites [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• variations [this subject heading will return a list of various combinations of instruments]
• wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]
   

Clarinet and orchestra:

• concertos (clarinet)
• concertos (clarinet solo with piano)
• clarinet with orchestra
• concertos (clarinet with string orchestra)
• rondos (clarinet with orchestra)
• [fill in this blank with the genre you're looking for] (clarinet with orchestra)

Want an overview of clarinet-related publications and lists of repertoire? 

Browse these call number ranges in the Music Library's Reference section (located on the low shelving in the front of the Library, across from the circulation desk) and General collections. If you need help locating any of these materials, just ask at the circulation desk!

• ML128 .C58: Clarinet bibliographies
• ML945: General works
• ML946: Construction
• ML948: Music and playing

Also, make sure to check out these specific titles:
 

• Brymer, Jack. The Clarinet. Yehudi Menuhin Music Guides. New York: Schirmer Books, 1977.
• General Collection, ML945 .B8 1977
   
•  
• Gibson, O. Lee. Origin and History of the Clarinet. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1994.
• General Collection, ML946 .G5 1994 
   
• Heim, Norman M. Ornamentation for the Clarinetist. Hyattsville, MD: Norcat Music Press, 1993.
• General Collection, Quarto MT380 .H46 1993  
   
• Pino, David. The Clarinet and Clarinet Playing. Mineola, NY: Dover Publications, 1998.
• General Collection, MT380 .P56 1998
   
• Rehfeldt, Philip. New Directions for Clarinet. Rev. ed. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2004
• General Collection, Quarto ML945 .R43 2003
   
• Rendall, F. Geoffrey. The Clarinet. London: Williams and Norgate, 1954.
• General Collection, ML946 .R4 1954
   
• Stein, Keith. The Art of Clarinet Playing. Princeton, NJ: Summy-Birchard, 1958.
• General Collection, Quarto MT382.S74 
   
• Thurston, Frederick. Clarinet Technique. 4th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1985.
• General Collection, MT380 .T5x 1985
   
• Weston, Pamela. More Clarinet Virtuosi of the Past. London: By the Author, 1977.
• General Collection, ML399 .W49 1977

Interested in browsing clarinet-specific journals? Check out these periodicals (current periodicals are just past the circulation desk in the rack on the wall, and older issues of print periodicals are located to your right when you first enter the Music Library):

• The Clarinet
  • Available in print at the Music Library, Periodicals section
  • Available online through Music Periodicals Database